Ikpeba joins Belgium strugglers Charleroi

Alaafin

Post by Alaafin »

BRUSSELS, Jan 12 (Reuters) - Former Nigeria international Victor Ikpeba has joined struggling Charleroi on a six-month contract, the Belgium club announced on Monday.

The 30-year-old striker, voted African Footballer of the Year in 1997, joins forces with Robert Waseige, the coach who discovered him at FC Liege in 1989.

Ikpeba went on to make his name with French club Monaco, scoring 55 goals in 170 league games, before a two-season stay at with Bundesliga club Borussia Dortmund.

After a disappointing spell with Real Betis in Spain Ikpeba moved to Libya to play for Al Ittihad, the club owned by Al-Saadi Gaddafi, the son of Colonel Gaddafi.

Charleroi are bottom of the Belgium league and Waseige is delighted to have Ikpeba on board.

"I found Victor in excellent shape," said the former Belgium national coach. "He is as good as ever and that showed in all our medical tests."
Iku Baba Yeye; Alase Ikeji Orisa

He who has power over life and death; Second-in-Command to the gods

its about time

bayo

Post by bayo »

The guy was always overhyped in my opinion.
Veni, Vidi, Vici

Ikpeba was never oherhyped. He has always been excellent baller in my books.
He definitely shown for Monaco.

he's a supremely talented player. Just never acheived his potentials.

asabatex

Post by asabatex »

good luck....a true patriot
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

he's a supremely talented player. Just never acheived his potentials.
:o :o
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

YIPA!!!!! MY BOY IS BACK O!!!!! Abeg all saying he underacheived need to go back and check what he did for club...na only for SE wey dem dey treat am just like them dey do Ijeh right now...Di bobo was always top of the scoring charts in France, he was even on top of the European scoring charts a couple of times banging in goals in the CL like nobodies business (even when he came off the bench to play only 20 or so minutes). Di bobo was a true 'Prince of Monaco', which one of our current strikers would we be confident that we can leave them up top alone and they would torture the opposing defense (like he did against Spain), the only player that comes to mind is Martins b/c Agha gets shut down if he's left uptop alone...

ANC 2000 was his time to shine and b/c of Bonfreres stupidity he didn't get a chance to shine, he played wayyyyyyyy less minutes than Kanu and still scored 200% more goals than him :lol: I believe Bo Jo waiting till extra-time to bring him on cost us the cup b/c once he came on he was a thousand times more dangerous than Chukwu Ndukwe, we would have never had to lose by that controversial penalty....

Anyways, MY BOY IS BACK!!!!!!
omonaija

Post by omonaija »

bayo wrote:The guy was always overhyped in my opinion.
Men! pls., Ikepba is always been a good ball player...the only super eagle to make the team on merit only not to shine for his motherland!
To God be the glory....New Year 2024! Seek him first and all other things shall be added!Thus saith the Lord!
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

I doubt if u ever knew Ikpeba!
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942
cidoski

Post by cidoski »

omo that guy na footballer. remember his days at monaco. good luck to him
Never argue with an angel*. They'll only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience........ha ha ha

His a great player the only problem de bobo to dey abuse the coach, eg Bonfere, sammer, cos Ikpeba hates being benched or subbed

U can't fault the guy for wanting to play especially when he thinks he has something to offer the team
Bigpokey24 wrote:His a great player the only problem de bobo to dey abuse the coach, eg Bonfere, sammer, cos Ikpeba hates being benched or subbed
Chima

Post by Chima »

Ikpeba na baller for life. Hope this will help him through his tough personal life now his wife is deceased. Up Ikeba!
Graphic & Web Design Specialists
http://www.effectualdesigns.net

Victor Ikpeba has always been the man,left and right foot the guy was a warrior.My most interesting moments when he played CL football with Monaco back in the 97/98 season.Monaco then had Trezeguet,Henry and Ikpeba.I remember how Henry and Ikpeba single handedly destroyed Bayer Leverkursen 4-0.2 goals each from henry and Ikpeba,then Henryused to run with his head down,but his speed was crazy.

omey2k4 wrote:Victor Ikpeba has always been the man,left and right foot the guy was a warrior.My most interesting moments when he played CL football with Monaco back in the 97/98 season.Monaco then had Trezeguet,Henry and Ikpeba.I remember how Henry and Ikpeba single handedly destroyed Bayer Leverkursen 4-0.2 goals each from henry and Ikpeba,then Henryused to run with his head down,but his speed was crazy.
old news

Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Overhyped? No! Headcase? Yes! Ikpeba was benching Trezeguez when they were both at Monaco and he was highest scorer in the French league that year.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

I thank God, I hope my boy makes the best of this opportunity...

Up Naija!!!

he should be invited to camp nowwwwwwwww

calli65

Post by calli65 »

bayo, shut up, Ikepba at his prime was the real deal.
original skeepolah

Post by original skeepolah »

He is only 30, chei!!!So young!!!!!!!!!!!Hope he can achieve more and excel while still in his prime. Hey, and by the way, he is not overhyped or average, he was and still is one of the best..............Who cares if he plays for last place or a 1st place team................It is still in premiership, not some cats squandering their talents in an unknown division 2 or 3...........HE IS BAAAACCCCCCCCCCKKKKKKKKKKKKK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:
Larry Ashagbe

Post by Larry Ashagbe »

Good luck Victor.

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:he's a supremely talented player. Just never acheived his potentials.
What potentials? What else can a player prayed, he had played the game at the topmost level. He won silver at U 17 level, Olympic gold with Under 23. He has played in the ECL more than any Nigerian. He has scored more goals at the ECL with Monaco than any other Nigerian. He has played in the senior WC and scored at the world stage, one of his goals advanced Nigeria to the 2nd round......I meant how many present or past Eagle can boast of this resume...how many? Okocha????