[WC 2018 R16] France 4 - Argentina 3 FT

Re: [WC 2018 R16] France 4 - Argentina 3 FT

charlie wrote:The only thing I know for certain is that even if we got past Argentina, no way we were beating France. Our world cup just ended a few days earlier.
We match up very well vs France. Most African sides do.

And just look how they struggled in their group: a lucky win vs Australia and no firepower vs Denmark and Peru.

France was there for the taking. Argentina simply have no defence. A perfect matchup for a team like France who have a potent attack.
Last edited by marutimon on Sat Jun 30, 2018 5:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

charlie wrote:The only thing I know for certain is that even if we got past Argentina, no way we were beating France. Our world cup just ended a few days earlier.
Argentina save SE from a disgrace

:D :bump:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
Re: [WC 2018 R16] France 4 - Argentina 3 2H

oloye wrote:The midget of a coach killed Argentina,he does not even know his team.
So Oloye, you can make that call on Sampaoli & Argentina, but we are talking rubbish when we same the same obvious team about this WOWO Rohr & Nigeria?

Another poor referee favouring the Argies in my opinion. How Argentina had Mascherano, Mercado and Otamendi on the pitch at the end of the game is match boggling. Dude was given French players yellows for silly stuff.

France does not have a leader on the pitch. They don't have a Viera, a Laurent Blanc, a Thuram. They can win the WC but they are missing a leader. If someone can give them a spine, they can win it all.
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

Where did we go wrong? How come we did not cap this Nnewi boy, Mba?
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942

Rawlings wrote:This match proves to me that Naija is a very weak team

Ghana getting their pep-talk. :mrgreen:
:laugh:
Oga, I neva see Ghana for green jersey
Re: [WC 2018 R16] France 4 - Argentina 2 2H

GREENWHITEGREEN wrote:
marutimon wrote:Argentina out. Couldn't have happened to a nicer bunch of cheaters, poor losers, crybabies and divers.
Case closed!
Amen.

ohenhen1 wrote:That is a red card. Where is VAR.
Otamendi has dodged 2 reds in this WC but can't dodge the aeroplane waiting to ferry him home.
Anyway, what a game! See people wey sabi play, and wey dey play with passion. :thumb: I predicted Argentina to win, but I am happy to be wrong. :thumbs:

truetalk wrote:
metalalloy wrote:Can't believe we lost to this piece of $#% excuse of a defense

That should have been 5
If you have strikers playing like Giroud you will not win :)
When you have a coach who is determined to sabotage the team, these things happen.

We had Argentina on the ropes & we were breaking dangerously till about minute 75, when fatigue began to set in. Make any two changes to keep the momentum going (Ogu for Mikel; Iwobi for Etebo, Ebuehi for Moses or Idowu 'who should not have been in the game at all'), any two changes at at and we likely win or see out that game.

Fatigue set in & our guys were camped in our half. A cross allowed there, get late to a challenge there & it is game over.

This dummy then decides to make changes.
BUT it would not have mattered IF we know how to put the ball into the back of the net! Tiredness was NOT why Ighalo chose the corner flag to send the ball to!
Yes, but we stopped creating chances shortly afterwards and our guys were gassed in the last 10-15 minutes. Since we were sitting deep, our chances were only coming from breaks and those were almost non-existent late in the game.

I have written that Ighalo's performance against Cameroon was fool's paradise and his Misses Ighalo tag was well deserved. It was however obvious that Rohr's mind was made up & settled on Ighalo and that was on him (Rohr). Maybe if the likes of Martins & Awoniyi did not get injured, they would have had a chance, but who says Rohr would have played them?

Afterall, Rohr managed to leave Ebuehi, the spark in the previous game, on the bench for Idowu.

It was obvious the 3-5-2 was working for us, but we were short of left footed players with pace in the team. What were Idowu and Echiejile doing in Russia? Stanley Amuzie (a left footed player with pace who put in a good shift on Salah over 2 legs, save for that offside), and Ola Aina were better players for the system that could have given us the best shot.
Leave Idowu out of it. He did good.

But I agree: Stanley Amuzie needs to get a look in. Only left back playing regularly in Europe for a decent club side.

tunde72 wrote:Virus Kante dealing with Messi
:lol: mosquito
femmyphoto
Re: [WC 2018 R16] France 1 - Argentina 0 match thread

Post by femmyphoto »

Ogolo Makambo wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:Argentina thought they had a PK! :lol: :lol:

Dem no sabi say France na di original oga country of FIFA. :mrgreen: Jules Rimet says hello!

France is the nrw black team!!

Yes ..they are the new black team on the field.

On the football stand, the French supporters are predominantly white.
Thanks to the overall state of racial economic inequality in France. Just keep that in mind !
The dead cannot cry out for justice; it is a duty of the living to do so for them.... Lois McMaster Bujold, Diplomatic Immunity, 2002
GREENWHITEGREEN

Post by GREENWHITEGREEN »

So Messi's only goal at this WC was against Nigeria.
-Simpli fy -

Sorry for overusing this, but must:

Argentina save SE from a disgrace
"No money syndrome" hits National Dwarfs team ahead of World Dwarf Games :mrgreen: :lol: :lol: :lol:

The Ghanaian football dwarf team, the Black Giants, are set to see their efforts to represent the nation thwarted with the usual “no money syndrome” hitting them hard. :lol: :lol:

The Black Giants are in line for an appearance at the 2017 World Dwarf Games to be held in Canada.
https://www.modernghana.com/news/791156 ... world.html
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :bump: :bump: :bump: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

@Maru, France would hit the Eagles for six...the 3-5-2 was ran rugged for 45’ by an anarchistic Argentina, this well oiled blue machine, irrespective of Didier Crapshamps would’ve issued a beating and a half, the type that would’ve had the RSPCB flapping their wings. Nigeria are not on that level and don’t have the arms for those type of gunfights.

Returning to Sampaoli, madness!

marutimon wrote:
Riche007 wrote:Game over. Argentina, go home.
Does anyone think this France team would have beaten us? Well, we will NEVER know.
I'm certain it wouldn't have been a high scoring game. We would have clogged up the midfield. It would be decided by a couple of goals.

Remember we outplayed France in 2014. Albeit they have a better team than then.
This France team is much more talented than 2014. They left a stack of players at home that easily could've made our first team. Real talk.

GREENWHITEGREEN wrote:So Messi's only goal at this WC was against Nigeria.
Proves the uselessness of Naija
Next to go down will be Croatia
Re: [WC 2018 R16] France 2 - Argentina 2 2H

This French team get as e be,is like when they need to turn up they do.

Coach wrote:@Maru, France would hit the Eagles for six...the 3-5-2 was ran rugged for 45’ by an anarchistic Argentina, this well oiled blue machine, irrespective of Didier Crapshamps would’ve issued a beating and a half, the type that would’ve had the RSPCB flapping their wings. Nigeria are not on that level and don’t have the arms for those type of gunfights.

Returning to Sampaoli, madness!
1. Argentina scored 3 on France. 2 on Nigeria.
2. Argentina ran rugged? Not vs Nigeria. They barely had any penetration. In fact they threatened maybe 4 times in the entire game.

Nigeria has a much stronger midfield than Argentina and a better organized defence. It would be a tight game. Just like it was vs Denmark, Peru or Australia.

GREENWHITEGREEN wrote:So Messi's only goal at this WC was against Nigeria.
Proves the uselessness of Naija
Next to go down will be Croatia
"No money syndrome" hits National Dwarfs team ahead of World Dwarf Games :mrgreen: :lol: :lol: :lol:

The Ghanaian football dwarf team, the Black Giants, are set to see their efforts to represent the nation thwarted with the usual “no money syndrome” hitting them hard. :lol: :lol:

The Black Giants are in line for an appearance at the 2017 World Dwarf Games to be held in Canada.
https://www.modernghana.com/news/791156 ... world.html
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :bump: :bump: :bump: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

8 shots on target, 7 goals!