Mexico vs Nigeria (4-0) FT

Re: NIGERIA SELECT 0 MEX 2

Not even one single shot on and away from goal. The goal keeper needs to cool down and stop giving the ball to the opponents.

Thank God I didn't drive to LA to watch this game. I would have hidden my face in shame in the midst of those Mexican fans

Damunk wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:57 am
kawawa wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:51 am Well we stemmed the leak. Had two good chances which Iwuala blew. Not a bad score for 45 min. I expected worse. Boys are trying and that is admirable
:thumb:
Stage fright.
It happens.
At this level? The whole team?
What I am witnessing is either the team is not well coached, or they can't follow instructions.
T

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:56 am
maceo4 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:54 am
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:51 am
maceo4 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:50 am ****'s teams have never been good at defending set pieces, this one is no different.
When has Nigeria, or even African teams in general EVER been good at defending set pieces ?
So you agree....great, now can **** please work on this his weakness? He's been there how many years now? Or our players don't have the mental capacity or ability to understand how to defend set pieces?
I recall SE under Rohr shutting out Iceland who were known for their aerial and set piece prowess. Did you forget ?
Sure, lets forget the immediate prior game where they gave up 2 goals on set pieces...anyways he needs to work on it when he gets some free time...

okidoki wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:44 am One thing you notice with our players is the lack of awareness.
They need the exposure which is the whole point of this game.
It’s Nigerian fans that can’t handle the heat. :idea:

olu wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:57 am Don't think the second goal shouldn't have stood. Tecatito, the Porto player controlled the ball with his hand before passing the ball into the box. May have been offside as well.

It's been all Mexico in the first half. Hopefully the nerves of our boys will settle down in the second half. Don't think any of them have ever played in front of such a large crowd. Hope they can actually play out of the back and keep possession.
Yea, no VAR sha...the boys need to relax Iwuala esp its like his blood is hot and he's over trying and spending time fighting with the bald headed Mexican player...
Re: Mexico vs Nigeria (2-0)

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:59 am
Flex Swift wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:56 am Rubbish!!! This has to the worst set of players ever to wear the GWG. No clue how to play …. Just playing Long balls to nobody and no pressing when not in procession …..nobody marking when Mexico attack. The score line flatters the Home based team
But **** is the technical adviser to all national teams. What is he doing on the bench? Saw him at kickoff, since then he picked race
Don't worry he will be playing in the second half.

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:00 am
maceo4 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:50 am ****'s teams have never been good at defending set pieces, this one is no different.
When has Nigeria, or even African teams in general EVER been good at defending set pieces ?
So you agree....great, now can **** please work on this his weakness? He's been there how many years now? Or our players don't have the mental capacity or ability to understand how to defend set pieces?
I recall SE under Rohr shutting out Iceland who were known for their aerial and set piece prowess. Did you forget ?
Sure, lets forget the immediate prior game where they gave up 2 goals on set pieces...anyways he needs to work on it when he gets some free time...
Yes, let’s forget selectively…like you have forgotten the backstory to THIS game and THIS squad. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Damunk wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:02 am
okidoki wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:44 am One thing you notice with our players is the lack of awareness.
Chief, I disagree small. Some of our players are not checking over their shoulders and just turning into pressure..
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Training evaluation needs to be conducted by the NFF because from that first half I don’t believe this team has been practicing.

olu wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:57 am Don't think the second goal shouldn't have stood. Tecatito, the Porto player controlled the ball with his hand before passing the ball into the box. May have been offside as well.

It's been all Mexico in the first half. Hopefully the nerves of our boys will settle down in the second half. Don't think any of them have ever played in front of such a large crowd. Hope they can actually play out of the back and keep possession.

It was a legit goal.

Those were not exactly good chances. He was well marked and barley got the chance to get both shots off. He slipped on the second chance.
kawawa wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:51 am Well we stemmed the leak. Had two good chances which Iwuala blew. Not a bad score for 45 min. I expected worse. Boys are trying and that is admirable

Damunk wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:05 am
maceo4 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:00 am
Yes, let’s forget selectively…like you have forgotten the backstory to THIS game and THIS squad. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Unku, welcome! This **** team no be am at all o! Abi?

okidoki wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:48 am
txj wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:44 am
okidoki wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:38 am The funny thing is some of these our players will end up having more successful individual careers than the Mexicans.
Based on what?

I wish the boys luck though...
On history. We simply produce more successful European based players.
They don't need to go to Europe to be successful.

And right now, they have more high profile players in Europe than we do

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

The team have absolutely no midfield ….. second half about start no sure I should watch anymore of the rubbish

juventuss wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:05 am
Chief, I disagree small. Some of our players are not checking over their shoulders and just turning into pressure..
Thats why they need the exposure - playing against high quality opposition.
These are the best we have in the NPFL, right? ‘Local champions’ all.
If they have poor awareness, it’s because it hasn’t been exposed in the league they play in.
Simples.

juventuss wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:05 am
I also disagree. Some of these players don't deserve the exposure.

Did their goalie even touch the ball in the first half?

Damunk wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:57 am
:thumb:
Stage fright.
It happens.
Stage fright assumes that they not what to do, just scared to do it.

Nice try....

These boys are lacking proper fundamental training on the modern team game.

Just watch the 1st goal again...and then the two missed headers by Herrera

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

See one touch football from Mexico

Great save by our goalie

green4life wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:14 am Great save by our goalie
Follows it up with poor decision making on the corner came out and missed everything caught in no mans land lol

That number 3 for Nigeria should be flogged