Ogunsoto wants Nigeria chance

General Trousers wrote:The Super Eagles should be based on merit. You have made derisive comments towards Ishiaku Mannaseh and Patrick Ogunsoto ... what is distressing is that as hard as these guys try, your negative comments are somehow shared by the rest of the Nigerian community who desire to see favorites play ahead of well performing player - this is the sort of activity that must stop. If a player is playing well he should be capped. If a player has great potential he should be invited to camp ...
I think you need to find out a bit more about Belgium's Juliper League. Even Belgium's own national team players do not ply their trade there.

Belgium's national team coach will be reluctant to use players who ply their trade in the Juliper League. Belgium's league is for players not good enough to play in Holland or France!
General Trousers

Post by General Trousers »

The Juliper League is not a bad League ... the Norwegian League is even waaaaaaaay lower than it ... the Juliper League is slightly above the Danish League which is also a good league ... clubs like Brugge, Anderlect and Genk are all good clubs!

General Trousers wrote:The Super Eagles should be based on merit. You have made derisive comments towards Ishiaku Mannaseh and Patrick Ogunsoto ... what is distressing is that as hard as these guys try, your negative comments are somehow shared by the rest of the Nigerian community who desire to see favorites play ahead of well performing player - this is the sort of activity that must stop. If a player is playing well he should be capped. If a player has great potential he should be invited to camp ...
I think you need to find out a bit more about Belgium's Juliper League. Even Belgium's own national team players do not ply their trade there.

Belgium's national team coach will be reluctant to use players who ply their trade in the Juliper League. Belgium's league is for players not good enough to play in Holland or France!
onitsha1

Post by onitsha1 »

This is a load of tripe that if you don't play in England, Spain or France then you should not be called up. Did anyone watch the Watford v Plymouth game. You could count the number of times the ball was actually passed. We had one of the SE call ups playing for Watford and if this is the standard some of us are using to call up players then the SE has a long way to go.

I have not seen the Ogonsoto kid play but if he is banging goals and has all the attributes of a top striker please call him up.

By the way it also holds if we have any excellent defenders in our home grown League it will be better than Shittu who lacks pace and has no sense of ball distribution. You can't afford to give the ball away needlessly at International level.
Life is too short, enjoy it while you can

General Trousers wrote:The Juliper League is not a bad League ... the Norwegian League is even waaaaaaaay lower than it ... the Juliper League is slightly above the Danish League which is also a good league ... clubs like Brugge, Anderlect and Genk are all good clubs!
They are the only average teams in the league. ...and guess what - Ogunsoto is not even good enough to play for any of them.
General Trousers

Post by General Trousers »

What do you mean that Ogunsoto is not good enough? That guy is a goal scoring machine ...
General Trousers wrote:The Juliper League is not a bad League ... the Norwegian League is even waaaaaaaay lower than it ... the Juliper League is slightly above the Danish League which is also a good league ... clubs like Brugge, Anderlect and Genk are all good clubs!
They are the only average teams in the league. ...and guess what - Ogunsoto is not even good enough to play for any of them.

Ayo,
this guy only left Div 2 in greece to a mid- standard league in Belgium. I guess he would get to a top league anytime from now, next season or upper season. It is hard, very hard to move from div 2 of a mid-standard league like greece to Div 1 in any league. Dont forget he started his career in Div3. Its a steady climb and he woul dget there. His career just started. U pencil ogbuke, Olofinjana as SE materials when they were in pooor standard leagues like Norway. U say Nwaneri is SE material after moving from a back water league of tunisia to a sub-standard league of Switzerland.

Utaka played in the very poor leagues of egypt and Qatar for 4 yrs but look at him now.

chief nfachairman wrote:
Ayo,
this guy only left Div 2 in greece to a mid- standard league in Belgium. I guess he would get to a top league anytime from now, next season or upper season. It is hard, very hard to move from div 2 of a mid-standard league like greece to Div 1 in any league. Dont forget he started his career in Div3. Its a steady climb and he woul dget there. His career just started. U pencil ogbuke, Olofinjana as SE materials when they were in pooor standard leagues like Norway. U say Nwaneri is SE material after moving from a back water league of tunisia to a sub-standard league of Switzerland.

Utaka played in the very poor leagues of egypt and Qatar for 4 yrs but look at him now.
Ogunsoto has been around too long to be considered a developing player. This is as good as he will ever be from I what I can make of him. Why did a team like Panathanaikos, AEK Athens, Olympiakos, etc when he was spending all those years in Greece?
COOKING SPOON

Post by COOKING SPOON »

General Trousers wrote:Ayoakinfe said this guy is not Eagles material ~ attitudes like that are a huge part of the problem ...
In 2007, no serious player is still plying his trade in Belgium's Mickey Mouse Juliper League. If you are good, you will not play for more of a season there.

Look at this boy's record and tell me if this looks impressive to you:

Patrick Ogunsoto (born 19 April 1983 in Nigeria) is a Greek-Nigerian football player.

He started his European career at APOEL FC at the age of 16. One year later he was transferred to Ergotelis FC, who played in the third division at the time. In his first season at Ergotelis, Ogunsoto scored 30 goals in 32 games and the team was promoted to the Beta Ethniki. Following another promotion, Ogunsoto scored 11 goals in 29 games during their first season in the Alpha Ethniki, but the team was relegated. Ogunsoto subsequently moved to the Belgian side K.V.C. Westerlo, where he currently is topscorer with 16 goals in 21 games.

This boy has been in Europe for EIGHT years and can only manage to play for Westerloo. Other than Kanu, all our other strikers all came to Europe after him.

How come everyone else is playing in a better league than him despite coming to Europe after him. Our forumers who lived in Belgium like Larry and Prince will tell you that French clubs always recruit from there and also dispose of all their wastepipes to Belgium.

Osaze spent one season at La Louivre in Belgium and was immediately napped up by Lille. Yobo, Enakarhire, Afolabi, Babayaro, etc all began their careers in Belgium. If Ogunsoto was any good, he would have been snapped up from Greece to a better league.
Ayo you are deluded. How on earth can you look at his goal scoring record snd not call it impressive. How long was Van Nistleroy in the doldrums whilst his age mata Kluivert was doing big things? Please get a life and never again knock a hard working man overcoming the odds. Respect the man and his efforts and give him a chance for God sake.

COOKING SPOON wrote:
General Trousers wrote:Ayoakinfe said this guy is not Eagles material ~ attitudes like that are a huge part of the problem ...
In 2007, no serious player is still plying his trade in Belgium's Mickey Mouse Juliper League. If you are good, you will not play for more of a season there.

Patrick Ogunsoto (born 19 April 1983 in Nigeria) is a Greek-Nigerian football player.

He started his European career at APOEL FC at the age of 16. One year later he was transferred to Ergotelis FC, who played in the third division at the time. In his first season at Ergotelis, Ogunsoto scored 30 goals in 32 games and the team was promoted to the Beta Ethniki. Following another promotion, Ogunsoto scored 11 goals in 29 games during their first season in the Alpha Ethniki, but the team was relegated. Ogunsoto subsequently moved to the Belgian side K.V.C. Westerlo, where he currently is topscorer with 16 goals in 21 games.

This boy has been in Europe for EIGHT years and can only manage to play for Westerloo. Other than Kanu, all our other strikers all came to Europe after him.

How come everyone else is playing in a better league than him despite coming to Europe after him. Our forumers who lived in Belgium like Larry and Prince will tell you that French clubs always recruit from there and also dispose of all their wastepipes to Belgium.

Osaze spent one season at La Louivre in Belgium and was immediately napped up by Lille. Yobo, Enakarhire, Afolabi, Babayaro, etc all began their careers in Belgium. If Ogunsoto was any good, he would have been snapped up from Greece to a better league.
Ayo you are deluded. How on earth can you look at his goal scoring record snd not call it impressive. How long was Van Nistleroy in the doldrums whilst his age mata Kluivert was doing big things? Please get a life and never again knock a hard working man overcoming the odds. Respect the man and his efforts and give him a chance for God sake.
Van Nistelroy was playing for PSV Eindhoven. A far cry from Westerloo!
etoo_fils

Post by etoo_fils »

Where was Yakubu playing 3 seasons ago? An even more mickey mouse team in Israel. Ogunsoto should be called up and let his show his stuff in the GWG. Who knows he may be the next Yekini or Amotaxi.
onye ilo aburo chi mmadu

etoo_fils wrote:Where was Yakubu playing 3 seasons ago? An even more mickey mouse team in Israel. Ogunsoto should be called up and let his show his stuff in the GWG. Who knows he may be the next Yekini or Amotaxi.
Yakubu was utter junk when he was playing in Israel. He is a bit better now but not by too much.
Jmal

Post by Jmal »

etoo_fils wrote:Where was Yakubu playing 3 seasons ago? An even more mickey mouse team in Israel. Ogunsoto should be called up and let his show his stuff in the GWG. Who knows he may be the next Yekini or Amotaxi.
Yakubu was utter junk when he was playing in Israel. He is a bit better now but not by too much.
Ayo please stop this

If Any player deserve to be in the supereagles then Ogunsuto deserve it He my force other strikers out who knows...
He needs to be called up and let his show his stuff

Jmal wrote:
Ayo please stop this

If Any player deserve to be in the supereagles then Ogunsuto deserve it He my force other strikers out who knows...
Have you actually seen him play?
Jmal

Post by Jmal »

Jmal wrote:
Ayo please stop this

Have you actually seen him play?
I havent seen him yet,,,,but i know he is the best Nigerian goal scorer in europe with 29 goals,,,he deserve atlist to be in the squad
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

onitsha1 wrote:This is a load of tripe that if you don't play in England, Spain or France then you should not be called up. Did anyone watch the Watford v Plymouth game. You could count the number of times the ball was actually passed. We had one of the SE call ups playing for Watford and if this is the standard some of us are using to call up players then the SE has a long way to go.

I have not seen the Ogonsoto kid play but if he is banging goals and has all the attributes of a top striker please call him up.

By the way it also holds if we have any excellent defenders in our home grown League it will be better than Shittu who lacks pace and has no sense of ball distribution. You can't afford to give the ball away needlessly at International level.
KPOM.

Ayo's logic gets warped with each passing day, month and year.

The EPL minus the top 4 clubs is perhaps on par with the Belgian league.

chopeski wrote:
onitsha1 wrote:This is a load of tripe that if you don't play in England, Spain or France then you should not be called up. Did anyone watch the Watford v Plymouth game. You could count the number of times the ball was actually passed. We had one of the SE call ups playing for Watford and if this is the standard some of us are using to call up players then the SE has a long way to go.

KPOM.

Ayo's logic gets warped with each passing day, month and year.

The EPL minus the top 4 clubs is perhaps on par with the Belgian league.
I take it that was a typo and you meant to write the Championship!

Ayo with out u, I must admit, the CE would be a very boring place....

How many goals has this Ogunosto scored this year, does anyone know?

If that league was good enough for the 94 SE, I dont why it would be so bad for the 2007 SE...
Yummy

Post by Yummy »

I strongly beg to differ on this one..............So, what you are trying to say is that because the guy plays in BELGIUM he cannot be a better fit in the SE than all those mis firing strikers we have..... What we need in the GWG are players who want to prove themselves, hungry for success etc not the likes that feel they are guaranteed a shirt everytime and play with no zeal or commitment...

We really have a problem in Naija if people like you that have access to the NFA are thinking like this then we would continue to put out a team that would be spanked 4-1 by Ghana....

Lets follow Siasia's lead and throw camp gates open, invite paid neutral coaches to make a selection based on what they have seen of the players on tape and there present displays... I can assure you that a lot of the so-called untouchable SE players would not make the cut..

All i am saying is it's time we change our thinking....

If Naija can invest in a purpose built state of the heart training camp somewhere away from the city....Hold various open camp sessions during FIFA International breaks then you would see a better SE selection..
Ayo Akinfe wrote:In 1994, Alloy Agwu, Sunday Oliseh, Daniel Amokachi, Chidi Nwanu, etc were playing in Belgium because nobody knew Nigeria's worth. Today, our players are well respected and get snapped up by French, English, Italian, German and Spanish clubs if they are any good.

Ask yourself how Ogunsoto can be playing for a Mickey Mouse club like Westerloo while the likes of Makinwa and Nsofor are playing in Serie A for Lazio and Chievo. It is not even as if anyone wants to buy Ogunsoto ala Ogbuke.

I put it to you that Ogunsoto and Isiaku are playing in Belgium because they are not good enough to play elsewhere. Even Belgium do not want to use players in the Juliper League in their national team, why should we?
COOKING SPOON

Post by COOKING SPOON »

COOKING SPOON wrote:

Van Nistelroy was playing for PSV Eindhoven. A far cry from Westerloo!
It shows how little you know, he was at Den Bosch until 1998 when he moved to PSV. By that time kluivert was winning European cups, playing for both Ac milan and barca. Look at their careers now.....

chief nfachairman wrote:
Ayo,

Ogunsoto has been around too long to be considered a developing player. This is as good as he will ever be from I what I can make of him. Why did a team like Panathanaikos, AEK Athens, Olympiakos, etc when he was spending all those years in Greece?
Utaka kept on scoring in egypt but only moved to the disgusting Qatari league. It doesnt get worse than that while Ogunsoto has proven himself in div 3 in greece, then div 2 and now div 1 in belgium. His progress is very steady, its a steady climb, he would get there .. he is not as lucky as some that get a big break in just 4months in their career. By the way, if Nwaneri was any good, he would not be in a useless league like Switzerland playing for a useless team like Sion. Jaidi moved from Tunisia to the premiership.

chief nfachairman wrote:
Ayo,

Utaka kept on scoring in egypt but only moved to the disgusting Qatari league. It doesnt get worse than that while Ogunsoto has proven himself in div 3 in greece, then div 2 and now div 1 in belgium. His progress is very steady, its a steady climb, he would get there .. he is not as lucky as some that get a big break in just 4months in their career. By the way, if Nwaneri was any good, he would not be in a useless league like Switzerland playing for a useless team like Sion. Jaidi moved from Tunisia to the premiership.
AJ Guru

Post by AJ Guru »

General Trousers wrote:This is why I said Ayoakinfe is not making sense. He says Ogunsoto and Ishiaku are not Eagles materials ...
Fegwu wrote:The funniest part of this report is that the reporter thinks that Osaze is in-form.

The Norwegian league is not better than the Jupiler, infact it s worse.

If Chinedu Ogbuke (on the combined strength of his form in the Norwegian league) should get a call why not Ishiaku and PBO?

They both deserve at least a trial. Who knows one of them may knock of Makinwa and Osaze. Heck Utaka hardly scores, he hardly assists for us. What is he good for? These are at least 3 question marks. And these guys play in "superior leagues". Heck Makinwa should be starting on the strength of his league alone.

Again, a lot of luck/timing/hype is needed to make it as a 3rd world nation player into an elite European club. Gbenga Okunowo can readily testify to that.
Ogbuke will be in the Premiership soon, while Ogunsoto will be wasting away in a backwater league. It is not as if Ogunsoto is a new player.

He has been in Europe for longer than Aghahowa, Utaka, Aiyegbeni, Makinwa, Ogbuke, Martins, Osaze, Uche, etc. This old man has blossomed as much as he ever will!
Somtimes I find your comments Ludicrous!!!!! so Ogunsoto doesn't deserve a chance......cos he plays in Belgium and has been around for a while!!!

Egbon, kindly come off those wrong pills :x :x
Welcome to CE: A place where an average man can tell a legend how to run his family. A place where an internet coach think he is beta team than an international coach. A place where a "four one nine" artist and Cab Driver can call a professional player a wastepipe. A Place where a wanna be agent can tell a professional player what club to join and what country to earn his money.A place where a simple debate can turn into an insult towards your mama and papa. Once again welcome to CE.

That must mean the EPL is rubbish, cos this "utter junk" is the 3rd highest scorer in the league.