only 3 teams have lost first game and advanced

ugly boy

Post by ugly boy »

Yes...Our task is monumental...What if South Korea forces Argentina to a draw and decide to park the bus and counter against us in the 3rd game...Our qualification is far from automatic
Re: only 3 teams have lost first game and advanced

The way I see it we are in the same position we were prior to the commencement of the match.

1) Similar to the expectations before the match, our fate is in our hands, but results are indeterminate.

2) Similar to the situation before the match, our form is volatile. We can muster a victory or succumb to a loss.

3) This loss has not carved our fate, but has simply been the eventuation of the expected and the elimination of the variable with the most predictable outcome. Hence we are left with the two variables in which we have the most amount of uncertainty. So in other words, by eliminating this variable, we are relatively still in the same position we were prior to the match.

4) The way the draw is arranged, will mean that our next game is our easiest task relatively, while Korea's next game is their hardest task relatively. Therefore at the end of both matches, provided the odds come to fruition, we should be placed second, leaving the last variable as the decider.

6) Every world cup has a different structure, therefore the fact you stated is inconclusive.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
ghanaweb

Post by ghanaweb »

Ghana lost first game to Italy 0-2 ...played next two games against countries in the top 10 and advanced

Naija should be able to do the same. You are playing teams outside the top 10
brainz

Post by brainz »

ghanaweb wrote:Ghana lost first game to Italy 0-2 ...played next two games against countries in the top 10 and advanced

Naija should be able to do the same. You are playing teams outside the top 20

Greece is 13th

brainz wrote:
ghanaweb wrote:Ghana lost first game to Italy 0-2 ...played next two games against countries in the top 10 and advanced

Greece is 13th
Correct

but I expect them to drop out of the top 20...after the world cup.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

...pls yabis or bro. rivalry apart...Ghana is Ghana a team with heart and will give it all when need calls for it less division among its people compared to Naija...
ghanaweb

Post by ghanaweb »

tbite wrote:
brainz wrote:
Greece is 13th
Correct
but I expect them to drop out of the top 20...after the world cup.
my bad... Mistake corrected

However the point remains the same. u play a team ranked 13 and the other ranked in the 40s
If Ghana made it against the 2 and 5th ranked team, then u should be able to make it too
ghanaweb

Post by ghanaweb »

Metho scorpion wrote:

...pls yabis or bro. rivalry apart...Ghana is Ghana a team with heart and will give it all when need calls for it less division among its people compared to Naija...
BTW, who was the other team to make it pass group stage after losing first game

1)Ghana lost to Italy
2)Argentina lost to Cameroon
3) was it France lose to Senegal?

ghanaweb wrote:
Metho scorpion wrote:

1)Ghana lost to Italy

France didn't make it out or even score a goal in Korea/Japan 2002!
ghanaweb

Post by ghanaweb »

Undertaker wrote:
ghanaweb wrote:
Metho scorpion wrote:

1)Ghana lost to Italy

France didn't make it out or even score a goal in Korea/Japan 2002!
so what was the third team
otite

Post by otite »

France lost to Senegal but eventually won the cup

Stats or no stats we are not getting out of this group not when we are being made to play with our hands tied behind our backs. Lagerback isnt good enough to see Yobo, Yak and Shittu arent good enough. I suspect it will all be over after the greece game. Good news is England are going all the way
ghanaweb

Post by ghanaweb »

otite wrote:France lost to Senegal but eventually won the cup
what have u been smoking?
otite

Post by otite »

my fault, my bad, but you do not have be a mud kid.
brigadoon

Post by brigadoon »

We will be fine. Stop panicking! In all our previous appearances we have lost a game in the group stage. In this case, it just happens to be the first game.

Gosh..I dint know that there is a high percentage of CEs that are this negative

I was at the match today and we lost but I think we played better than I ve seen us in a while

Yes I agree that Etuhu and to some extent Ordiah were lethargic, but it was a good performance.

Enyeama was solid today

The players now know they have to win both their next matches and they can do it.

Messi was dangerous but was stopped!!!

Lets give the guys some credit, they did well, could have been better but its not the end of the world yet
blueangel

Post by blueangel »

ghanaweb wrote:
Metho scorpion wrote:

1)Ghana lost to Italy

Bulgeria lost to Nigeria in 94
ora

Post by ora »

There are only 4 teams in our group, and 2 advances. Its not over yet.

The order of our games means we have a good chance of making it. Greece is weak we can beat them and Argies can and probably will beat South Korea, then our destiny will be in our own hands against S.K.
blueangel

Post by blueangel »

Totally Wrong Statement

Nigeria Will Advance

The stat is not right. Here are some others
Bulgaria in 94. They lost the opener to us and made it to the semi's.
England in 86. Lost their opener to Portugal and made it to the last 8

And I've not been exhaustive about this. I reckon it's happened loads of times
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Nigeria's fate is in their own hands. Beat Greece and Korea and advance.
otite

Post by otite »

Heliopolis wrote:Nigeria's fate is in their own hands. Beat Greece and Korea and advance.
And they can do it, most of these guys played at the olympics, they lost their first game but got to the finals.