Keshi Has Brought Back the Era of Below Average Players

mapet
Re: Keshi Has Brought Back the Era of Below Average Players

Post by mapet »

Well Dr. Olu was infected by guys during the kickoffnigeria era, when Taribo called players like Joseph Yobo, John Utaka, Vincent Enyeama, Julius etc and others junk players, except himself, Okocha and Babayaro as the only true players of the 2002 WC.

That said, pls sir Olu, add Juwon to your list
nellcarter

Post by nellcarter »

olu wrote:I remember how CCC imposed junk players like Ifeanyi Ekueme, Ikpe Ekong, and Olofinjana on us. Lagerback went the world cup with the likes of Etuhu and Kaita and did not take a true natural AM/playmaker to the world cup. Unfortunately some where along the line Keshi has lost the plot and gone the way of his predecessors. Reuben, Babatunde, Amoebi, and to some extent Egwuekwe and Agbim are wasted roster spots and add no value to our squad. He might as well have taken 17 players to the world cup, rather than include those 5.

Uchebo should be our main AM, while Mikel plays as the secondary AM/deep lying playmaker. Mikel kills counter attacks with his sideways passing, and doesn't move the ball to the forwards fast enough. With the likes of Moses, Emeneike, Osaze, and Musa, there is no reason why our build up play should be so slow, and it comes down to not having an AM that runs comfortably with the ball and spreads the ball qucikly to the forwards. See how quickly Bradley moved the and made a pass to his forwards when we played the U.S. Everytime he won the ball in midfield he initiated the counter attack very effectively.

I think our best best in this world cup would be to play a 4-2-3-1 as follows:

All these analysts and soccer formations experts sef. So, wetin you predict before the last ANC? Abeg, take am easy, jare.

Enyeama
Juwon Omeruo Obaobona Ambrose
Onazi Mikel
Moses Uchebo Osaze
Emeneike
JMObi

Post by JMObi »

What about Chief Onigbinde who saw one player execute a bicycle kick and immediately penciled him into his squad (Ogbeche). Heck that team was packed with enough junk players to make someone seriously take up a diet plan:

- Ogbeche
- Sam Sodje
- Justice
- Pius Ikedia
- Akweugbu
- Opabunmi
- Opabunmi
- Ejiofor
O na-abu ife na-eme ufodu e ekolopu anyi adi elota n’ife obuna nwelu mbido ga enwelili njedebe - Celestine Ukwu

“The sun will shine on those who stand before it shines on those who kneel under them." -- Chinua Achebe
yannick

Post by yannick »

JMObi wrote:What about Chief Onigbinde who saw one player execute a bicycle kick and immediately penciled him into his squad (Ogbeche). Heck that team was packed with enough junk players to make someone seriously take up a diet plan:

- Ogbeche
- Sam Sodje
- Justice
- Pius Ikedia
- Akweugbu
- Opabunmi
- Opabunmi
- Ejiofor
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: oh my days

JMObi wrote:What about Chief Onigbinde who saw one player execute a bicycle kick and immediately penciled him into his squad (Ogbeche). Heck that team was packed with enough junk players to make someone seriously take up a diet plan:

- Ogbeche
- Sam Sodje
- Justice
- Pius Ikedia
- Akweugbu
- Opabunmi
- Opabunmi
- Ejiofor
That was Baba Oni's "foundation for the future".

It was Efe and not Sam Sodje.

Was Papabunmi so "junk" that you had to name him twice?

Anyway, the same dropology that inflicted the squad in 2002 is still around today. Yak's coach in Israel even said that Akwuegbu paid to take Yak's place in the squad.

Better a team of below average players winning Nations Cup and qualifying for the WC... than a star studded team (constantly and consistently bronze hugging @ nations cup) and failure to qualify for the WC and Nations cup.

bushboy wrote:You lost credibility when I saw Uchebo in your starting lineup. :boo: :boo:

My brother, one man's "average" is...

olu wrote:I apologise. Keshi has brought back the era of below average players.
oloye wrote:Oh dear... I don't support calling any player or human being junk, a simple average to below average will do.
When was the last time we even had average players?

some of you guys are delusional, una call players junk , average etc.. lets get real, when was the last time Nigeria won a match at the worldcup .. guess what it was 1998 and the result was 1-0 .. The way una dey talk, one of you would think Nigeria is the best team at the worldcup ..smh

I am sure the guy with bandana was Efe Sodje not Sam match fixer Sodje

Besides Mikel, Enyeama, Emenike, Onazi and Moses, most of our players are average at best anyway. Gone are the era of the Okochas, Kanus, Finidis, Uche, Muda Lawals, Yekinis and others

KingLoku wrote:
Janganza wrote:What have you won before Keshi came into the scene? With all your world class players, you won nada for 19 good years. Ungrateful fans.
Listen. U think Keshi tactics won the ACN ? .. Let's give him that credit , aiight why has he not been able to replica the ANC second round performance ? .. Remember Confed ?
Remember Egypt and Ghana :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:
In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king :sneaky: :sneaky:

Bigpokey24 wrote:some of you guys are delusional, una call players junk , average etc.. lets get real, when was the last time Nigeria won a match at the worldcup .. guess what it was 1998 and the result was 1-0 .. The way una dey talk, one of you would think Nigeria is the best team at the worldcup ..smh
:agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree:
xinity

Post by xinity »

KingLoku wrote:
Bestplayer wrote:
nanijoe wrote:Way to show maturity..Agree with you or not, you have laid down the framework to at least have a discussion..

Having said all that, your head no dey house :) I dey joke ohh..

olu wrote:I apologise. Keshi has brought back the era of below average players.
oloye wrote:Oh dear... I don't support calling any player or human being junk, a simple average to below average will do.
Keshi is a fraud. A very greedy man who sees international tourneys simply as money making opportunities. Anybody with half a brain will easily discern that something fishy is going on behind the scenes. Nigeria will certainly not qualify from their group. This is confederations cup all over again and some shameless fools are here defending him :veryangry:
U can kill the body but u can't kill the spirit .. Vancity is that youuuu??? :rotf: .
Or maybe his ghost has returned like the movie living in bondage. :taunt: :lol:
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

olu wrote:I remember how CCC imposed junk players like Ifeanyi Ekueme, Ikpe Ekong, and Olofinjana on us. Lagerback went the world cup with the likes of Etuhu and Kaita and did not take a true natural AM/playmaker to the world cup. Unfortunately some where along the line Keshi has lost the plot and gone the way of his predecessors. Reuben, Babatunde, Amoebi, and to some extent Egwuekwe and Agbim are wasted roster spots and add no value to our squad. He might as well have taken 17 players to the world cup, rather than include those 5.

Uchebo should be our main AM, while Mikel plays as the secondary AM/deep lying playmaker. Mikel kills counter attacks with his sideways passing, and doesn't move the ball to the forwards fast enough. With the likes of Moses, Emeneike, Osaze, and Musa, there is no reason why our build up play should be so slow, and it comes down to not having an AM that runs comfortably with the ball and spreads the ball qucikly to the forwards. See how quickly Bradley moved the and made a pass to his forwards when we played the U.S. Everytime he won the ball in midfield he initiated the counter attack very effectively.

I think our best best in this world cup would be to play a 4-2-3-1 as follows:

Enyeama
Juwon Omeruo Obaobona Ambrose
Onazi Mikel
Moses Uchebo Osaze
Emeneike
I see oga Cellular has allowed junk posters to this forum.

Olu is a junk poster, in case you do not get my drift.

Nonsense and ingredients.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.

http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif

ifeanyi ekwueme was not junk pls stop yarning opaks.
His introduction to the team by CCC in ANC 2004 stabilized our formation helping us recover from a shaky start against morrocco; and getting us to the semies having defeated cameroon in the Qfinals.
I consider his addition to the team one of CCC's finest moments as SE coach
Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.

Catalyst

Post by Catalyst »

1 === Peter Rufai === Vincent Enyeama
2 === Augustine Eguavoen === Efe Ambrose
3 === Benedict Iroha === Uwa Echiejile
4 === Stephen Keshi === Joseph Yobo
5 === Uche Okechukwu === Azubuike Egwuekwe
6 === Chidi Nwanu === Godfrey Oboabona
7 === Finidi George === Ahmed Musa
8 === Thompson Oliha === Reuben Gabriel
9 === Rashidi Yekini === Emmanuel Emenike
10 === Jay-Jay Okocha === John Obi Mikel
11 === Emmanuel Amuneke === Victor Moses
12 === Samson Siasia === Peter Odemwingie
13 === Emeka Ezeugo === Ramon Azeez
14 === Daniel Amokachi === Michael Uchebo
15 === Sunday Oliseh === Ogenyi Onazi
16 === Alloysius Agu === Chigozie Agbim
17 === Victor Ikpeba === Uche Nwofor
18 === Efan Ekoku === Shola Ameobi
19 === Michael Emenalo === Juwon Oshaniwa
20 === Uche Okafor === Kenneth Omeruo
21 === Mutiu Adepoju === Michael Babatunde
22 === Wilfred Agbonavbare === Austin Ejide
23 === BLANK === Kunle Odunlami

Catalyst wrote:1 === Peter Rufai === Vincent Enyeama
2 === Augustine Eguavoen === Efe Ambrose
3 === Benedict Iroha === Uwa Echiejile
4 === Stephen Keshi === Joseph Yobo
5 === Uche Okechukwu === Azubuike Egwuekwe
6 === Chidi Nwanu === Godfrey Oboabona
7 === Finidi George === Ahmed Musa
8 === Thompson Oliha === Reuben Gabriel
9 === Rashidi Yekini === Emmanuel Emenike
10 === Jay-Jay Okocha === John Obi Mikel
11 === Emmanuel Amuneke === Victor Moses
12 === Samson Siasia === Peter Odemwingie
13 === Emeka Ezeugo === Ramon Azeez
14 === Daniel Amokachi === Michael Uchebo
15 === Sunday Oliseh === Ogenyi Onazi
16 === Alloysius Agu === Chigozie Agbim
17 === Victor Ikpeba === Uche Nwofor
18 === Efan Ekoku === Shola Ameobi
19 === Michael Emenalo === Juwon Oshaniwa
20 === Uche Okafor === Kenneth Omeruo
21 === Mutiu Adepoju === Michael Babatunde
22 === Wilfred Agbonavbare === Austin Ejide
23 === BLANK === Kunle Odunlami
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: My Belle.....................Wetin man no fit here on CE

What most people fail to realise is several of the players that we fielded against Sweden or Romania did not make it to the 94 world cup, while in preparation for this world cup we have fielded the bulk our 23 in the 3 friendlies we played. In preparing for the 98 world cup, the friendlies against Netherlands and Yugoslavia exposed some of the weaknesses of the 98 team (such as problems in the goalkeeping and RB department), and these weaknesses resurfaced at the world cup.

This team's problems include a weak bench (due to Keshi's poor selections), lack of a true AM/playmaker that can initiate attacks quickly, and playing with fullbacks that don't really cross the ball. I doubt Keshi will be able to correct these problems by next week.

wale1974 wrote:Besides Mikel, Enyeama, Emenike, Onazi and Moses, most of our players are average at best anyway. Gone are the era of the Okochas, Kanus, Finidis, Uche, Muda Lawals, Yekinis and others
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Don't worry folks, we just played another friendly match.