Nigeria 2-1 South Africa : FT(Samu, Ekong...VAR)

Re: Nigeria 2-1 South Africa : FT(Samu, Ekong...VAR)

Synopsis wrote:
Lolly wrote:Man of the match - Etebo and Ndidi. These guys were immense.
Collins was immense too. Locked down his side of the field.
Very true. I didn't know Collins was that good. His first game back from injury and he was solid.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

About that Bafana goal, Yekini scored a similar goal against them in South Africa during the USA94 WCQ and of course it was ruled offside. :roll:

My God though, Musa needs to work on his delivery.

danfo driver wrote:UNCLE, SIR, DEAN OLOYE,

Can you see Chukwueze now? :D

I dey "tasi" you because you allowed yourself to align with that useless TonyThe TigerKIller at Half Time. :lol:
Dont call anyone useless it is not a good thing. That said the boy did just okay, the talent is there and I believe he can do better, so I will beg una make una no hype the boy beyond measure. He has talents, but there is still so much room to improve.
I love this....................this means that we may have a Messi :D in our hands.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

marko wrote:I thought Musa ran the south African player ragged and cant understand why he was subbed
Yes he did a great job on the guy, but it became frustrating watching him do all the work and no end product. I was almost losing my mind watching him get to vantage position only to cross to no one... In essence he was doing nothing, the ball was ending in a less dangerous area from a dangerous position.

A coach has to do something to stop the madness, before everyone lose their minds from expectations that was never there. Haba almost tore all my hair out. He did well, but his final decisions were poor.

uglyoneiamagain

Post by uglyoneiamagain »

Synopsis wrote:
oscar52 wrote:Lucky win. If the 2nd goal had not happen when it did, SA looked the ore likely to score. Bringing on Simon was strange when Kalu, Onyekuru, and Osimhen were there. The sub that should have been made was not Musa but Ighalo who had done almost nothing in the game. The coach dey one kine.
Who assisted Ekong's goal?
SA Goalkeeper :thumbs:

Well done to the boys.....go Super Eagles....

Any video of the game?

oscar52 wrote: Lucky win. If the 2nd goal had not happen when it did, SA looked the ore likely to score. Bringing on Simon was strange when Kalu, Onyekuru, and Osimhen were there. The sub that should have been made was not Musa but Ighalo who had done almost nothing in the game. The coach dey one kine.
Lucky win? In life all we need is LUCK. On the other hand, what will you call the SA's goal? Was it not a lucky goal?

marko wrote:I thought Musa ran the south African player ragged and cant understand why he was subbed
Yes he did a great job on the guy, but it became frustrating watching him do all the work and no end product. I was almost losing my mind watching him get to vantage position only to cross to no one... In essence he was doing nothing, the ball was ending in a less dangerous area from a dangerous position.

A coach has to do something to stop the madness, before everyone lose their minds from expectations that was never there. Haba almost tore all my hair out. He did well, but his final decisions were poor.
He's more effective when he's direct. He doesn't have to think much. One of those chances I think he could've taken a pop at goal.

That boy Collins has that 3 locked down, he looks the part, I don't want to jinx him, but I have not seen anyone I fancy on that position for about 10 years. Even with Taiwo there he did not impress me beyond his bazooka shots.

lacidi

Post by lacidi »

oscar52 wrote:Lucky win. If the 2nd goal had not happen when it did, SA looked the ore likely to score. Bringing on Simon was strange when Kalu, Onyekuru, and Osimhen were there. The sub that should have been made was not Musa but Ighalo who had done almost nothing in the game. The coach dey one kine.
Not true, we were the better team and had the better chances. Our keeper was not tested. After SA goal we came back attacking. So I don’t know where you got the idea that SA was in control.
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.
Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

How about not starting Musa on the wings..
NIGERIAN BADBOY!

elerineye wrote:
His final delivery was very poor...
His decision-making was just subpar...
But his running kept the SA defense honest all game. Kudos!

I thought the front players were not on the same wave lenghth with Musa, they should have anticipated his runs and put themselves in position to receive, yes Musa final ball was not good but there was one or 2 balls Ighalo could have got

Over the years, nigerians have been able to communicate to south africans that they are our wives. I remember Barrister Chris Green telling the South African analysts on their flagship Super Sports TV Review Show bluntly that we can take them anytime. The south african guys were aghast. Alas, however, we have proven this again and again. Maybe now that Emmanuel Amuneke is out of a job, South Africa can give him Bafana Bafana to improve them. On to the game.

Folks may like or loathe Gernot Rohr. However, on this showing in this AFCON, Rohr has got everything right and deserves full credit. Rohr's 4-2-3-1 is not everyone's cup of tea (not even mine), but playing in that hot, humid Egypt climate, Rohr is proving that 4-2-3-1 is the best formation. Rohr plays a flat back 4. He has lost confidence in Balogun and the duo of Ekong and Omeruo are not letting him and us down.

In front of them is Rohr's battleaxe. In Peter Etebo and Wilfred Ndidi, Rohr has terminators or reducers. When the opposition bears down, they struggle to get past that DM wall. That may remain the story for the rest of the AFCON.

On the wings, Rohr now finally believes in Chukwueze. Each time Chukwueze has the ball, there is a roar of expectation. I just hope this boy lands in the EPL under the wings of Guardiola or Jurgen Klopp and he will be more influential than Arjen Robben was. Musa beats his markers easily, but the problem is Ighalo is not on the same plane. English strikers Alan Shearer, Harry Kane and Gary Lineker will love Musa because english forwards like rushing in the box to get at the end of crosses like Musa's to score. Finally, Alex Iwobi is still trying to work out his role. Does he drop deep to support Ndidi and Etebo or does he stick close to Ighalo?

All in all, Gernot Rohr has a good SE team. he has proved that by reaching the last 4 of AFCON. Those who don't like need to shine their eyes very well. This team is strong and has a depth to it. Yes, we stopped playing against South Africa in the 2nd half and they equalised but how did we react? We went down the other end and scored.

In EPL, the kind of song they will have for South Africa is:

We score when we want
We score when we waaaaaaaant!
Suuuper Eaglees
We score when we want
Last edited by Goldleaf on Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Awaziem really played well too.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
achuzia-the-air-raid

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).

elerineye wrote:
His final delivery was very poor...
His decision-making was just subpar...
But his running kept the SA defense honest all game. Kudos!
kpom. The SA defense was exhausted from chasing him all over the pitch. It was a thang of beaut! :lol:

Schillachi wrote:

Don't get too caught up on positions. Look at the role too. He does play close to Ighalo sometimes...

His delivery is far too inconsistent. BUT...

There is also not enough effort on the other side of the ball to get up there for his delivery...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Coulda, woulda, shoulda... :lol:
We go to the semis, SA goes home.

Goldleaf wrote:Over the years, nigerians have been able to communicate to south africans that they are our wives. I remember Barrister Chris Green telling the South African analysts on their flagship Super Sports TV Review Show bluntly that we can take them anytime. The south african guys were aghast. Alas, however, we have proven this again and again. Maybe now that Emmanuel Amuneke is out of a job, South Africa can give him Bafana Bafana to improve them. On to the game.

Folks may like or loathe Gernot Rohr. However, on this showing in this AFCON, Rohr has got everything right and deserves full credit. Rohr's 4-2-3-1 is not everyone's cup of tea (not even mine), but playing in that hot, humid Egypt climate, Rohr is proving that 4-2-3-1 is the best formation. Rohr plays a flat back 4. He has lost confidence in Balogun and the duo of Ekong and Omeruo are not letting him and us down.

In front of them is Rohr's battleaxe. In Peter Etebo and Wilfred Ndidi, Rohr has terminators or reducers. When the opposition bears down, they struggle to get past that DM wall. That may remain the story for the rest of the AFCON.

On the wings, Rohr now finally believes in Chukwueze. Each time Chukwueze has the ball, there is a roar of expectation. I just hope this boy lands in the EPL under the wings of Guardiola or Jurgen Klopp and he will be more influential than Arjen Robben was. Musa beats his markers easily, but the problem is Ighalo is not on the same plane. English strikers Alan Shearer, Harry Kane and Gary Lineker will love Musa because english forwards like rushing in the box to get at the end of crosses like Musa's to score. Finally, Alex Iwobi is still trying to work out his role. Does he drop deep to support Ndidi and Etebo or does he stick close to Ighalo?

All in all, Gernot Rohr has a good SE team. he has proved that by reaching the last 4 of AFCON. Those who don't like need to shine their eyes very well. This team is strong and has a depth to it. Yes, we stopped playing against South Africa in the 2nd half and they equalised but how did we react? We went down the other end and scored.

In EPL, the kind of song they will have for South Africa is:

We score when we want
We score when we waaaaaaaant!
Suuuper Eaglees
We score when we want

Schillachi wrote:

I don't want to lay to Musa because of the respect I have for him. But if he was intelligent he would be scoring tonnes of goals from that very position. He tried not to be selfish and that was his undoing. Henry was striking from the wings. Left footers playing on the right cut in to shoot, what stops a right footer playing from the left doing the same. Is Sallah a winger, is Henry a winger? When scored against Iceland he came in from the wings. Someone mentioned he should remember how he scored against Argentina, he came in from the same left.

Musa should sit down and watch his own games.

Chriskendo43

Post by Chriskendo43 »

Musa played very well today apart from the poor crossing thanks eagle for making us proud today