The undisputed King of Black Comedy

Who is the undisputed king of black comedy?

Bernie Mac
14%
Cedric the Entertainer
9%
D.L. Hughley
No votes
Steve Harvey
3%
Eddie Murphy
11%
Richard Pryor
40%
Sinbad
No votes
Bill Cosby
23%

Total votes: 35

The undisputed King of Black Comedy

Post by 27 »

Who is the undisputed king of black comedy?

If you have any other names, I'll add them to the poll.
Last edited by 27 on Tue Dec 23, 2003 3:19 am, edited 2 times in total.
KoC
Re: The undisputed King of Black Comedy

Post by KoC »

27 wrote:Who is the undisputed king of black comedy?

If you have any other names, I'll add them to the poll.
U don take over from Roby as Poll Master?
. . . all about the players. Total posts: 725 and counting. . .

Blogzilla
KickOff Nigeria

I love Arsenal. Such entertainment!! The kind of soccer we want for the kind of results we hate!!!
---Polly waxes lyrical after Burnley nyansh the ARSE

you forgot to add chris Rock and John the Baptist? :D
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

Are any of these guys actually black comedy artists? Or are they just black comedians?
Black comedy generally means dark, disturbed, sadistic comedy. Not comedy by blacks or aimed at blacks.

Post by 27 »

Scourge wrote:you forgot to add chris Rock and John the Baptist? :D
There's a problem with the forum. I can't update the poll.
aranka5

Post by aranka5 »

Danjuma :lol:
Nupe Proverb;If a fowl is scratching the soil for food, it may unearth the knife that will be used in slaughtering it’’.

Post by 27 »

aranka5 wrote:Danjuma :lol:
Who's he?
RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

Wher Chief Eleyinmi and Chief Zebrudaiya?

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Bill Cosby should win hands down. He does'nt pretend to make people laugh. He makes them laugh with good clean humor and that is the way comedy should be.

On the list, even though it is close but I will choose Cedric the Entertainer. The bobo funny no be small.
original skeepolah

Post by original skeepolah »

didi you guys forget OBJ?????his galavanting in front of the queen was a belly of laughs!!!!!!!!!!!
:?
baba no regret

Post by baba no regret »

I just come here see say this website don change face. Wetin dey worry guys here. Can't we stop this deletion of post every now and again. Peeps managing this stuff are worse than NEPA.
Ijapa

Post by Ijapa »

Wey Eddie Griffin name? and the poll should read American Comedian
You future depends on your dreams: so go to sleep
voodoo

Post by voodoo »

I voted for Richard.
JayJay Okocha the real AFRICAN PLAYER OF THE YEAR!!!
AreaStarr
Location: By the Bar as usual hand full of liquor puffing on a sweet swisher!

Post by AreaStarr »

Richard Pryor with out a doubt. He is also famously the first man to say f..k on vinyl. :lol: :lol:

zebrudaya wins hands down

Post by original skeepolah »

eddie murphy has lost his flavor.................. :cry:

Post by Guest »

I've got Eddie Murphy's Raw and Delirious stuff of 1987 on VCD but I don't have a website. When I get time. Could pass it on to Eagle winged so he can upload to his site for everyone to see.

baba no regrets wrote:I've got Eddie Murphy's Raw and Delirious stuff of 1987 on VCD but I don't have a website. When I get time. Could pass it on to Eagle winged so he can upload to his site for everyone to see.
Yeah...I spent about a year searching high and low for 'Delirious' untill I finally found a copy on 'ebay'...and paid thru my nose for it.

Anyone that aint seen these two should do so before they discount Eddy mUrphy.

I think he was a far better stand-up comedian than he ever was a comedy actor.
Watch Delirious and Raw, and you'll know why.

However, I never really saw Pryor's works as a stand-up, and many say Eddie based much of his stuff on Pryor's 'prior' work.

Probably true.
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

As far as comedians go, Eddie Murphy wins in my book. I've seen his works and those of Pryor. Murphy makes your laugh deeper cos he looks stupid, in line with his comic antics. Pryor on the other hand, whilst funny, always gave the impression of possessing a more calculating, inward persona not in line with his public persona.
Okochadman2Nas

Post by Okochadman2Nas »

eddie murphy's raw in 1987 speaks for who's the greatest

Robbynice wrote:On the list, even though it is close but I will choose Cedric the Entertainer. The bobo funny no be small.
you siddon there dey laugh 27 don take over your job :D :D

Any thoughts on Chris Rock? Although very funny I think he's a bit of a one-trick pony.