ROHR FAILED....

Goalgetter
Re: ROHR FAILED....

Post by Goalgetter »

https://www.thisdaylive.com/index.php/2 ... s-pinnick/

This is Pinnick’s view. Can someone talk to this moron? If he can’t see all that is wrong with Rhor, then something is off upstairs.
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?
kali

Post by kali »

OJI wrote:Fans of Nigerian football,

We know the errors, and lessons of our reaction(s) to past disappointments.
Yes, some foundation has been built. How was it built? By whom?

In true NFF tradition, the preference for a foreign coach was to outsource some responsibilities, amongst other issues. The coach in turn has outsourced his responsibilities to foreign clubs or attempt to get players with dual nationalities to switch.

There was no technical input or methodology to organize the midfield to supply ball to the attacker(s) or to effectively use the attackers. It was all left to individual brilliance anchored on a spurious counterattacking template. I would bet he has someone that provides some technical input. That is why the same set of players look different in each half of the friendlies, and the matches played.

All Rohr has done is to assemble players. Again, urge players to switch nationalities.
If we retain him, and when he is done in 2020, the entire team would be based on players who have switched allegiances.

Thinking agility. Zero.
Emotional flexibility. Zero.
In game management. Zero. I believe there is someone on the bench providing him insights. Every game , there is a complete change after half time break with the same set of players. During the game, he is in shock as things are NOT going according to plan. Yet, no response. No timely subs.

Our football is at an inflection point. Sponsorship opportunity, branding, fan support, merchandising, TV revenue is about to go up increasing the opportunity to wean NFF off government support/allocation for operational issues.

The NFF has stepped up their game. The emergence of the professionalism in the NFF is 100% attributed to FIFA raising the ambition, and vision of the local administrators. Essentially, if you want to be IN CAF/FIFA (with its more reliable pay, benefits, prestige), you have to show you can organize your local high school setup first. Left to NFF, the primary hustle would be engaging in a zero-sum game with the players over FIFA and government allocations. Nothing to do with ROHR's inputs or suggestions.

Match agent Jairo pachon of EuroData Sport (https://www.eurodatasport.com/) has personal, financial and professional interests in making things work, and succeed. He was there before Pinninck, and Gohr. He organized the friendlies in 2014. Again, nothing to do with ROHR's inputs or suggestions. Rohr's input was limited to which of the interested countries he would like to play.

All stakeholders stepping up, yet you have a coach with his negative football style/mindset telling us the players are here to learn while it is obvious he was out of his depth, and doing an internship on our dime. If the players you, the coach selected were inexperienced, what in-game and match day compensations/adjustments did you the experienced coach implement to minimize the players' inexperience? 15 frigging minutes to the end of the match. Players wilting. With 2 subs, and the coach turns into a spectator. It was after Argentina's goal that he decided to be implement some semblance of an attacking strategy with last minute ineffective subs. Subs wasted.

As per Rohr "We were very fantastic and just within a few minutes of going through we lost because we lacked the big match experience. Most of the Argentines are Champions League stars, who know how to exert pressure to get a desired result. We had players who had not played in big league and it showed. But my consolation is that this team has the potential to grow into a strong squad.”

The short term coaching issue can be resolved with the selection of Emmanuel Amuneke.
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=289796

The long term structural issues (all on NFF) has been partially advocated here at
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=289764
There is no short cut to our success. We must invest in the local league, and coaches. We must integrate players from the high school level to the professional teams with a systematic technical knowledge transfer. The hard work must be done.

For those clamoring for retaining Rohr, get your hands on the upcoming FIFA technical study group report to see the gulf in differences/insights/analysis in the report between their report and the self deflecting garbage that would be produced by the NFF technical dept/coaching crew for this 2018 misadventure.

Rohr was given the best support of any coach in the modern era (90's upwards). Local or Foreign. There were no distractions.

He did not meet his, NFF, or player expectations.

We must continue to solidify the structural issues so there are not dependent on the NFF chairman, or the coach. We must put in things in order to minimize self-dealing behavior. That is what the stability is about. Not stable and continuous incompetence.

The coach was to provide advanced technical knowledge. Name one player that has improved under Rohr. Etebo keeps on making the same mistakes. Ditto Ighalo. Rohr has, and would reinforce malaise.

Get rid of Rohr.

Rohr was out of his depth. It showed after the Croatia match when he was lambasted by THREE well known footballing authorities - Mourinho, Zola and Okocha.

Thus he went to the 3-5-2 because he was too resistent to the idea of benching Mikel Obi. But truly if you LACKED attacking verve yet had two super central midfielders (etebo and Ndidi) then really you had to bench Obi and go with a 4-4-2 or with a 4-2-3-1 with different players. He HAD those players. Just that he was intent on accomodating Mikel and the very useless Ighalo.

With a 4-4-2 you could have played a more attack-minded

Ebuehi Ekong Balogun Idowu

Moses Ndidi Etebo Musa

Iheanacho Iwobi

With a 4-2-3-1 you would have played

Ebuehi Ekong Balogun Idowu

Ndidi Etebo

Moses Iwobi Musa

Iheanacho

Any of these teams with FOUR attacking players would have had more offensive fire than that miserable showing of three attacking players on the pitch.

Argentina is a mickey mouse team from the midfield on back. The backline was shaky and made mistakes all day which Nigeria failed to capitalize on because the silly coach told them they were young and in over their heads. A team of the 1994 calibre would have sent Argentina packing back to Buenos Aires because their coach Westerhof was not making excuses. And how old was Amunike in 1994 - 23. Oliseh - 19, Amokachi - 22, Finidi - 23.
Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd

Post by Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd »

Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd wrote:
Enugu II wrote:There is no question that Rohr failed the task as assigned. However, I feel that there is a much larger question. Should we continue to hire and fire based on failure at each tournament? That is the larger question. Over the years that has not served Nigeria best. Should we fire Rohr simply because we made the mistake to fire Keshi and Siasia when they could have been offered a longer stay? These are the questions. In my opinion, we should really think about the vision of tomorrow with Rohr. If we truly think there are no good promises going forward based on what we have seen, then pull the trigger but it is a mistake to use failure at the World Cup to fire that gun. That is my tuppence.
To me Rohr does not fit in what should be a long term plan. You only retain a style if there is a chance it would improve your lot in the long run. Rohrs style is at variance with the Nigerian style and he does not play to the strength of the team hence retaining him will only subsist failure. I prefer they go local with someone who came through our style and capable of enhancing over the long term. There is really something known as the African style of soccer and while all of it is not good most of it can be enhanced to create a winning style.

Which won you what exactly? The same nigerian style we played under Amodu when he was almost lynched on this site? or is it the Nigerian style that Siasia and Oliseh led us to fail to qualify for multiple ANC's? or is the dross that Vogts and Lagabeck served as football? You want someone local who came up with the "african style"? Didn't we have that perfect opportunity in keshi and Oliseh? Did either of their teams play like our team did in the 94 time capsule some of you people are frozen in? We played that way because we have generational type players who came together over a period of FIVE years from 89-94 when Westerhof was in charge. You do not get to establish an identity when you change 20 coaches in 20 years! The closest to a "style" of play that we show is in our u-17 teams. And that never translates to the senior sides as whatever "Nigerian" tendencies they have are coached out of them when they move abroad to suit the need of their teams.

What is the strength of the team. I need concrete characteristics and not some ephemeral rubbish like "swagger" We do not have the Kanus and Okochas and finidi's any more. We have not had them for almost 30 years now. This myth you people use to delude yourself is what sets you up for constant disappointment. This is the most organized we have been in eons. We are clearly making progress. Let us see how he does with the ANC qualifiers and tournament and see if the improvement continues. If it doesn't get rid of him.
It is either you are too lazy to check facts or you simply do not know what you are talking about. This is one of the worst showing of the super eagles in any world cup they have participated in going by the records, only equalled by Lagerback another European journeyman in 2010. Even Onigbinde who did not make it to the next stage did better than this and he was booed out of the job. You mentioned Amodu and Siasia but you conveniently ignored Keshi, can you tell me how Rohr has a better record than Keshi? Amodu won the nations cup, qualified the team for world cup and was kicked out last minute so how is Rohr any better than him?

Oh so now the 1994 team was a generational one, pray tell me which generation is this one? A generation of poor wingers, shaky defense and mediocre midfield not so? What made the 1994 team different is that they played to the strength of our unique style which is why you did not have an Idowu or Shehu who can barely defend with no offensive input but had players like Iroha, Emenalo or Eguavoen who could play the defense, midfield and join the attack. Westerhoff stayed long enough in Nigeria to understand our game and did his best to refine it, it's time to go back to one of his students and have them take it further. That is what the Argentines, Brazilians, French etc., not run off to look for a saviour in Europe.

This is the most organized performance and what was the result? Even with disorganization Keshi made it into the second round and you would have us celebrate mediocrity in the name of organization.
An ignorant mind abhors knowledge.
Sampo

Post by Sampo »

theYemster wrote:With South Korea's performance over Germany it makes a mockery of Rohr's daft perspective. One thing I admire about the Asian teams particularly South Korea and Japan is that they play without fear. If their players had the quality of African players they'd do far better.
That, right there, is the crux!

Fighting spirit is one of our strongest pedigrees and one thing the football world likes about us.

You travel the world and strangers from any corner would immediately give you a nod, a thumb-up; referring to the Super Eagles. Even the makeshift, rather young SE of 2002 WC showed grit and mettle. And this always comes down to the coaching attitude which strengthens self-belief in the players. You heard Pa Oni, our so-called "PE teacher", facing the World Press and boldly declaring, "The boys are rearing to go!" You remember Keshi (RIP) and his team talk, inherited over the years from bleeding green-white-green. He said his 2013 ANC team was young, but never said they weren't ready. He infused the play-without-fear in his boys. With this, even limited players would be battle-ready! We all still remember the Sunday Ubas and Godfrey Oboabonas and how they soared. They were infants in football yet they didn't freeze. Neither did the Julius Aghahowas in the Japan-Korea WC.

Rohr's pronouncements about his wards were rather demoralising to hear. I believe it had the same effects on the boys. Couple that with his conservative approach to the matches, he just unwittingly cancelled out all his hard work! You could sense Mikel diplomatically trying to counter and erase that when he said we were not at the WC just for fun.

I give Rohr high marks for the innate German administrative organisation. However, he is yet to understand our mentality as Clemens Westerhoff quickly did on the job.
S a m p o
Fly, Eagles! Fly!!!
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

green4life wrote:He failed at the WC but I don't recommend firing him. Before he was hired we were at our lowest point failing with Siasia and Oliseh to qualify for back to back nations cups. Let's keep it real. No one expected us to qualify from a group that included Marhez and Co plus a bunch of fairly recent ANC champions. Yet he damn near qualified us with two games to spare if not for that late pk in Yaounde.
Let's keep very real. Nigeria was at it's lowest when Keshi took over as well. Within two 2 years:
1) AFCON Winners
2)WC Second Round.
Thanks Fabio! Firing him is not imploding nothing.
It would show that we have the same standard for
local and foreign coaches for instance. We need to
get back to using local talent in these positions. It
has served us well in the past. And, in any case,
foreign coaches have not done any better.

We've tried the foreign coach short cut to no avail.
let's get back to building capacity among Nigerian
coaches by giving them the opportunity to serve us
at the highest level.

The most accomplished football nations do not use
foreign coaches. We ought to do the same.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

Sampo wrote:
theYemster wrote:With South Korea's performance over Germany it makes a mockery of Rohr's daft perspective. One thing I admire about the Asian teams particularly South Korea and Japan is that they play without fear. If their players had the quality of African players they'd do far better.
That, right there, is the crux!

Fighting spirit is one of our strongest pedigrees and one thing the football world likes about us.

You travel the world and strangers from any corner would immediately give you a nod, a thumb-up; referring to the Super Eagles. Even the makeshift, rather young SE of 2002 WC showed grit and mettle. And this always comes down to the coaching attitude which strengthens self-belief in the players. You heard Pa Oni, our so-called "PE teacher", facing the World Press and boldly declaring, "The boys are rearing to go!" You remember Keshi (RIP) and his team talk, inherited over the years from bleeding green-white-green. He said his 2013 ANC team was young, but never said they weren't ready. He infused the play-without-fear in his boys. With this, even limited players would be battle-ready! We all still remember the Sunday Ubas and Godfrey Oboabonas and how they soared. They were infants in football yet they didn't freeze. Neither did the Julius Aghahowas in the Japan-Korea WC.

Rohr's pronouncements about his wards were rather demoralising to hear. I believe it had the same effects on the boys. Couple that with his conservative approach to the matches, he just unwittingly cancelled out all his hard work! You could sense Mikel diplomatically trying to counter and erase that when he said we were not at the WC just for fun.

I give Rohr high marks for the innate German administrative organisation. However, he is yet to understand our mentality as Clemens Westerhoff quickly did on the job.
The best qualification for the job is our 'fearless mentality'. Only a
Nigerian coach can truly embody, transmit and manifest that. That
is the quality the best footballing nations realize and that is why
they would never consider hiring a foreign coach.

Bryne V. Deane [1937]
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

AreaDaddy wrote:Rohr is a failure as coach. The cycle for 2022 start now and we need to plan for that with a new coach.
I agree.

The new pseudo-professionalism of the NFF should have them seek a coach who will get us playing the Naijarian way. We do have a style of playing football. We all can see it when we play our style.

Rohr has done enough to be fired. He lost to SA at home. Has had a bad year 2018. He did not meet the target of getting out of the first round. The nature of the job is that you should be judged by your record unless you are an Arsenal coach.

Now, there's argument to retain him. But if we are to make waves in 2022, like you pointed out, the planning starts now with a new coach. I admire what Martinez and Henry is doing with Belgium. We might want to try the route of an <sic> FC with an ex-international like Finidi or even Eguavoen.

For me, NFF should double their effort and resources on the U21 and U23 teams. We need to have a platform for up and coming players to showcase their talent. Not qualifying for those tournaments contributed in us not being able to discover talent that could have shored up some of the positions we are deficient in.
Kpom!

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Goldleaf wrote:
Another great example of playing without fear. :clap: :clap:
But playing without fear is a mind thing.
A coach can't tell a player to 'fear'. That's within them as individuals.
The only thing a coach can do is set up his team in a cautious formation and build team confidence.
Don't let's pretend as if Rohr told his players to be afraid.
Was Musa afraid?
Was Mikel afraid?

Damunk wrote: But playing without fear is a mind thing.
A coach can't tell a player to 'fear'. That's within them as individuals.
The only thing a coach can do is set up his team in a cautious formation and build team confidence.
Don't let's pretend as if Rohr told his players to be afraid.
Was Musa afraid?
Was Mikel afraid?
Uncle, they said anointing flows from the head down. Am sorry, you still don't get it. Your analogy works with individual sports.

Football is a team sports. Like me give you an example... The English cricket (test Matches) no matter how badly they play or are even trashed, You not hear the coach speak like Rohr, never. The English Rugby team was outplayed in South Africa in the recent test series, I didn't hear Eddie Jones speak like Rohr. Do you get the point? i hope you, do.

Group strength is better than one or two individuals who have no fear.

I must say that I have enjoyed reading the argument s about whether to retain or get rid of Gernot Rohr
Both divides have come up with compelling arguments with reveal the deep knowledge of football by members of the forum and it also shows how we can put our points across without resorting to insults.
From my understanding, the general consensus is that Rohr has brought stability and organization to the SE but in doing that has negated our traditional offensive game.
There is the real possibility that the gains made under Rohr May be lost if he is fired and a new coach hired.
My solution is that an offensive coach like Samson Siasia is hired as his first assistant and Salisu is deployed to the Olympic team.
The 2019 AFCON should be used as a template for this combination and a review carried out after the competition.
Bestplayer

Post by Bestplayer »

Dammy wrote:I must say that I have enjoyed reading the argument s about whether to retain or get rid of Gernot Rohr
Both divides have come up with compelling arguments with reveal the deep knowledge of football by members of the forum and it also shows how we can put our points across without resorting to insults.
From my understanding, the general consensus is that Rohr has brought stability and organization to the SE but in doing that has negated our traditional offensive game.
There is the real possibility that the gains made under Rohr May be lost if he is fired and a new coach hired.
My solution is that an offensive coach like Samson Siasia is hired as his first assistant and Salisu is deployed to the Olympic team.
The 2019 AFCON should be used as a template for this combination and a review carried out after the competition.
Why make Siasia an assistant? Rather, the NFF should provide Siasia the same level of support and compensation Rohr has received and let him manage the team. Clowns like Rohr have no place in Nigerian football :idea:

What was Rohrs "daft" perspective?

Dammy wrote:I must say that I have enjoyed reading the argument s about whether to retain or get rid of Gernot Rohr

What nonsense are you yapping about? Painting Rohr as some savior with his stable system that could not get the SE out of the group? You are super delusional, fire Rohr and hire a coach with a plan abeg

9jaMan wrote:

What nonsense are you yapping about? Painting Rohr as some savior with his stable system that could not get the SE out of the group? You are super delusional, fire Rohr and hire a coach with a plan abeg
You are the delusional one, thinking your comments have any effect on whether Rohr is sacked or retained.
FYI, the NFF have said they are retaining Rohr, so deal with it Mr delusion!

9jaMan wrote:

You are the delusional one, thinking your comments have any effect on whether Rohr is sacked or retained.

Oh ok, I guess you made the call to keep Rohr, wow you must be super important, :rotf: :rotf: sadly your daftnesss knows no bounds. Rohr should be fired for his lack of tactics, and your earlier comments about Rohr stabilizing the team was delusional.

9jaMan wrote:

Oh ok, I guess you made the call to keep Rohr, wow you must be super important, :rotf: :rotf: sadly your daftnesss knows no bounds. Rohr should be fired for his lack of tactics, and your earlier comments about Rohr stabilizing the team was delusional.
Yadda yadda yadda..... keep blabbing rubbish. The decision has been taken and you can hug a transformer if you don't like it. Delusional man

9jaMan wrote:

Yadda yadda yadda..... keep blabbing rubbish. The decision has been taken and you can hug a transformer if you don't like it. Delusional man

You're still super daft tho,
Spicyee

Post by Spicyee »

What would it take to hand this job over to Siasia, assisted by Manu Garba? Those two have clearly demonstrated the ability to spot talent, and to actually coach the team. And, before the usual suspects cry that Siasia failed before, let them at least acknowledge the circumstances under which he was given the job in the first place: We should have handed him the job earlier, rather than let 'you-know-who' stink up the joint first!