[WC2014] France 2-0 Nigeria: FT (Pogba, Yobo(OG))

Re: [WC2014] France 2-0 Nigeria: FT (Pogba, Yobo(OG))

txj wrote:It hurts; it really hurts...

We could've done more in this WC.

Too many decisions that did not pan out...

Too many problems left to fester...
At the end like you pointed out, it will rest on the foot of the coach.

kalamashaka

Post by kalamashaka »

anikulapo wrote:This world cup has confirmed for me why I can never emotionally invest in African teams ...Tufiakwa

It's not as if anyone's missing your "emotional investment"...gerrout!!!
"How many white men went in the party that destroyed Abame?"
Re: [WC2014] France 2-0 Nigeria: 2nd H

African Star wrote:Set pieces and goalkeeping errors. African teams can't defend set pieces, can't score set pieces, goalkeepers can't handle crosses, offense can't create quality goal scoring chances of offensive pattern plays.

This has been the case since 1974 and 40 years later we have made no improvement in those departments.
Maybe just maybe there is some truth in the stereotypes then :lol: whenever an african team scores I know the other will also score not long after. We cant concentrate

aamimar wrote:Hard luck Nigeria, the game was there for the taking, France was ordinary. Didn't like Obowinge when he was winking and smiling at the camera during the national anthem.

blueangel

Post by blueangel »

The French goalie did not have to make as many saves as Enyeama.

Which means our attack was not very sharp
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

:clap: :clap:
As expected last 16 was the best we would do
I'm happy we didn't get disgraced
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
soma

Post by soma »

blueangel wrote:
FRANK WHITE wrote:
blueangel wrote:we lost to a better team today.

All in ALL, a good WOrld Cup

We shall be back wiser & stronger

you call losing 2 and winning only 1 a good world cup?
We over achieved.

We underachieved.

3. Thomas Sankara
4. Patrice Lumumba
5. Robert Mugabe
6. Murmar "the Lion" Ghaddafi....

aamimar wrote:Hard luck Nigeria, the game was there for the taking, France was ordinary. Didn't like Obowinge when he was winking and smiling at the camera during the national anthem.
The good thing was that ALL our senior players were culpable...

Keshi cost us in the end. A strong bench and France would have been beaten!
The Notorious B!GGESTMAN

Post by The Notorious B!GGESTMAN »

blueangel wrote:
FRANK WHITE wrote:

We over achieved.
what the hell are you talking about? Over achieved in what? Drawing against Iran and beating a team i their first WC appearance? If we had gone down fighting against France then I would have been okay about it, but that last 10 minutes was pathetic! I am glad I am leaving this forum sha! :roll:
The weak or the strong,
who got it going on
You're dead wrong
omo-eko

Post by omo-eko »

Eagles,Home here we come :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: what a shame
Last edited by omo-eko on Mon Jun 30, 2014 7:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

kalamashaka wrote:
anikulapo wrote:This world cup has confirmed for me why I can never emotionally invest in African teams ...Tufiakwa

It's not as if anyone's missing your "emotional investment"...gerrout!!!
:P :lol:
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

The Eagle
Re: [WC2014] France 2-0 Nigeria: 2nd H

Post by The Eagle »

Samora Moises Machel wrote:
African Star wrote:Set pieces and goalkeeping errors. African teams can't defend set pieces, can't score set pieces, goalkeepers can't handle crosses, offense can't create quality goal scoring chances of offensive pattern plays.

This has been the case since 1974 and 40 years later we have made no improvement in those departments.
Maybe just maybe there is some truth in the stereotypes then :lol: whenever an african team scores I know the other will also score not long after. We cant concentrate
Don't mind all those African teams like Argentina who concede immediately after scoring.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

This result hurts.

Thank you Super Eagles. Thank you Yobo for the memories.

Going forward, we need to build around Onazi and Omerua.

Once they scored, our ball$ crawled deep inside our us.

I'm not mad about the result, I expected it. I am however mad that after going a goal down, we just gave up. Osas strolling, Gabriel way out of his debt, Mikel playing the village angel*.

Anyway, we try. Good luck wherever you land next Keshi because 100% sure, the idiots will run you out of the job.

txj wrote:It hurts; it really hurts...

We could've done more in this WC.

Too many decisions that did not pan out...

Too many problems left to fester...
At the end like you pointed out, it will rest on the foot of the coach.

Its a solid French team, but there are no special teams so far in this WC.

With better management we could've done more with the advantages we had in this game...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

juventuss wrote:So we had no bench. Once Onazi went off, we were gone. Onazi was the engine of this team.

is this a revelation to you? Been harping on depth for ages

dhoney
Re: [WC2014] France 1-0 Nigeria: 2nd H

Post by dhoney »

oloye wrote:These guys just stopped playing...cant believe, they just stopped playing
Their head dropped after the first goal.

They looked un-interested... so disappointed
And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

FRANK WHITE wrote:
blueangel wrote:
FRANK WHITE wrote:

We over achieved.
what the hell are you talking about? Over achieved in what? Drawing against Iran and beating a team i their first WC appearance? If we had gone down fighting against France then I would have been okay about it, but that last 10 minutes was pathetic! I am glad I am leaving this forum sha! :roll:
Err when are you leaving? :tic:

Naija4lyfe

Post by Naija4lyfe »

since 2010 sef
Naija4lyfe

txj wrote:We had nothing on the bench

Nobody who could change the game, once we went down...

Simple and short.

amafolas wrote:
mmeny wrote:PROUD OF THE SUPER EAGLES :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Talent wise, this team overachieved. How Matuidi finished this game will never stop amazing me. These reminds me of shades of Italy in 1994. When Italy saw they couldn't cope with Naija, they took out our two key men Amuneke and Amokachi. Without those two, Nigerian attack was toothless.

France couldn't find a way to our defence. So they cynically took out Onazi.

very true. Giroud should have gotten a red for the elbow on Obi earlier as well. We actually punched above our weight here, as France has more quality players than we do.

Anyway, let's enjoy the rest of the WC. Hoping we don't go through another ugly postmortem here, especially after a recently-resolved bonus row.