SE should revert to 3-5-2

mojojojo
Re: SE should revert to 3-5-2

Post by mojojojo »

oscar52 wrote:3-5-2 is a more defensive formation and it did not work at the Worldcup. If you have to play three CD then maybe your CDs are not good enough.
Did we watch the same world cup.

We played 4-4-2 vs Croatia and got beaten,

We changed to 3-5-2 against Iceland and won.

We kept 3-5-2 against Argentina and still played well.

We do not have the creativity in midfield to play any other formation.

oscar52 wrote:3-5-2 is a more defensive formation and it did not work at the Worldcup. If you have to play three CD then maybe your CDs are not good enough.
It worked against England and Iceland.
kali

Post by kali »

kali wrote:
okidoki wrote:Aina plays that role for his club at times. I’ve seen Kalu also play that role. We have the personnel, now left for Rorh to grow a pair.
Nah. We don't need 352 which happens to be a defensive/ counter attacking set up that requires a lot of practice and discipline to execute. We can barely score as it is but folks want us to replace an attacking player with a 5th defender abi?

Our boys are high on mobility, energy and skill. This team should defend from the front either full field press or from the half way line once the opponent enters our half. The problem we are having on the attacking phase is ineffective/ inconsistent contribution from the full backs. The RB position is virtually non-existent when it comes to joining the attack (a la Azpilcueta @Chelsea): Awaziem hardly pushes up to overlap the attacking play and provide a wide option and it kills/ slows down attacks as we have to fill that void with a midfielder or force the pass through the congested middle - none of the options being ideal. Aina overlaps but cuts into his stronger right foot which negates the idea of stretching the width of the pitch so he too becomes easier to mark. Aina should switch to RB and find a suitable defender to play LB (half bread is better than none). If the 2 FBs fill those wide areas, our midfielders will have more space in the middle to work with. The answer isn't wing-backs. It's fullbacks in a 433.
Nigeria do not have decent wing backs. Aina is not a great wing back. But it has solid central backs, DMs and good wingers. Playing 4 at the back is a waste. I say replace that with 3 and put 2 strikers up front. Worst that can happen? Players use Nigerian wings to.attack. But guess who is waiting in the box? 5 defenders.

In attack 5 will break down the most resolute defense and create more scoring chances.
Your understanding is misplaced. 352 uses 5 defenders and not 3. The wing backs ARE defenders who should have the mobility to exploit the wide areas & return to defend. Moses excelled at it because he was trained for the role by Conte (who is a disciple of 352) and played it non-stop for 2 seasons at the highest level. Thinking that we can simply toss out chukwuezi, Kalu, Simon, etc to play wing-back is a recipe for disaster because they have to be on point with filling their gaps defensively and offensively plus understanding how to set the all important offside trap. That's why they should stick with fullbacks and put in the work on the pitch to improve what they've been working with from jump (minus a couple WC games that didn't work out for us).
You don't necessarily need wingbacks in a 3-5-2. You can use wingers. The weakness of 3-5-2 is players exploiting space on the wing on counters and crossing in. But with aware central midfielders this can be stamped out till wingers track back.

kali wrote:
kali wrote:
okidoki wrote:Aina plays that role for his club at times. I’ve seen Kalu also play that role. We have the personnel, now left for Rorh to grow a pair.
Nah. We don't need 352 which happens to be a defensive/ counter attacking set up that requires a lot of practice and discipline to execute. We can barely score as it is but folks want us to replace an attacking player with a 5th defender abi?

Our boys are high on mobility, energy and skill. This team should defend from the front either full field press or from the half way line once the opponent enters our half. The problem we are having on the attacking phase is ineffective/ inconsistent contribution from the full backs. The RB position is virtually non-existent when it comes to joining the attack (a la Azpilcueta @Chelsea): Awaziem hardly pushes up to overlap the attacking play and provide a wide option and it kills/ slows down attacks as we have to fill that void with a midfielder or force the pass through the congested middle - none of the options being ideal. Aina overlaps but cuts into his stronger right foot which negates the idea of stretching the width of the pitch so he too becomes easier to mark. Aina should switch to RB and find a suitable defender to play LB (half bread is better than none). If the 2 FBs fill those wide areas, our midfielders will have more space in the middle to work with. The answer isn't wing-backs. It's fullbacks in a 433.
Nigeria do not have decent wing backs. Aina is not a great wing back. But it has solid central backs, DMs and good wingers. Playing 4 at the back is a waste. I say replace that with 3 and put 2 strikers up front. Worst that can happen? Players use Nigerian wings to.attack. But guess who is waiting in the box? 5 defenders.

In attack 5 will break down the most resolute defense and create more scoring chances.
Your understanding is misplaced. 352 uses 5 defenders and not 3. The wing backs ARE defenders who should have the mobility to exploit the wide areas & return to defend. Moses excelled at it because he was trained for the role by Conte (who is a disciple of 352) and played it non-stop for 2 seasons at the highest level. Thinking that we can simply toss out chukwuezi, Kalu, Simon, etc to play wing-back is a recipe for disaster because they have to be on point with filling their gaps defensively and offensively plus understanding how to set the all important offside trap. That's why they should stick with fullbacks and put in the work on the pitch to improve what they've been working with from jump (minus a couple WC games that didn't work out for us).
You don't necessarily need wingbacks in a 3-5-2. You can use wingers. The weakness of 3-5-2 is players exploiting space on the wing on counters and crossing in. But with aware central midfielders this can be stamped out till wingers track back.
Exactly. You end up having 3 midfielders trying to cover 5 players on counters. If you are using wingers, you better have wingers with lungs who can hustle back on defense on counters. This is a recipe for disaster without the right personnel, in the best of times and una wan try am for 90 degrees heat :?: There is a reason very few teams even try to play 3-5-2 in this day and age.

kali

Post by kali »

kali wrote:
kali wrote:

Exactly. You end up having 3 midfielders trying to cover 5 players on counters. If you are using wingers, you better have wingers with lungs who can hustle back on defense on counters. This is a recipe for disaster without the right personnel, in the best of times and una wan try am for 90 degrees heat :?: There is a reason very few teams even try to play 3-5-2 in this day and age.
Most teams don't play two bombing wingers at the same time. Watch how Brazils central midfielders covered the defence when Roberto Carlos and Cafu went bombing forward. You break counters down the wing in the midfield and by central backs cutting off crosses.