Super Eagles Keepers

Seen the following
1. Rufai
2. Alloy
3.Wilfred
4.Dosu
5. Ike Shorumu
6. Peterside Idaho
7.Abiodun Baruwa
8. Vincent
9.Austin Ejide
I might have missed one or two from 1988 when I can access objectively. Doubt if any of them is as bad as Uzoho .
Last edited by imehjunior on Sat Mar 23, 2019 12:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Super Eagles Keepers

I take apkeyi and ezenwa anyday ahead of Uzoho

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

imehjunior wrote:Seen the following
1. Rufai
2. Alloy
3.Wilfred
4.Dosu
5. Ike Shorumu
6. Peterside Idaho
7.Abiodun Baruwa
8. Vincent
9.Austin Entire
I might have missed one or two from 1988 when I can access objectively. Doubt if any of them is as bad as Uzoho .
Who is that?
The worst I can see on the list is Abiodun Baruwa

Sir V wrote:
1. Rufai
2. Alloy
3.Wilfred
4.Dosu
5. Ike Shorumu
6. Peterside Idaho
7.Abiodun Baruwa
8. Vincent
9.Austin Entire
Who is that?
The worst I can see on the list is Abiodun Baruwa
Ejide

Smh Nigerians never wanna build. They want an already made product and are not willing to wait for players to grow. Uzoho is only 19 give him some more chances even de gea was flopping originally at United. Nw, his the best GK in the world. Uzoho has shown that his capable of growing and has put in decent performances in the past. To even suggest akpeyi or ezenwa as his replacement shows your unseriousess

john12 wrote:Smh Nigerians never wanna build. They want an already made product and are not willing to wait for players to grow. Uzoho is only 19 give him some more chances even de gea was flopping originally at United. Nw, his the best GK in the world. Uzoho has shown that his capable of growing and has put in decent performances in the past. To even suggest akpeyi or ezenwa as his replacement shows your unseriousess
Agreed. Uzoho needs time to grow and could use a better environment than the Cyprus league. His going to the u23, the African championship in November and the Olympics next year will provide invaluable exposure and lessons for him.

Rufai is useless.

john12 wrote:Smh Nigerians never wanna build. They want an already made product and are not willing to wait for players to grow. Uzoho is only 19 give him some more chances even de gea was flopping originally at United. Nw, his the best GK in the world. Uzoho has shown that his capable of growing and has put in decent performances in the past. To even suggest akpeyi or ezenwa as his replacement shows your unseriousess
Forgive me maybe it's just me, can't see anything that gives me hope he will improve or get better.
Seen some young keeper and irrespective of the mistakes here and there you still see the potential. Ezenwa is not even starting for Enyimba , think the coach should take a closer look at the local league till the next best thing pops up.

Benedict Iroha wrote:Rufai is useless.
Now, or back then? :?

1. Rufai
2. Alloy
3.Wilfred
4.Dosu
5. Ike Shorumu
6. Peterside Idaho
7.Abiodun Baruwa
8. Vincent
9.Austin Ejide
So you didn't see Carl Ikeme? :?

Personally right now I'll go with Ezenwa. When I read about Uzoho moving to Cyprus I knew he has hit the wall. No good up and coming goalie gets sent to Siberia, you get sent to a small club but in a competitive league. The move was an indictment on Uzoho and his potential/ability.

Anyways we don't need a great big name goalie, mask our deficiencies with great defenders and an effective defensive scheme.

imehjunior wrote:Forgive me maybe it's just me, can't see anything that gives me hope he will improve or get better.
Seen some young keeper and irrespective of the mistakes here and there you still see the potential. Ezenwa is not even starting for Enyimba , think the coach should take a closer look at the local league till the next best thing pops up.
You mean “was”?
Since he’s not with Enyimba.

Obong wrote:Agreed. Uzoho needs time to grow and could use a better environment than the Cyprus league. His going to the u23, the African championship in November and the Olympics next year will provide invaluable exposure and lessons for him.
Uzoho is not going to be at the U23 AFCON in November...

Unless he’s clubless at that time, or so far down the depth chart at his club to be effectively marginal. The U23 AFCON is not FIFA-sanctioned and thus clubs are not compelled to release players. That’s why we really should be building and using a primarily homebased U23 squad in these qualifiers.
Last edited by Gotti on Sat Mar 23, 2019 11:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Uzoho, no be am at all..that useless goal Messi scored was all his fault..threw goals Libya scored hmmm..not to talk about Seychelles

People are forgetting that top African goalkeepers like Nkono, Kameni, Songo'o, Enyeama and Antoine-Bell have all made such blunders even in their prime.
Uzoho is just 20 and still growing. I hope he stays away from all these confident-shattering comments from folks who have never laced a booth in their lives. I wish the young lad more success to come.

imehjunior wrote:Forgive me maybe it's just me, can't see anything that gives me hope he will improve or get better.
You mean “was”?
KPOM. People simply talk about players without knowing their status. Ezenwa is NOT an Enyimba player. He does start at Katsina United (not Enyimba).
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

You mean “was”?
KPOM. People simply talk about players without knowing their status. Ezenwa is NOT an Enyimba player. He does start at Katsina United (not Enyimba).
Error all mine. Thought he was still with Enyimba , meaning he moved this season.

1. Rufai
2. Alloy
3.Wilfred
4.Dosu
5. Ike Shorumu
6. Peterside Idaho
7.Abiodun Baruwa
8. Vincent
9.Austin Ejide
So you didn't see Carl Ikeme? :?

Personally right now I'll go with Ezenwa. When I read about Uzoho moving to Cyprus I knew he has hit the wall. No good up and coming goalie gets sent to Siberia, you get sent to a small club but in a competitive league. The move was an indictment on Uzoho and his potential/ability.

Anyways we don't need a great big name goalie, mask our deficiencies with great defenders and an effective defensive scheme.

You are clueless. Enyeama spent most of his time in Nigeria and Israel before moving to France. Rufai played in Benin rep for a while. Carl Ikeme was in the lower leagues of England before being invited to the SE. You think a young African goalkeeper moves to a top club immediately?? And by the way Cyprus is in the West Asia not Siberia. Get a clue dude.

Ekorian wrote:People are forgetting that top African goalkeepers like Nkono, Kameni, Songo'o, Enyeama and Antoine-Bell have all made such blunders even in their prime.
Uzoho is just 20 and still growing. I hope he stays away from all these confident-shattering comments from folks who have never laced a booth in their lives. I wish the young lad more success to come.

Don't mind them. They are looking for a ready made World Class GK without any effort.

Ekorian wrote:People are forgetting that top African goalkeepers like Nkono, Kameni, Songo'o, Enyeama and Antoine-Bell have all made such blunders even in their prime.
At that age there was already something about them that gave you hope and made you salivate thinking how good they will be with age.
Around 98/99 was walking back the the hostels , Ibom stars or Mobil - can't remember which- where about starting training at the UniUyo football field. Most of the players where doing their stretches. Coach Henry Nwosu threw the balls into the pitch and one of the players took a surprise shot towards the goal post - I think he was just trying to send the ball to them- one of the goalies flew and he was so high and looked like he was parallel to the bar and plucked the ball out of the top corner. When he landed back on earth he had a smirk on his face and he looked so young and knew I will seeing seeing him again even as I walked away.
Months later he was with Enyimba and also a student of Uniuyo. We had a NUGA game against RUST and he joined us at Aba on our way to Port Harcourt. He had no prior training with the team and some felt he was making the team because his dad was coach and he played for a premier league team- the arrogance of the team was coming from the fact that the previous year we made it to the final of the state challenge cup before losing- during the match he saved two penalties during regular time and scored a free kick. Wasn't surprised when he later became Nigeria's number one.
All this story is just to say I have not had that wow moment with Uzoho , I only pray he is a late bloomer at this point.
oluwaseye the 1st.

Post by oluwaseye the 1st. »

Uzoho is a very bad keeper and has no business in the national team, there is no point in colouring his glaring deficiencies. Am actually mystified we believe he is the best we have, please he surely is not.
Truth needs no support system, it can stand firmly on its legs!!

COYS

oluwaseye the 1st. wrote:Uzoho is a very bad keeper and has no business in the national team, there is no point in colouring his glaring deficiencies. Am actually mystified we believe he is the best we have, please he surely is not.
Concur. He might be the single biggest reason Nigeria did not make it out the group state at the world cup.

No one can be as bad as Baruwa. I have old basket that’s better.
And while he eventually became our best in history, Enyeama was pretty ropey in the early days. Even at the height of his powers, he was liable to the occasional flap.
Rufai is a great, be his holiday-interrupted performance in 98 still gives me nightmares.

Uzoho isn’t great; but he’s not as bad as Baruwa or Akpeyi

waka-man wrote:No one can be as bad as Baruwa. I have old basket that’s better.
And while he eventually became our best in history, Enyeama was pretty ropey in the early days. Even at the height of his powers, he was liable to the occasional flap.
Rufai is a great, be his holiday-interrupted performance in 98 still gives me nightmares.

Uzoho isn’t great; but he’s not as bad as Baruwa or Akpeyi

Akpeyi and Agbim are the 2 worst keepers ever.