Iheanaho highlights Man City and Nigeria

This guy in on to something..

Re: Iheanaho highlights Man City and Nigeria

Nothing special

BTW, where is Chrisantus MaCauley?
obaGol

Post by obaGol »

Maybe swallowed up by the same Bermuda triangle that sucked in this entire team: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghana_nati ... tball_team
Rawlings wrote:Nothing special

The amount of power he is able to generate with little to no backlift is incredible. We have a massive talent on our hands.
#thefutureisbright

DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Iheanacho's reputation is suffering from the tendency of nigerians to overhype players.
That's why some football dummies think he could be another talent that is not able to fulfill the high expectations.
But this boy is an exeption - he is a genuis in the making - a player who can influence a whole generation.
I'm not even exxagerating - only the sky will be the limit for this player.
Though I have my worries due to the club he plays for - financially Man City is on the highest level, when it comes to quality on the pitch Man City has not reached the highest level in Europe.
I fear that because of Man City's financial power Iheanacho would have to remain at a club that he might have outgrown in a few years.

The 'scary' thing about Iheanacho is that, at his young age, he has no obvious weaknesses.
There are certain things he can still improve on but he basically has it all - he can shoot, ball control is almost perfect, football IQ, passing, pace, physique etc.
He "reminds" me of the player we wanted Mikel to be.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

DAgrin wrote:Iheanacho's reputation is suffering from the tendency of nigerians to overhype players.
That's why some football dummies think he could be another talent that is not able to fulfill the high expectations.
But this boy is an exeption - he is a genuis in the making - a player who can influence a whole generation.
Though I have my worries due to the club he plays for - financially Man City is on the highest level, when it comes to quality on the pitch Man City has not reached the highest level in Europe.
I fear that because of Man City's financial power Iheanacho would have to remain at a club that he might have outgrown in a few years.

The 'scary' thing about Iheanacho is that, at his young age, he has no obvious weaknesses.
There are certain things he can still improve on but he basically has it all - he can shoot, ball control is almost perfect, football IQ, passing, pace, physique etc.
hopefully within a year - we will have more players from flying squad playing in so called A class european teams -

My fear for him is that Nigeria may try to turn him into a so called "playmaker".
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

DAgrin wrote:Iheanacho's reputation is suffering from the tendency of nigerians to overhype players.

Agree on most of what you said, however Mikel was never going to be that sort of player, and only the fantasizers, that hadn't seen him play live, but only got introduced to him at the u20 felt that way. Like I said back then, first time I saw Mikel play, he played as a central midfielder and the attacking midfielder was Promise. What I remember many say was how Mikel just coordinated the whole team from his position and everything passed through him. The role Yaya plays for Man City was the role he played then, but Chelsea did a number on him and that's the end of story.
For Kelechi, he finishes like a top 9 but has the guile, skill set and passing range of a top 10 attacking midfielder. I am not surprised Manu said he could replace Lampard, he could play any role in the top 4 positions comfortably...he's that good.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:My fear for him is that Nigeria may try to turn him into a so called "playmaker".
and what is wrong in that - A scoring playmaker is added bonus-
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

okidoki wrote:

Agree on most of what you said, however Mikel was never going to be that sort of player, and only the fantasizers, that hadn't seen him play live, but only got introduced to him at the u20 felt that way. Like I said back then, first time I saw Mikel play, he played as a central midfielder and the attacking midfielder was Promise. What I remember many say was how Mikel just coordinated the whole team from his position and everything passed through him. The role Yaya plays for Man City was the role he played then, but Chelsea did a number on him and that's the end of story.
For Kelechi, he finishes like a top 9 but has the guile, skill set and passing range of a top 10 attacking midfielder. I am not surprised Manu said he could replace Lampard, he could play any role in the top 4 positions comfortably...he's that good.
You are spot on - Iheanacho is very versatile as he has strengthes in many departments, he is indeed a deadly finisher and has playmaking skills all in one.
However when I said "reminds me of" I tried to describe an ideal, an illusion or call it hype that was always out of reach.
After Okocha ended his career Nigerians were and are still longing for a playmaker that can take his place.
As a consequence a lot of players who were actually not suitable were hyped into that position - that goes especially for Mikel Obi who is despite Mourinho's influence a brilliant player of his own fasion.

Naija 4 life!

City are investing in facilities that surpasses anything in Europe, they'll eventually start dominating Europe as well. It's just a matter of time. Iheanacho needs to stay where he is and he'll rise up the ranks in no time.

The future looks bright. The talent is obvious....now comes the other part....the hardwork and attitude. I know nothing about this player personally, but I hope he is an exemplary professional loving teammate and a do the right thing attitude type of guy.

Sky is the effing limit.

That video just reminded me just how deadly the combo of Success and Iheanacho was! One was scoring, the other was assisting on virtually all their goals. Unplayable duo!! :thumbs:

bushboy wrote:That video just reminded me just how deadly the combo of Success and Iheanacho was! One was scoring, the other was assisting on virtually all their goals. Unplayable duo!! :thumbs:
...was that against 16-year-olds? :winking:

Iheanacho was developed by Nigerian youth coaches.

I agree with you 100% my broda.....in fact, I rate Yeboah much higHer. I am keen to witness his
Progression into the man city firs team.....I hope he doesn't let me down.

bushboy wrote:

I agree with you 100% my broda.....in fact, I rate Yeboah much higHer. I am keen to witness his

If you are serious, what would let you down? His failure to progress as you seem to be forecasting?

bushboy wrote:

If you are serious, what would let you down? His failure to progress as you seem to be forecasting?
I am talking about Yeboah not Iheanacho. Sarcasm for our Ghanaian friend.

bushboy wrote:

see how slow your brothers are ?
Next time type slowly :laugh:

I agree the boy is supremely talented and is an excellent technical player. I remember watching Kanu at the U17 level and JJ Okocha as an U20 player, and Iheanacho's current technical abilities exceeds that of both of them when they were youth team players. I'm just being picky, but his only marginal weakness is he does not have the kind of blinding pace I like to see in star attacking players. That's one area I rate Success and Simon ahead of him, but he is by no means slow.

bushboy wrote:

see how slow your brothers are ?
Next time type slowly :laugh:
:taunt: :taunt: Which is why i said "not sur...." ahh never mind..

DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

olu wrote:I agree the boy is supremely talented and is an excellent technical player. I remember watching Kanu at the U17 level and JJ Okocha as an U20 player, and Iheanacho's current technical abilities exceeds that of both of them when they were youth team players. I'm just being picky, but his only marginal weakness is he does not have the kind of blinding pace I like to see in star attacking players. That's one area I rate Success and Simon ahead of him, but he is by no means slow.

Moses Simon is exceptionaly fast.
I don't think that an attacking midfielder or winger with playmaking skills urgently needs to be this fast.
Zidane was not fast either and in my opinion was the most dominant and influential midfielder of all time.
Messi is not as fast as Moses either - Moses is a player who mostly lives from his pace - that's what most of his game is all about ( I rate him highly either, don't get me wrong there).
Pace is not Iheanacho's main feature that makes him play on the highest level.

Naija 4 life!

DAgrin wrote:
olu wrote:I agree the boy is supremely talented and is an excellent technical player. I remember watching Kanu at the U17 level and JJ Okocha as an U20 player, and Iheanacho's current technical abilities exceeds that of both of them when they were youth team players. I'm just being picky, but his only marginal weakness is he does not have the kind of blinding pace I like to see in star attacking players. That's one area I rate Success and Simon ahead of him, but he is by no means slow.

Moses Simon is exceptionaly fast.
I don't think that an attacking midfielder or winger with playmaking skills urgently needs to be this fast.
Zidane was not fast either and in my opinion was the most dominant and influential midfielder of all time.
Messi is not as fast as Moses either - Moses is a player who mostly lives from his pace - that's what most of his game is all about ( I rate him highly either, don't get me wrong there).
Pace is not Iheanacho's main feature that makes him play on the highest level.
D'Agrin,what do you make of Ahmed Musa on the right, Moses Simon on the left and Anthony ujah in the centre for the SE. Their pace will be too much for most defences.