Tammy Abraham To Accept England Call

Re: TAMMY ABRAHAM: Update on Nigeria's Chase.....

The YeyeMan wrote: Except you. You dearly want to be associated with Nigeria. That's why you're here. Enjoy it. And enjoy us playing at the World Cup next year while Ghana sits at home preparing for another Afcon failure. :rotf:
You're welcome.
Oga, I cannot drain 50% of my blood
I am stuck with you

Rawlings wrote:Oga, I cannot drain 50% of my blood
Need a hand?

Rawlings wrote:Oga, I cannot drain 50% of my blood
Need a hand?
My Broda
Fall in line behind Ex-girlfriends, Ex-rivals, debtors, some relatives

Rawlings wrote: My Broda
Fall in line behind Ex-girlfriends, Ex-rivals, debtors, some relatives

Mr Shows wrote:
Polly wrote:
Bell wrote:ALL ELIGIBLE TO PLAY FOR NIGERIA ARE WELCOME, BUT...

...I'm concerned these "successes" would result in the NFA abandoning the need to develop local players and outsource this effort to foreign leagues. In the long run this cannot be sustained.
The NFF is developing local players, how? As soon as the first overseas opp comes along, the players flee our shores. The question is, and should always be: which sufficiently-good player, qualified to play for Nigeria, is happy to don the GWG?
The issue is over rated. How many players in the Brazilian national team play in their local league? France has been using players from its colonies for decades from Tigana to Zidane. Nigeria is just catching up on the trend. Anyone good enough whether born in Nigeria or of Nigerian descent qualifies..As far as the local boys are given a fair chance to compete.

IT'S APPLES & ORANGES...

...in the case of Zidane and Tighana. These fellows are a product of French society unlike some of those been approached by the NFF. As for "the local boys are given a fair chance to compete" that is not a problem - they'll surely get their chance. The real problem is the NFF would not feel the pressure to spend the funds to organize and develop local talent. Why do it if Europe does it for free for you?

Dr. Wazobia wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Pinnick's PR woes continues. The mags went and opened his mouth after a paddy paddy session with what amounts to a family friend. He should know better than this kind of okada PR approach. His credibility just went down the tubes. Imagine how much trust future prospect will place in their dealings with this pot bellied hustler.
This is very embarrassing.
He should have kept it close to his chest until Tammy had made up his mind.
NOT TO SAY ANY DECISION HAS BEEN MADE, BUT...

...suppose Pinnick and the Abrahams have some understanding that public denial would be maintained until some future date or event, such as when Nigeria has qualified for Russia or if England fails to select the young man?

Bell wrote:
Dr. Wazobia wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Pinnick's PR woes continues. The mags went and opened his mouth after a paddy paddy session with what amounts to a family friend. He should know better than this kind of okada PR approach. His credibility just went down the tubes. Imagine how much trust future prospect will place in their dealings with this pot bellied hustler.
This is very embarrassing.
He should have kept it close to his chest until Tammy had made up his mind.
NOT TO SAY ANY DECISION HAS BEEN MADE, BUT...

...suppose Pinnick and the Abrahams have some understanding that public denial would be maintained until some future date or event, such as when Nigeria has qualified for Russia or if England fails to select the young man?
Sounds right Nigeria is his second choice!
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

smartbrother wrote:
heavyd wrote:
smartbrother wrote:
Goldleaf wrote:But for the profile of the EPL, I am not sure Tammy Abraham is an upgrade on Sadiq Umar. I am surprised Rohr has not gone back to look at that Olympics 2016 bronze-winning squad in Brazil. Against Japan, for example, Sadiq was unplayable.
Sadiq too is a 'potential' but not ahead of Tammy. At best I'd say theyre at par. Though I believe Tammy is physically stronger and can stay on his feet in the face of a heavy challenge, unlike Sadiq.
But nuthin spoil. They're players of the future and should only get better.
But Tammy needs to be locked down.
lol You couldn't be more wrong.
Just wondering if you have actually watched Abraham play
I have. I can tell you the exact opposite of what you wrote is true
Umar is far stronger and far more robust in the face of a heavy challenge.
Overall he is a better player than Abraham
Then he must have bulked up recently.
It was quite frustrating watching him getting knocked over so easily like a featherweight at the Olympics last year, despite his goals.
He's a bit older now and hopefully stronger.
But is he getting top flight games?
even at the olympics he wasnt a featherweight chief
If you watrched him closely you would have seen his hold up play was good even then.
On a number of occasions he even dispossessed opposing defenders or harangued them into making mistakes
but like Drogba of early-days he went to ground to try and win freekicks far too often. I dont know if he still has that habit

Abraham from what i can see is a different kind of player. A taller version of Ighalo. Not a target man but a good fox in the box.
Outside of the 18 he keeps it neat and simple however he doesnt seem to have the pace or skill to be a wide forward IMHO
Given his youth and promise i agree it would be a major coup to get him to switch at this stage
I dont think he has done anything to justify leapfrogging Umar
But choosing Nigeria at this stage unlike the opportunistic Shola Ameobi is a good sign
it shows he is doing it for the right reasons like Iwobi
In the last 2 years (2015-2017)
Sadiq Umar has played 13 senior games and scored 2 goals
Tammy Abraham has played 56 senior games and scored 28 goals
In the last 2 years (2015-2017) Tammy Abraham has played less than 5 games in any top flight league
Sadiq Umar has played Serie A football for 3 consecutive seasons
Regards
:shock: :shock: - 13 games in 3 seasons?? thats a hell of a record no? He should be up for the ballon d'or!
and actually Abraham has played 7 "top flight league" games and scored 1 goal
He is currently first choice striker for a club in a "top flight league".
HE has played 5 games and scored 1 goal already this season in a "top flight league". Sadiq is 0 games 0 goals so far
Cheers
YNWA

Tammy Abraham is a fool; at best, another Agbonlahor. England will use him in some useless warm-up matches and when the final 23 for the World Cup is released, he will be as far away from the list as Russia is to London. Actually, I can only see him in our top 40 or 30 at best, not our top 23.

smartbrother wrote:
maceo4 wrote:How many games and how many goals?
I don't debate cheerleaders.
sorry mate
Is it so hard to say you were wrong, haba!

Goldleaf wrote:Tammy Abraham is a fool; at best, another Agbonlahor. England will use him in some useless warm-up matches and when the final 23 for the World Cup is released, he will be as far away from the list as Russia is to London. Actually, I can only see him in our top 40 or 30 at best, not our top 23.
Gold leaf
TBH I do not blame any of these guys if they choose their resident country ahead of Nigeria. We tend to forget that guys like Abraham are more English than they are Nigerians. His whole life, or significant part of it has been spent English. His friends are English and he barely has been in Nigeria. Under such circumstance the easier choice is England and not Nigeria. That some of them end up playing for Nigeria is simply because they want to play international football and It has been unlikely that England will offer that opportunity. In Tammy's case, the door to England team is still open and thus understandable that he will not yet choose the fallback position- Nigeria.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Goldleaf wrote:Tammy Abraham is a fool; at best, another Agbonlahor. England will use him in some useless warm-up matches and when the final 23 for the World Cup is released, he will be as far away from the list as Russia is to London. Actually, I can only see him in our top 40 or 30 at best, not our top 23.
He is 19! Na wa for you guys o! :roll: :roll:

airwolex wrote:
He is 19! Na wa for you guys o! :roll: :roll:
19 the best age to have him- good luck with England if selected - my real beef will be him turning 27 zero hope with England then declaring he is ready for Nigeria- IE Amoebi and co.

Well that escalated quickly. I still think there is a slim chance he still commits to Nigeria tho. Meanwhile I think Peakmilk should focus on the German born boys in terms of oyinbo Naija players. Especially on the defensive side of things.

Why such harsh words.

Dude is young. He is best counselled to choose Naijaria. But if he chooses England over Naijaria, I hope he does better than others who have chosen England over Naijaria.

We as Naijaria and Naijarians should work harder to make ourselves attractive enough for our best talents to choose us over some other place.

If Pinnick and the NFF had worked harder at making sure we qualified for the U17 and U21 World Cups maybe we would have a "Tammy" to be raving about as one for the future...

Wishing the boy the best now and in the future. May he choose wisely and never regret whatever decision he makes.

bret- hart wrote:Well that escalated quickly. I still think there is a slim chance he still commits to Nigeria tho. Meanwhile I think Peakmilk should focus on the German born boys in terms of oyinbo Naija players. Especially on the defensive side of things.
good idea :thumb: if we can get 2 more like Balogun- German niaja in defense then SE definitely arrived - i also add goalkeeping + always abundant talents in midfield and forward positions

walesvilla wrote:
bret- hart wrote:Well that escalated quickly. I still think there is a slim chance he still commits to Nigeria tho. Meanwhile I think Peakmilk should focus on the German born boys in terms of oyinbo Naija players. Especially on the defensive side of things.
good idea :thumb: if we can get 2 more like Balogun- German niaja in defense then SE definitely arrived - i also add goalkeeping + always abundant talents in midfield and forward positions
Like their U20 captain who played RB for them, Kevin Akpoguma?

I wonder if he is healthy again after some injury layoff?

I really don't understand the need for this rant - he is still a kid and needs to look out in his best interest.
It was really very FOOLISH of the Nigerian press to state that he had made a commitment to Nigeria, when Pinnick clearly stated it was work in process and he was hopeful he would commit. I blame the incompetence of the Naija press for this mess. Anyhow, I have a feeling he might still commit to the green and white. I just hope lessons will be learned from this debacle.

We also need to cast our net broad and wide. Put pressure on all our lads with potential out there. We are not going to get them all, but we will get a few that would augment the team.
Why such harsh words.

Dude is young. He is best counselled to choose Naijaria. But if he chooses England over Naijaria, I hope he does better than others who have chosen England over Naijaria.

We as Naijaria and Naijarians should work harder to make ourselves attractive enough for our best talents to choose us over some other place.

If Pinnick and the NFF had worked harder at making sure we qualified for the U17 and U21 World Cups maybe we would have a "Tammy" to be raving about as one for the future...

Wishing the boy the best now and in the future. May he choose wisely and never regret whatever decision he makes.

Goldleaf wrote:
oyek wrote:Amaju Pinnick and his crew should do all they can to get the likes of Torunarigha and Felix Uduokhai, good prospects for the SE defence.
I am sure I read somewhere that the boy's father, Ojokojo (who played for UI at the NUGA games in the late 80s as well as for Shooting Stars) is not keen for his son to play for Nigeria due to his misgivings.
..if he has misgivings we can look into the givings he missed and give dem back to him na! :mad: :mad:

bros...na wah o...why are you sounding like U wishing him bad? :blushing:

Enugu II wrote:His friends are English and he barely has been in Nigeria. Under such circumstance the easier choice is England and not Nigeria.
He has Nigerian friends too. He's not socialising with white English people only. You should take a trip to the UK sometime - it's a diverse place. :lol:

paj wrote:
bros...na wah o...why are you sounding like U wishing him bad? :blushing:
What I don't get is if you don't think he can make our WC team either then why curse him out for being open to another country?

It's an embarrassment that this Pinnick of a character started exposing his Nigerian nepotism and claiming he (Tammy) will play for Nigeria because he knows his father,the English press wouldn't have reported it if he approached Tammy without quoting such ignorant and unprofessional nonsense out in public!It was easy for them to point out to Tammy how unprofessional and rediculous those running Nigerian football are!
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Fri Sep 22, 2017 4:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.