The SE has conceded the most goals in our AFCON group

let this sink in

Pos Teamvte Pld W D L GF GA GD Pts Qualification
1 Nigeria 4 2 2 0 10 7 +3 8 Qualify for final tournament — 2–1 4–4 30 Mar
2 Benin 4 2 1 1 3 2 +1 7 27 Mar — 1–0 1–0
3 Sierra Leone 4 0 3 1 5 6 −1 3 0–0 30 Mar — 1–1
4 Lesotho 4 0 2 2 3 6 −3 2 2–4 0–0 27 Mar —
Updated to match(es) played on 17 November 2020. Source: CAF

Re: The SE has conceded the most goals in our AFCON group

Bigpokey24 wrote:let this sink in

It is very bad we have conceded 7 goals against useless and poor teams like Benin, SL and Lesotho! Shows how weak our defense is!

We have no midfield

I'm sure there're other teams with good midfields for you people to support. Algeria, Cameroon, Egypt and Morocco all have world class midfields and need your support. :roll:

Very embarrassing

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:I'm sure there're other teams with good midfields for you people to support. Algeria, Cameroon, Egypt and Morocco all have world class midfields and need your support. :roll:
You can go and support those countries where fans never criticise their teams. It is very concerning that we have conceded 7 goals in our group.
muzines

Post by muzines »

We qualified with 2 games to spare. Let that sink in...
Liberalism is a mental disorder.
Conservative: a liberal who has been mugged by reality.

And we've scored 11 goals. I would say let that sink it, but that would be wasting my time.

muzines wrote:

Vs the almighty Benin, Lesotho and Salone. The likes of Tunisia, Algeria, Senegal all qualified with 3 games to spare....let that sink in

muzines

Post by muzines »

muzines wrote:

Vs the almighty Benin, Lesotho and Salone. The likes of Tunisia, Algeria, Senegal all qualified with 3 games to spare....let that sink in
The goal was to qualify and we did, with 2 games to spare. All the whining in the world won’t change that.
Liberalism is a mental disorder.
Conservative: a liberal who has been mugged by reality.

muzines wrote:

The goal was to qualify and we did, with 2 games to spare. All the whining in the world won’t change that.
Muguness is back! :thumbs:
The zoom meeting meeting has exposed bigporker as an empty barrel with little between the ears. Don't waste time on him. :laugh:

Benin hasn't lost a home match since 2013.

Even champs Algeria failed to beat them on the road.

We beat them having nothing to play for with Benin having EVERYTHING to play for.

Most of the teams who qualified before this match days game didn't win.

Senegal, Algeria, Mali, Morocco all either tied or lost.

2 games on the road in a row with 2 shut outs.

We played well today and should have scored more.

We have a very solid foundation which needs to be built upon. Destroyimg this foundation which Porkey and others are advocating would be utter stupidity.

And we've scored 11 goals. I would say let that sink it, but that would be wasting my time.

When we don't score goals or play attacking football they complain we are too conservative.

When we attack and score more goals and as a result concede more, they complain we are leaking goals.

I mean what the hell, you can't have your cake and eat it too.

vancity eagle wrote:Benin hasn't lost a home match since 2013.

We beat them having nothing to play for with Benin having EVERYTHING to play for.

We have a very solid foundation which needs to be built upon. Destroyimg this foundation which Porkey and others are advocating would be utter stupidity.
Add ademola Lookman, Ejaria, Olise to this team and we're good to go!

For you it is one extreme or the other. I am not asking for Rohr to go but a new manager does not necessarily destroy any foundation of the old manager. There was an SE before Rohr and there will be one after him.

I have no issues with any of the players that played. I also agree that we dominated possession and looked netter at the back. But we still looked very disjointed anytime we had not make any purposeful forward movement. This should not be the case even if the team is not at 100%.

And some of us will never get tired of saying it...many of you did not give Amodu this latitude because he is a black man.

aruako1 wrote:And some of us will never get tired of saying it...many of you did not give Amodu this latitude because he is a black man.
Aruako1, I'm sorry but this is a too-often repeated guilt-tripping line that simply isn't true.

Amodu was wrongly sacked when and how he was, and the majority disagreed with it. Those that agreed with it did so not because there was some white man lurking in the shadows. Lest we forget, Amodu was regularly attacked by his critics for the very same reasons Rohr is being criticised TODAY:

"Oh, he doesn't play the natural Nigerian attacking game".
"Abeg, he is tactically inept".
"The man is too defence-minded".
"Oh please, his team doesn't score enough goals"....
blablabah. :idea:

Amodu achieved his given targets but was sacked anyway.
We are supposed to have learnt from those mistakes and the injustice of those decisions are well recognised today.

So it is not "because he was a black man" that he was sacked and it is not "because Rohr is a white man" that he is being retained. But people love to bring up that false narrative to win a weak argument with emotional blackmail.

There was a fundamental flaw in our management decisions back then and now the penny has dropped we now realise that they were completely counterproductive. 20 NT coaches in 20 years, probably a world record. :rotf:

They can call us whatever they like - 'WOWO' being the most popular :lol: :lol: :lol: - but no, we can not defer to those speaking from both sides of the mouth. They lament the pathetic sacking of Amodu (and attempted sacking of Keshi mid-tournament) and then turn around advocating for the exact same treatment to be meted out to Rohr on the same basis.

You can't have it both ways. :idea:

When we don't score goals or play attacking football they complain we are too conservative.

When we attack and score more goals and as a result concede more, they complain we are leaking goals.

I mean what the hell, you can't have your cake and eat it too.

This has nothing to do with playing attacking or defensive football. We should not be conceding goals left, right and center. Thankfully we've kept two consecutive clean sheets, but the defending that I saw yesterday against Benin did not fill me with confidence. We've got a lot of work to do in this area and that is the truth.

aruako1 wrote:And some of us will never get tired of saying it...many of you did not give Amodu this latitude because he is a black man.
Aruako1, I'm sorry but this is a too-often repeated guilt-tripping line that simply isn't true.

Amodu was wrongly sacked when and how he was, and the majority disagreed with it. Those that agreed with it did so not because there was some white man lurking in the shadows. Lest we forget, Amodu was regularly attacked by his critics for the very same reasons Rohr is being criticised TODAY:

We are supposed to have learnt from those mistakes and the injustice of those decisions are well recognised today.

So it is not "because he was a black man" that he was sacked and it is not "because Rohr is a white man" that he is being retained. But people love to bring up that false narrative to win a weak argument with emotional blackmail.

There was a fundamental flaw in our management decisions back then and now the penny has dropped we now realise that they were completely counterproductive. 20 NT coaches in 20 years, probably a world record. :rotf:

They can call us whatever they like - 'WOWO' being the most popular :lol: :lol: :lol: - but no, we can not defer to those speaking from both sides of the mouth. They lament the pathetic sacking of Amodu (and attempted sacking of Keshi mid-tournament) and then turn around advocating for the exact same treatment to be meted out to Rohr on the same basis.

We can skirt around the fact as much as we can but I did not make this accusation lightly. Black (local) coaches are judged more harshly than expats in Nigeria. Amodu was sacked after qualifying for the World Cup and finishing third at the ANC TWICE. Was Rohr sacked for the same thing?

I have stated several times that I do not want Rohr sacked. He should go to the 2022 ANC and we can judge him on that tournament. It does not mean that we cannot point out that he would have been sacked long ago if he was black. Before anyone mentions Keshi, he won the ANC.

And the comparison between the criticism of Amodu and Rohr is flawed. How many years had Amodu been the coach before he was vilified left, right and centre. I would not have criticised Rohr for the display against Benin if he was in year 1 of his project. We have had him over 4 years now and the performances have not been convincing, especiallyin the last year or so.

Still, I want to see him do well. Let us see how we do against Lesotho.

Kpom Kwem!

aruako1 wrote:

We can skirt around the fact as much as we can but I did not make this accusation lightly. Black (local) coaches are judged more harshly than expats in Nigeria. Amodu was sacked after qualifying for the World Cup and finishing third at the ANC TWICE. Was Rohr sacked for the same thing?

I have stated several times that I do not want Rohr sacked. He should go to the 2022 ANC and we can judge him on that tournament. It does not mean that we cannot point out that he would have been sacked long ago if he was black. Before anyone mentions Keshi, he won the ANC.

And the comparison between the criticism of Amodu and Rohr is flawed. How many years had Amodu been the coach before he was vilified left, right and centre. I would not have criticised Rohr for the display against Benin if he was in year 1 of his project. We have had him over 4 years now and the performances have not been convincing, especiallyin the last year or so.

So would that be the right thing to do?
I guess you'll agree the answer is no.

The fact that we made stupid decisions in the past is no reason to repeat those decisions in the name of 'fairness' or even some bizarre notion of 'racial justice'. That's just laughable.

Meanwhile you are simply speculating that if we had a Nigerian with these same results today, we'd have sacked him by now. The only real point you make by stating this is the stupidity of Nigerians and its NFF.

Anyway I've begun to realise there's a whole load of opinion out there that doesn't exactly mirror the CE sentiment. We are a small and closed community in the general scheme of things and this place with its echo can sometimes make you feel you are in touch with the generality of public opinion.

On EN as well as RnR, the loudest can often distort reality.

Oyibo or not, you get what you pay for and if we want a world class coach, we all know what we need to do. If other top footballing nations had the Nigerian mindset, I doubt they'd be where they are today. And certainly Germany's Joachim Löw would have been sacked a long, long time ago, regardless of his huge successes achieved after a lengthy period of relative modest achievements.

aruako1 wrote:

So would that be the right thing to do?
I guess you'll agree the answer is no.

The fact that we made stupid decisions in the past is no reason to repeat those decisions in the name of 'fairness' or even some bizarre notion of 'racial justice'. That's just laughable.

Meanwhile you are simply speculating that if we had a Nigerian with these same results today, we'd have sacked him by now. The only real point you make by stating this is the stupidity of Nigerians and its NFF.

Anyway I've begun to realise there's a whole load of opinion out there that doesn't exactly mirror the CE sentiment. We are a small and closed community in the general scheme of things and this place with its echo can sometimes make you feel you are in touch with the generality of public opinion.

On EN as well as RnR, the loudest can often distort reality.

Oyibo or not, you get what you pay for and if we want a world class coach, we all know what we need to do.
My position is not that of a baying mob. If I trusted the NFF to replace him efficiently with a decent candidate, I would support his removal. I don't...hence I am hoping that some of our voices will filter through and make him rethink his methods. I know that he is capable of making the team play well. I watched highlights of the 4-0 spanking of Cameroon over and over yesterday with a big smile on my face. Those were not 1994 players...arguably the 23 he called up now is even more talented.

If Rohr makes his teams play with that spirit and energy I'll be happy. It doesn't take much to make me happy.

This is the reason it´s always not logical having a conversation with Rohr(bots).

We were told Rohr has built or is building a strong defensive structure. Evidence on ground do not support this fact.

Rather than argue with facts, they start to derail the thread.

aruako1 wrote:My position is not that of a baying mob. If I trusted the NFF to replace him efficiently with a decent candidate, I would support his removal. I don't...hence I am hoping that some of our voices will filter through and make him rethink his methods. I know that he is capable of making the team play well. I watched highlights of the 4-0 spanking of Cameroon over and over yesterday with a big smile on my face. Those were not 1994 players...arguably the 23 he called up now is even more talented.

If Rohr makes his teams play with that spirit and energy I'll be happy. It doesn't take much to make me happy.
Same here. I dream of those days when we were said to "attack like a swarm of bees".
But maybe that doesn't work in today's football.
Or maybe it takes a tactical genius to make it work in today's game. The game has changed since those halcyon days.
But let us not allow nostalgia to give us a selective recollection.

Remember when we were routinely described as "naive"?
It pi$$ed me off to no end but tbh, there might have been a genuine basis for at least some of those observations. We were knocked out in 94 (v Italy) and '98 (v Denmark) for reasons that can be so described.

Attack with speed and venom, but watch your back.
Maybe that is what the modern game has on lockdown right now and you have to have the right tools to pull it off.

Personally I believe our central defence is our weakest link.