[WC 2018 R16] France 4 - Argentina 3 FT

Re: [WC 2018 R16] France 4 - Argentina 3 FT

Coach wrote:Iceland. Croatia and Arganarchists. 3 games. 3 points. 3 goals in. 4 or 5 against. Out...France wouldn’t stand a chance. Nigeria are not on the same level and not only that, don’t have the collective mentality to exceed the sum of their parts. There’s a reason why the world beyond the round of 16 remains elusive, but with 52 to the deck, what else to play but the race card. Why? Is it cos I’m black? #jadakissvoice

First you understand and accept where u are at. Only then can u understand how much more u have to go...

Ours was a young, but thoroughly average team, with potential. Hopefully we can continue to build on it..

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
F360

Post by F360 »

Coach wrote:@Maru, France would hit the Eagles for six...the 3-5-2 was ran rugged for 45’ by an anarchistic Argentina, this well oiled blue machine, irrespective of Didier Crapshamps would’ve issued a beating and a half, the type that would’ve had the RSPCB flapping their wings. Nigeria are not on that level and don’t have the arms for those type of gunfights.

Returning to Sampaoli, madness!
France hit an African side for 6?

In what planet? African sides match up with France. We held a much better France side in check in 2014. We showed the world their vulnerability and how they can be beat.

Argentina is a poor side.

This is a much, much better french team; in every segment of the game- players, organization, subs, etc
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Nna, do yourself a favor and read French media reports on the team. Funny enough, they are saying that this is a very young team. Not as good as the team that lost to Germany in the quarters 1:0.

They might achieve more than their 2014 team but they themselves don't consider this team better than the 2014 team.

Come on now, you know that's not true. Kalani JR is correct.
Please give us the links to reports from French papers and journos that consider the 2014 team the better team?

A more mature Pogba, Griezmann, Varane, with a quality holding midfielder in Kante, Umtiti playing at the highest level with Barca rather than stagnating at Lyon, a quality and versatile RB in Pavard plus the x factor Mbappe? On the bench another x factor in Dembele.

Their 2014 squad was very good in quality and would have been worthy winners but as young as this squad might be, they are a better mix than 2014 and with less drama/difficult personalities.

--------------------------------------------

marutimon wrote:
Coach wrote:@Maru, France would hit the Eagles for six...the 3-5-2 was ran rugged for 45’ by an anarchistic Argentina, this well oiled blue machine, irrespective of Didier Crapshamps would’ve issued a beating and a half, the type that would’ve had the RSPCB flapping their wings. Nigeria are not on that level and don’t have the arms for those type of gunfights.

In what planet? African sides match up with France. We held a much better France side in check in 2014. We showed the world their vulnerability and how they can be beat.

This is a much, much better french team; in every segment of the game- players, organization, subs, etc
Are we talking about the same French team that lucked out vs Australia in the first game and struggled as hell vs Peru and Denmark?

Yes. Just like Italy in the first round in 1982.

A tournament is about peaking at the right time...
......and France in 2014 peaked at the right time and were crowned world champs like Italy in 1982.
I can't believe what some folks post here. :lol: :lol: :lol:

You are close to being illiterate. I am drawing his attention to how a slow start in Rd 1 is not an indication of anything!!!
Simply stupid!
My man..........quit trying so HARD. :D
You are a certified 'football.know-nothing'.........trying to sound like you see something 'hidden' from the likes of Dean Oloye :thumbs: , only exposes your 'football-know-nothingness'. :mrgreen:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

ohsee wrote:
Coach wrote: Indeed. Because the African sides gave a good account of themselves over the past two weeks. Each and every one of them was merely making up the numbers, filling the calendar, none were expected to emerge from their groups, maybe Senegal, low and behold, none did. But France hit an African side for six, not happening, simply because no African side is going anywhere in a Mundial. Here we are again, screaming 4 more years like an Obama campaign rally. No progression, just more of the same. Perhaps six is speculative, but the beating is assured. Africa is all out with a collective points tally of...for a reason. Sh*t.
Coachito, again, why bother? Self-deception is a necessary part of human nature; without it, we would go mad with misery, and depression would be the normal order of things. Leave dem; CEs overhyped our team before the tourney, and came to believe their own BS. What do you expect? They will just abuse you if you point it out.
You probably are in the Rohr camp of just being happy to be at the World Cup. Play to avoid embarrassment. After all, look at the quality of your players and the teams they play for. Why did FIFA allow them to participate in the World Cup in the first place if they are there just to make up numbers?

This game is a game of inches. Some of the African teams who went home early, a fortunate bounce here or there we will be talking a different thing.

We should make sure we don't have a coach like you or Coach near an African team... telling them they have lost before the ball is kicked.

ohsee wrote:

Coachito why do you bother? Let Naija people continue to enjoy their delusions--we have nothing else to enjoy. We have never progressed beyond the round of 16, but we have excuses. If not for...if not for...coach, this player, that player, corrupt NFF, organization, referee, pick your excuse. Perhaps one day, reality will set in, and we will recognize that we are just a mediocre football country, not yet ready for the big stage. Maybe then, we will begin the complete overhaul that our country needs in footie, and everything else.
The World Cup has been won by a handful of teams.

In football, you need the confluence of things to come together to win.

The history of the World cup is littered with teams that failed to deliver despite being good on paper.

In Naijaria's case, it is more of reasons, not excuses. We keep doing our best to eliminate the things we have control over and one day everything will come together, including luck, for us to win it all.
But Ogbuefi, Nigeria is not even good on paper, but we insist that we are. Did you not see everyone smiling at us when we were winning the "Football Jersey World Cup?" Why do you think they were doing that? Because they are racist?

But Ogbuefi nwokem, you are right about if we keep working at it and tinkering and learning, we will get there with luck one day. If we think we are there already, we will never get there. We will be like England who firmly believed that they knew more about football than everyone else, and consequently for donkey years they kept getting beat. Arrogance will kill you, and we have too much of it in Nigeria, and on this site.

ohsee wrote:
Coach wrote: Indeed. Because the African sides gave a good account of themselves over the past two weeks. Each and every one of them was merely making up the numbers, filling the calendar, none were expected to emerge from their groups, maybe Senegal, low and behold, none did. But France hit an African side for six, not happening, simply because no African side is going anywhere in a Mundial. Here we are again, screaming 4 more years like an Obama campaign rally. No progression, just more of the same. Perhaps six is speculative, but the beating is assured. Africa is all out with a collective points tally of...for a reason. Sh*t.
Coachito, again, why bother? Self-deception is a necessary part of human nature; without it, we would go mad with misery, and depression would be the normal order of things. Leave dem; CEs overhyped our team before the tourney, and came to believe their own BS. What do you expect? They will just abuse you if you point it out.
You probably are in the Rohr camp of just being happy to be at the World Cup. Play to avoid embarrassment. After all, look at the quality of your players and the teams they play for. Why did FIFA allow them to participate in the World Cup in the first place if they are there just to make up numbers?

This game is a game of inches. Some of the African teams who went home early, a fortunate bounce here or there we will be talking a different thing.

We should make sure we don't have a coach like you or Coach near an African team... telling them they have lost before the ball is kicked.
Kpomest. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
Re: [WC 2018 R16] France 4 - Argentina 2 2H

Ekorian wrote:God perhaps saved us an embarrassment. Uzoho might have conceded 8 goals against this French team. :scared:
Nonsense.
+1
The team we played in 2014 was considered better and invisible until the great Keshi showed the world how to play them.

The rest, as they say, is history.

We lost 2-0...
Yeah, we lost 2-0. But the scoreline does not tell the story of the game. Game was a tight game until we lost a critical player in a foul that could have been a card and turned the game to our favor.

We were not outplayed by France.

And France was a favorite going into the World Cup.
Denial stage o! :lol:
I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela

@Celly, granted now and then a glitch in the matrix sees Oga Germany squander 20 attempts on goal vs Korea, but more often than not, form follows function. Nigerian football has not progressed, after 94, great thins were expected and barring Olympics and age grade contests, great things never came. One will say, with a degree of confidence, when the world league of friendlies starts, Nigeria will not reach a top ten ranking, plateau at best, plummet most likely.

ohsee wrote:
Meanwhile people like you have a loser mentality, which is why we fail in the first place. Too many of you's, not enough people like Vancity Eagle actually trying to move forward.

If Mexico can do it, so can Nigeria.

F360 wrote:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Nna, do yourself a favor and read French media reports on the team. Funny enough, they are saying that this is a very young team. Not as good as the team that lost to Germany in the quarters 1:0.

They might achieve more than their 2014 team but they themselves don't consider this team better than the 2014 team.

Please give us the links to reports from French papers and journos that consider the 2014 team the better team?

A more mature Pogba, Griezmann, Varane, with a quality holding midfielder in Kante, Umtiti playing at the highest level with Barca rather than stagnating at Lyon, a quality and versatile RB in Pavard plus the x factor Mbappe? On the bench another x factor in Dembele.

Their 2014 squad was very good in quality and would have been worthy winners but as young as this squad might be, they are a better mix than 2014 and with less drama/difficult personalities.

Add to that, those who couldn't make this team from injuries or lost form:
Kingsley Coman, Koscielny, Payet, Langlet...
Last edited by txj on Sat Jun 30, 2018 5:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Re: [WC 2018 R16] France 4 - Argentina 2 2H

Ogolo Makambo wrote:
Ekorian wrote:God perhaps saved us an embarrassment. Uzoho might have conceded 8 goals against this French team. :scared:
Nonsense.
+1
The team we played in 2014 was considered better and invisible until the great Keshi showed the world how to play them.

The rest, as they say, is history.

We lost 2-0...
Yeah, we lost 2-0. But the scoreline does not tell the story of the game. Game was a tight game until we lost a critical player in a foul that could have been a card and turned the game to our favor.

We were not outplayed by France.

And France was a favorite going into the World Cup.
Denial stage o! :lol:
Yes, you are in denial stage. With a tough of self-hate.

ohsee wrote:

Coachito why do you bother? Let Naija people continue to enjoy their delusions--we have nothing else to enjoy. We have never progressed beyond the round of 16, but we have excuses. If not for...if not for...coach, this player, that player, corrupt NFF, organization, referee, pick your excuse. Perhaps one day, reality will set in, and we will recognize that we are just a mediocre football country, not yet ready for the big stage. Maybe then, we will begin the complete overhaul that our country needs in footie, and everything else.

The history of the World cup is littered with teams that failed to deliver despite being good on paper.

In Naijaria's case, it is more of reasons, not excuses. We keep doing our best to eliminate the things we have control over and one day everything will come together, including luck, for us to win it all.
But Ogbuefi, Nigeria is not even good on paper, but we insist that we are. Did you not see everyone smiling at us when we were winning the "Football Jersey World Cup?" Why do you think they were doing that? Because they are racist?

But Ogbuefi nwokem, you are right about if we keep working at it and tinkering and learning, we will get there with luck one day. If we think we are there already, we will never get there. We will be like England who firmly believed that they knew more about football than everyone else, and consequently for donkey years they kept getting beat. Arrogance will kill you, and we have too much of it in Nigeria, and on this site.
I have never agreed with you more.
I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela

Coach wrote:@Celly, granted now and then a glitch in the matrix sees Oga Germany squander 20 attempts on goal vs Korea, but more often than not, form follows function. Nigerian football has not progressed, after 94, great thins were expected and barring Olympics and age grade contests, great things never came. One will say, with a degree of confidence, when the world league of friendlies starts, Nigeria will not reach a top ten ranking, plateau at best, plummet most likely.
Nonsense...............their loss to Skorea was their 2nd in 3 games :woot: :woot: :woot: .
When you score 33.33% in any exam, it called failure.....................unless you happen to be a Wowo working for our daft NFF.

F360 wrote:

I agree that France 2018 is a stronger side. But the game is played on the pitch. If they struggled against Peru, Australia and Denmark, who do not have better players than us, than why can't Nigeria have a chance?

We blew it with Argentina, because in essence they are a crap team, who concede so many goals for a reason. They made France look better than they are.

F360 wrote:

Less drama, yes! But the 2014 squad went on to play in the Euro 2016 finals that they lost to Portugal. It was that loss that led to the "dismantling" of the squad to have this one. Even at that they have 9 players from that squad and could have been more if not for some injuries.

F360 wrote:

Nonsense...................
These are bunch of average players with..............................'names' like the legendary and IMMORTAL Big Boss :clap: :clap: :clap: will tell his players before any match against big 'name' teams.

There will always be one......................

IMMORTAL MIC :clap: :clap: :clap: :thumbs: :thumbs: ........ a LEADER of MEN. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
F360

Post by F360 »

F360 wrote:

Less drama, yes! But the 2014 squad went on to play in the Euro 2016 finals that they lost to Portugal. It was that loss that led to the "dismantling" of the squad to have this one. Even at that they have 9 players from that squad and could have been more if not for some injuries.
2016 finals...at home. That squad would have been dismantled regardless. How did Benzema, Mavuba, Sakho, Evra, Debuchy and Valbuena, Schneiderlin and Remy fare this season? They wouldn't have made this squad based on current form regardless of whether France won Euro 2016 and they got to keep receiving call-ups from Deschamps.

We will be able to evaluate this 2018 squad further when they are done in the tournament and then after Euro 2020.

F360 wrote:

Its a much better squad, not simply from differences in players, but the growth of the players. In otherwords, its a team that has been evolving AND growing since 2014, and are in a much higher place than ever before, for Deschamps.

That is why the French think they have outgrown Didier...

You need to properly follow the game and not shape your own facts to suit ur narrative- 'they did not outplay us'....

Our satisfaction should not be from not being outplayed. That is meaningless rote u have been repeating for 4 years!

ohsee wrote:

Ogbuefi, I am in no camp. As I do elsewhere, I point out truths that no one wants to see. You are hoping for fortunate bounces and inches here and there, as if everyone is on par; on the other hand, France has spent donkey years developing players and academies and systems. England has learned their lesson and are working on it.

I can only laugh at your theories of self-belief--you sound like my Madam who thinks belief can move mountains, and is always surprised when it doesn't :lol: . Maybe Kenya can win the World Cup if only they believe and tried. :lol: If Kenyans come here and say something like that, I will just smile and not say anything. So from now on, I will take the advice I gave Coachito: you continue to believe that with a few lucky bounces you will win the World Cup with the meagre pool of players we have. I will keep my own counsel from now on.

F360 wrote:
F360 wrote:

2016 finals...at home. That squad would have been dismantled regardless. How did Benzema, Mavuba, Sakho, Evra, Debuchy and Valbuena, Schneiderlin and Remy fare this season? They wouldn't have made this squad based on current form regardless of whether France won Euro 2016 and they got to keep receiving call-ups from Deschamps.

We will be able to evaluate this 2018 squad further when they are done in the tournament and then after Euro 2020.
Team wasn't really dismantled the core is still the same for the most part, most of the players who didn't make it have already retired from Internationals.
Last edited by kalani JR on Sat Jun 30, 2018 6:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ohsee wrote:

Dede, I know we are not there. But we do have the tools to be there. I look at two of my favorite teams, Korea and Japan, and I love the way they play the game. They give you an honest effort and any day you don't bring your A-game they will take you down. I want us to get to the level of Korea and Japan. Do what we do at 100% effort and we can compete with the best. I might be in the minority but I don't see the gulf in class you folks see.

I believe that our style works! It needs getting the right coaching staff to enhance our style. Rohr is not it. Take a look at Mexico, they went through a lot of coaches to get one that plays a style they identified as Mexican.

The arrogance will be thinking that becoming more European in our football will make us World beaters. It will Not!

F360

Post by F360 »

marutimon wrote:
F360 wrote:

I agree that France 2018 is a stronger side. But the game is played on the pitch. If they struggled against Peru, Australia and Denmark, who do not have better players than us, than why can't Nigeria have a chance?

We blew it with Argentina, because in essence they are a crap team, who concede so many goals for a reason. They made France look better than they are.

Can't it be both?
I think Nigeria would have had a chance versus France but that doesn't mean France aren't a very good team regardless of group stage and pre-wc results.

I think Nigeria vs France could have been just as thrilling a match as Argentina vs France.

marutimon wrote:
Raptor wrote:We used to have rightbacks and leftbacks who could score goals. The Iroha's, Sofoluwe's etc. Brazil almost won the 82 WC with Serginjo who could not hit a barndoor. Underperforming striker! No problem, others would score. France scored 4 with a beanpole of a striker in Giroud upfront. Argentina likewise with a marginally worse Higuain. Whilst not excusing Ighalo's performance a team should be able to score from anywhere.
Look at the players.

Out of all the players on the field only Musa, Iheanacho (not playing the second half) and Moses are known goalscorers. There was also Ndidi who can score a cracker.

Once Iheanacho is off - we have only two players with a knack for scoring goals, whereas both Musa and Moses are hit and miss.

Who was supposed to score? Simon Moses was injured, Iwobi hugged the bench, none of the Belgian contingent was tested or taken, Simy, who BTW is our most prolific goalscorer in a top 6 league, got 2 minutes to perform a miracle.

If you want to score you have to play goalscoring players. In the second half we basically had 2 while chasing the game!!!
Which is why the dummy of a coach should be fired.