NIGERIA IS ONE POTENT STRIKER AWAY FROM BEING TRULY DOMINANT

Rohr has built a solid team, that's why I support him staying on at least through the ANC. We need Uzoho to continue growing to seal the goalkeeper position. So while I think we are a bit weak at this position, I believe we have enough to stay competitive in the position.

What Nigeria lack and has lacked for a while now is a potent striker. We have players like Musa and Iheanacho that can be on a streak and score every once in a while, but to be truly dominant we need a striker that can put away chances like Messi, Ronaldo, Salah, etc do for their clubs. If a Messi or Ronaldo type scorer were playing for us he would have put away the chance Iheanacho wasted in the first half when he intercepted a defensive error pass by one of the Argentina player. Instead of driving to score, he tried to get the ball to his left side to use his left foot, which allowed the Argentina defense to recover. Even Moses would have put away that chance or get us a penalty. A potent striker would have put away the 2 chances Ighalo blew. To win at this level, we must have players that can covert those clear chances.

Unfortunately I don't see any such player on the horizon. Iheanacho, Musa, Simi, Nwakali, Ighalo, Ayowomi are of the same caliber as far as I am concerned. None of them can change the game for us if we need them to.
Re: NIGERIA IS ONE POTENT STRIKER AWAY FROM BEING TRULY DOMI

1naija wrote:Rohr has built a solid team, that's why I support him staying on at least through the ANC. We need Uzoho to continue growing to seal the goalkeeper position. So while I think we are a bit weak at this position, I believe we have enough to stay competitive in the position.

What Nigeria lack and has lacked for a while now is a potent striker. We have players like Musa and Iheanacho that can be on a streak and score every once in a while, but to be truly dominant we need a striker that can put away chances like Messi, Ronaldo, Salah, etc do for their clubs. If a Messi or Ronaldo type scorer were playing for us he would have put away the chance Iheanacho wasted in the first half when he intercepted a defensive error pass by one of the Argentina player. Instead of driving to score, he tried to get the ball to his left side to use his left foot, which allowed the Argentina defense to recover. Even Moses would have put away that chance or get us a penalty. A potent striker would have put away the 2 chances Ighalo blew. To win at this level, we must have players that can covert those clear chances.

Unfortunately I don't see any such player on the horizon. Iheanacho, Musa, Simi, Nwakali, Ighalo, Ayowomi are of the same caliber as far as I am concerned. None of them can change the game for us if we need them to.
brah what we should be praying for , is for Peakmilk to win the next election. If he wins , then all what you wrote , will be useful. I no wan talk anything but election dey come up and wahala done dey come ..

1naija wrote:Rohr has built a solid team, that's why I support him staying on at least through the ANC. We need Uzoho to continue growing to seal the goalkeeper position. So while I think we are a bit weak at this position, I believe we have enough to stay competitive in the position.

That was so frustrating! Usual Nacho would take a snap shot without needing any backlift. The guy was just off yesterday. I agree with you generally, but we still need better full backs than we currently have. Re striker, i hope Oshimen continues to develop in Germany.

Bestplayer

Post by Bestplayer »

Continuing with Rohr is akin to committing football suicide. The definition of madness is repeating the same mistake over and over and expecting a different result :idea:
Okonkwo in da house

Post by Okonkwo in da house »

Nigeria still has an unbalanced midfield. Only Mikel can hold the ball; the touches of the rest leaves much to be desired. Nigeria won't go anywhere with a mediocre midfield.

I’m still thinking of the imaginary player rohr droppe that would had made a difference or the imagine formation that oils had made a difference. We didn’t take our chances and lost to a better team

When I saw 1naija open a thread i thought he was writing about the kain kain Maradonna must have drank, When did you start writing about football :D

I agree with you on this one. Let's hope guys like Awoniyi and Sadiq come good
fishward6

Post by fishward6 »

Sorry Rubbish Spain has Costa and still struggle u need an engine room . That’s most important we have none since Okocha left

Prince wrote:When I saw 1naija open a thread i thought he was writing about the kain kain Maradonna must have drank, When did you start writing about football :D

What is this na :mad: :mad:

Just because we left Eagles nest for EPL riffraffs, riffraffs that shake 3 days before games, weed smoking riffraffs that release goalassoooo once every 10 years, and 72 years old riffraffs that ARE NOT EXPERTS at football formations, does not mean we are not experts at the game. But don't worry, I am working behind the scene to clean the board and rid it of riffraffs so I get back to teaching hanky hawking riffraffs a thing or 2 about the game.
Last edited by 1naija on Wed Jun 27, 2018 3:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Prince wrote:When I saw 1naija open a thread i thought he was writing about the kain kain Maradonna must have drank, When did you start writing about football :D

What is this na :mad: :mad:

Just because we left Eagles nest for EPL riffraffs, riffraffs that shake 3 days before games, weed smoking riffraffs that release goalassoooo once every 10 years, and 72 years old riffraffs that ARE NOT EXPERTS at football formations, does not mean we are not experts at the game. But don't worry, I am working behind the scene to clean the board and rid it of riffraffs so we I get back to teaching hanky hawking riffraffs a thing or 2 about the game.

fishward6 wrote:

Sorry Rubbish Spain has Costa and still struggle u need an engine room . That’s most important we have none since Okocha left
When did Spain start struggling? Fire your coach the day before your opener at the WC and let's see how potent you will be.

YUJAM wrote:I agree with you on this one. Let's hope guys like Awoniyi and Sadiq come good

Unfortunately I rate those 2 below the ones I already listed. We need an Eto'o type player on our team.

YUJAM wrote:I agree with you on this one. Let's hope guys like Awoniyi and Sadiq come good

Unfortunately I rate those 2 below the ones I already listed. We need an Eto'o type player on our team.

Nah beans? Bros players like Eto'o are generational. E go tey before we unearth one like that. I'll take an Osaze, Yakubu, Martins type player that will score more often than not.

People talk like when Okocha was around we were winning Nations Cups and World Cup yanfu yanfu.
The great King Kanu scored a grand total of zero goals for us at major tournaments.
And they failed to qualify in 2006
Failed to beat 10 man Ghana in 2008
Abeg

Right now we have our best team since 94. And 1Naija is right we are one good striker away from being a top side. Even Emenike of 2013 would make this team better.

Sadiq might be it. Iheanacho might come good. Or Osimhen might become the one.

And heck, this is Nigeria; some dude might explode out of nowhere.

Until then anyone who tries to bust up this team thunder go fire am

No sacking please, it does not solve anything, lets bulld from here, we know what players should be discarded, at least 5-6 places should be up for grabs

Bestplayer wrote:Continuing with Rohr is akin to committing football suicide. The definition of madness is repeating the same mistake over and over and expecting a different result :idea:
And do you know what that mistake is?
Sacking coach after coach at the earliest opportunity after a string of bad results.

How do you think we were able to clock '20 coaches in 20 years'?
By repeating the same mistake over and over and expecting a different result! :idea:

You are suggesting we continue the exact same trend.
But of course, I expect to hear you say "this one is different". :lol: :lol: :lol: .
fishward6

Post by fishward6 »

Spot on. We don't have any quality striker. This is one area we're seriously lacking. When Ighalo was stinking up the place people were screaming for Iheanacho as the saviour. The coach duly responded to their wishes by starting Iheanacho and as we can see, it made no difference. The much-maligned Musa is the one to make the difference against Iceland but he is also a below-par striker when we're talking about the highest levels. The fact he is the one making the difference for us just exposes the true state of our strike force.

Pinnick and co need to go on the hunt for strikers. The current lot are all very average.

I disagree

We also lack quick defenders and creative midfielders

Rohr should stay. But we should not pretend that he cannot be called out.

Bestplayer wrote:Continuing with Rohr is akin to committing football suicide. The definition of madness is repeating the same mistake over and over and expecting a different result :idea:
And do you know what that mistake is?
Sacking coach after coach at the earliest opportunity after a string of bad results.

How do you think we were able to clock '20 coaches in 20 years'?
By "repeating the same mistake over and over and expecting a different result"

You are suggesting we continue the exact same trend.
But of course, I expect to hear you say "this one is different". :lol: :lol: :lol: .

I thought of this too, and I think a solution might be in re-directing that money we used for the goalkeeper trainer into training some of the local strikers back home. We know our strikers are less likely to be given a decent chance at a decent European club, so why not focus on those who we can control and help them improve. Identify them now, work hard on them and get them involved with the National team as early as possible. Lakoko showed promise. Build on it especially if he doesn't make that move to Europe now.