Germany 2 (Kroos, Gomez) vs England 3 (Kane, Vardy, Dier) FT

Re: Germany 2 (Kroos, Gomez) vs England 3 (Kane, Vardy, Dier

Scipio Africanus wrote:
airwolex wrote:If England had lost they are rubbish, when they win Germany didnt take it serious. You only had to see the look in the face of the German bench to know how painful a loss to England (friendly or not is). England's team will beat any African team anyday so some respect please.
Germany took out Hummels at HT and used the U21 pair Rudiger and Tah(who got this first cap in the match) as central defenders. That is when you should have known that Germany were not interested in winning this match. The aim was to experiment.
...they were leading comfortably at home so Loew pulled a Siasia not to protect his lead :lol:
brigadoon

Post by brigadoon »

Coach wrote:Like many, Hodgson will face his nemesis in an off-form Wayne Rooney. Does he, doesn't he? Expect Roy to change shape, system, strategy, to squeeze Wayne in. Regardless.
And that is why England will lose.
brigadoon

Post by brigadoon »

airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:
airwolex wrote:If England had lost they are rubbish, when they win Germany didnt take it serious. You only had to see the look in the face of the German bench to know how painful a loss to England (friendly or not is). England's team will beat any African team anyday so some respect please.
Germany took out Hummels at HT and used the U21 pair Rudiger and Tah(who got this first cap in the match) as central defenders. That is when you should have known that Germany were not interested in winning this match. The aim was to experiment.
If you think Germany was not interested in beating England for the first time at home since 1987 then you don't understand the rivalry between the Countries. Go read what Khedira, Lowe and Gomez had to say after the game.

BTW, Nuer, Ozil, Khedira, Muller, Gomez, Reus all played...90% of the best they have to offer.
There is no rivalry where the Germans are concerned. For Germany, their main rivals are Holland. The English are an afterthought.

brigadoon wrote:
airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:
If you think Germany was not interested in beating England for the first time at home since 1987 then you don't understand the rivalry between the Countries. Go read what Khedira, Lowe and Gomez had to say after the game.

BTW, Nuer, Ozil, Khedira, Muller, Gomez, Reus all played...90% of the best they have to offer.
There is no rivalry where the Germans are concerned. For Germany, their main rivals are Holland. The English are an afterthought.
some of you just talk without any facts. Holland has never won the world cup. England and Germany has. England did not beat Holland with a controversial goal that many wondered for decades if it ever crossed the line.
England went to war with Hitler's Germany. The game between this two, even bidding rights always invoke all the bad belle that has gone on in the past
brigadoon

Post by brigadoon »

Did you even read the Wiki article? Have you ever spoken to a German soccer fan? Once again, this rivalry is all in the heads of the English. The German fans don't give a sh*t about 1966. Most of them don't even remember it. Talk to any German fan and they will tell you that as far as they are concerned, their main rivals are the Dutch.

I remember watching an episode of QI a few years ago where Stephen Fry made the same point and none of the English panelists could believe it. Go to minute 5:30.

kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

brigadoon wrote:
airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

some of you just talk without any facts. Holland has never won the world cup. England and Germany has. England did not beat Holland with a controversial goal that many wondered for decades if it ever crossed the line.
England went to war with Hitler's Germany. The game between this two, even bidding rights always invoke all the bad belle that has gone on in the past
There is a rivalry between uk and germany, but it is nothing compared to the dutch.

Germany went to war with Holland and beat their legendary 74 Team. Holland won the Euro in Germany in 88.
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"

Well said Airwolex. I hate England but they will beat any african team. The elite african teams would struggle to beat even Scotland. Fact

Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

Only England thinks there is a "rivalry" with Germany. The Germans don't think they have a football rivalry with England because they are operating at different levels.
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

brigadoon wrote:
airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

Exactly!
Eto’o, Ronaldinho, Deco, and Messi are like good caviar, tender pine-nuts, chemical-free sea salt, and the purest of virgin olive oils, said one of the world's greatest chefs, Ferran Adria of El Bulli restaurant, Before Barca went on to wallop Madrid 3-0 at the Bernabeu.

“I believe the target of anything in life should be to do it so well that it becomes an art. Football is like that. When I watch Barcelona, it is art” — Arsène Wenger, August 2009
kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

Vincent. wrote:
airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

Only England thinks there is a "rivalry" with Germany. The Germans don't think they have a football rivalry with England because they are operating at different levels.
Not true, there is a rivalry, it is not that strong though.
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

kofi86 wrote:
Vincent. wrote:
airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

Rivalry corresponds with respect you have for your opposition.
England has not won anything since 1966 and they always lose (their nerves) when it comes to penalties.
That is pitiful and not a good basis to respect somebody as a rival.

It's different with the Dutch.
We share a "affectionate rivalry" with the Dutch who have produced so many wonderful teams and players over the years it is unbelievable for such a small country.
I actually don't like the schadenfreude of the Germans when the Netherlands misses a major tournament: "Ohne Holland fahren wir zur WM".
I personally love the Netherlands and its people as I'm very familiar with people and country and have family there.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!
rasak74

Post by rasak74 »

I smh at the negative comments on here I swear, same people calling for Oliseh to get fired after losing a friendly to DR Congo....lol
Internet gangster
Uses the internet as a front for acting like a tough guy gang member, usually because they are hoping to gain the respect that they lack in their real life. Don't be fooled........This person is a sham. This person is not actually an attack dog, they are a timid house cat.
Troll
One who deliberately starts an argument in a manner which attacks others on a forum without in any way listening to the arguments proposed by his or her peers.

Samora Machel wrote:Well said Airwolex. I hate England but they will beat any african team. The elite african teams would struggle to beat even Scotland. Fact
Are you referring to the Zim national cricket team?
Nigeria 2 vs Scotland 2

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/27383284

Scotland 1 vs Nigeria 2

http://www.skysports.com/football/scotl ... eria/26650

Scotland 0 vs Morocco 3

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j ... JLeTC1HHPw[/video]
kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

Here is what Löw said after the game:
"So eine Niederlage in einem Testspiel ist nicht ganz so schwer zu verkraften. Wir haben jetzt am Dienstag noch ein Spiel, da kommt gegen Italien ein wirklich sehr starker Gegner auf uns zu. Wir werden das Spiel analysieren, aber auch damit können wir mal leben", sagte Löw nach dem 2:3 gegen die Three Lions am Samstagabend in Berlin.
(translation: it is not that hard to cope with such a loss in a test game. We have another match on Tuesday, where we will face a really tough opponent. We will analyze the game, but we can live with that.)

Here is what Müller said after the game:
"Es ist einfach so, dass wir den Testspiel-Charakter, und da spreche ich auch von mir selbst, nicht abschütteln konnten. Wir sind als Mannschaft nicht an die 100 Prozent rangekommen. Das ist leider nichts Neues, dass wir in Testspielen nicht ganz so gut aussehen", sagte Thomas Müller
(the first sentence is not easy to translate as it involves a figure of speech. He is basically saying that the team, including him, could not overcome the fact that the game was just a friendly. He goes on saying that the team did not give 100% and, unfortunately, it is nothing new that the performance in friendlies was not sub par.)

http://www.abendzeitung-muenchen.de/inh ... 6452a.html

Looks like this 3-Lions victory does not sit well with many here :biggrin:

Like someone has said, if Enger Lund had lost, then we would have heard it all, brother Yujam had already started when it was 2-0 to Germany

But now there is real emphasis that "it's just a friendly" :taunt: :lol:
rasak74

Post by rasak74 »

benteke wrote:Looks like this 3-Lions victory does not sit well with many here :biggrin:

Like someone has said, if Enger Lund had lost, then we would have heard it all, brother Yujam had already started when it was 2-0 to Germany

You dey mind dem, same friendly that almost got oliseh fired on CE.....lol
Naija people are so funny.
Internet gangster
Uses the internet as a front for acting like a tough guy gang member, usually because they are hoping to gain the respect that they lack in their real life. Don't be fooled........This person is a sham. This person is not actually an attack dog, they are a timid house cat.
Troll
One who deliberately starts an argument in a manner which attacks others on a forum without in any way listening to the arguments proposed by his or her peers.
Vincent.

Post by Vincent. »

kofi86 wrote:
Vincent. wrote:
airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

My brother, they English used to take it very seriously, with tabloids and hooligans digging up all the World War II and Nazi issues they could get their hands on whenever a match against Germany came around (especially during major tournaments). I doubt the Germans take the "rivalry" half as seriously.

kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

rasak74 wrote:
benteke wrote:Looks like this 3-Lions victory does not sit well with many here :biggrin:

You dey mind dem, same friendly that almost got oliseh fired on CE.....lol
Naija people are so funny.
I am pretty consistent with my standpoint. The only friendly that matters to me is Ghana - Nigeria :taunt:
kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

Vincent. wrote:
kofi86 wrote:
Vincent. wrote:
airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

My brother, they English used to take it very seriously, with tabloids and hooligans digging up all the World War II and Nazi issues they could get their hands on whenever a match against Germany came around (especially during major tournaments). I doubt the Germans take the "rivalry" half as seriously.
No need to put rivalry in ". There is a rivalry although as pointed out before not that strong from Germany's pov.

kofi86 wrote:
airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

"So eine Niederlage in einem Testspiel ist nicht ganz so schwer zu verkraften. Wir haben jetzt am Dienstag noch ein Spiel, da kommt gegen Italien ein wirklich sehr starker Gegner auf uns zu. Wir werden das Spiel analysieren, aber auch damit können wir mal leben", sagte Löw nach dem 2:3 gegen die Three Lions am Samstagabend in Berlin.
(translation: it is not that hard to cope with such a loss in a test game. We have another match on Tuesday, where we will face a really tough opponent. We will analyze the game, but we can live with that.)

"Es ist einfach so, dass wir den Testspiel-Charakter, und da spreche ich auch von mir selbst, nicht abschütteln konnten. Wir sind als Mannschaft nicht an die 100 Prozent rangekommen. Das ist leider nichts Neues, dass wir in Testspielen nicht ganz so gut aussehen", sagte Thomas Müller
(the first sentence is not easy to translate as it involves a figure of speech. He is basically saying that the team, including him, could not overcome the fact that the game was just a friendly. He goes on saying that the team did not give 100% and, unfortunately, it is nothing new that the performance in friendlies was not sub par.)

I don't care what the Germans said after the game. The fact of the matter is they lost the game they were leading.
I really don't get you people. If England had lost you guys would have ridiculed them. Germany lost a match they were comfortably leading and you're making excuses for them? Really? It seems their objective for this friendly was to see how you can conspire to give up a winning position.

The Germans did not set out to lose, most teams don't. The fact that they are putting a brave face on things does not mean deep down they are not disappointed
kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

kofi86 wrote:
airwolex wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

I don't care what the Germans said after the game. The fact of the matter is they lost the game they were leading.
I really don't get you people. If England had lost you guys would have ridiculed them. Germany lost a match they were comfortably leading and you're making excuses for them? Really? It seems their objective for this friendly was to see how you can conspire to give up a winning position.

The Germans did not set out to lose, most teams don't. The fact that they are putting a brave face on things does not mean deep down they are not disappointed
Well, if you want to know how Germans feel you should listen to Germans. I am German, living in Germany and telling you that most people do not really care much about the results of friendlies/know that Germany usually sucks in friendlies. You have quotes from the coach and a player saying it is not that important. Former captain Lahm has said a similar thing after a friendly. The last friendly Germany has won was in 2014, they have now lost 3 in a row.

Whether you care or not, the fact is that Germany´s performances in friendlies are piss poor since quite some time. As long as people know or expect Germany to perform when it matters, it is not a big deal.
Blukyt

Post by Blukyt »

Keep Rooney and Theo off the England squad and they may be on to something.

Harry Kane is the only top drawer player they have. He needs to be kept fit.

That's not what I read on ESPN and frankly I trust ESPN more than Kofi.

LOEW
“It’s annoying as a coach when we lose after being 2-0 up, but you can’t say we didn’t deserve it," admitted Loew, who steered Germany to win their fourth World Cup at Brazil 2014.

“Even when we were 2-0 up, we weren’t in control.

“We had problems in our build-up and struggled up front."

Germany host Italy in Munich on Tuesday and Loew knows there is plenty of work to be done in his final international friendly before naming his squad for Euro 2016.

“We know the areas we have to work on, some of the combinations didn’t work and left a lot to be desired," said Loew.

“In the second-half, we gave away a crazy amount of space.

“We didn’t stand compact in defence, we lost balls on the counter and the English had more and more space for their quick attackers to exploit."

But his senior players were far from amused after surrendering their lead to vastly inexperienced England side.

Germany have failed to impress since winning the World Cup, losing Euro 2016 qualifiers to Poland and Ireland.

Despite finishing top of their qualifying group, Germany have much to do if they are to add the European crown to their world title in France in June.

With their captain Bastian Schweinsteiger facing a race to be fit for Euro 2016 after a knee injury, Germany’s stand-in skipper in Berlin, Sami Khedira, was not amused.

“It was an unnecessary, dumb defeat," fumed the Juventus midfielder.

“Every single member of the team has to remember to keep working hard.

“We did a lot right up until we went 2-0 up, then a lot less after that. We played well for 60 minutes only. We have to play much better against Italy and at the European championships."

Goal-scorer Mario Gomez was also at a loss to explain the defeat.

“It’s hard to explain how things worked out," said the striker.

“Up until we went 2-0 up, we played really well, although we didn’t really use all our chances.

“After that, we left too much space and gave England the belief."

Real Madrid’s Toni Kroos put the defeat down to poor defending throughout the German team as centre-back Jonathan Tah made his debut in the second-half in an inexperienced back four.

“When you play, you always want to win, so the result is important, even if it was only a friendly," said Germany’s goal-scorer.

“We defended badly in the second half, even though we had a few new faces in defence, a performance like that still shouldn’t have happened."
Fact, people are fighting for their places, and Germany played 90% of their best players. Those guys might not think it's the end of the World but no doubt they wanted to win and losing at home is never fun.

http://www.thenational.ae/sport/footbal ... deserve-it