NIGERIA 1 VS GHANA 1 - ABUJA game thread

Re: NIGERIA 1 VS GHANA 1 - ABUJA game thread

Hopefully we get the win. That's all that matters now...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Onyeka is the one playing behind the striker, not Aribo.
Why Eguavoen decided to line them up that way is beyond me.
He needs to switch the roles Onyeka and Aribo are playing and have Aribo play more forward.
He is a better passer of the ball, IMO, in comparison to Onyeka.
oscar52 wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:56 pm
Siddonlook11 wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:51 pm Aribo is not a 10 ..lookman should have played 10 and Simon played.
Rested one of Etebo/Onyedika and played the other with Aribo.

Simon would also give Bassey cover because bassey NEEDS that cover lookman i snot helping him at all.
Aribo is not a better option to Etebo or Onyeka. He should been a sub, Egouvoen is too shy of making wholesome changes.

Pile on the pressure and we will score

olu wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 7:00 pm We are playing ok. We just need to move the ball quicker in the final third and the wingers need to look for the overlapping runs of the full backs. Also, less long balls. Aribo may need to drop a little deep to pick up the ball if he's not seeing enough of it. Personally, I don't think Aribo has been bad.
He has been ok

100%Naija wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:58 pm
txj wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:57 pm
Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:56 pm I want to see better play from Etebo, Bassey, Aribo. I want Dennis to cut down on the showboating.

We need to be more business-like.

Mehn, just STFU!!!!
We are still doing all this? na wa for una
Na you way get time for am.

Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 7:00 pm
Lolly wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:58 pm
Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:55 pm 45 more minutes to decide our fate.

Uzoho flopped that grounder. Didn't get down quick enough.
And that has always been my issue with him.

I have watched them train a few times over the years and Ezenwa always looked better and sharper in training. Uzoho looks so casual and lazy in training, that I often wondered why Rohr preferred him.

But it’s just another slip up by a goalkeeper. It happens. Hopefully he recovers from the shock in time for the 2nd half.
Thank you!

I don't know why folks think pointing out an obvious individual error is an indictment on the individual.

Thankfully, we have a whole half of football left.

We might still need him to pull out a save or two to help us through.
Say what? :rotf: Where was this energy after Okoye and his mistake? The Tunisia game thread and numerous posts for several weeks after the nations cup are only a few pages away oh....

Cito wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:56 pm Second half go be fire. Ghana has no reason to come out of their shell now....

who do we have that can break that kind of shell....
Baba God! Pinned told us to pray already. Get your Bible out.

Lookman is lowkey having a very good game, but i see he will not solve our set piece problems.

Odas wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:58 pm
metalalloy wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:53 pm This uzoho.. smh.. thats all i will say.
Just say we have no goalkeepers, that's all. Our keepers are becoming liabilities to us these days
Simple and short. Which is why it was beyond absurd reading all the abuse that Okoye received after a few weeks ago. Anyway, make we focus on this game. We need to win first before we debate wth we do moving forward.

People are really freaking out on here! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

airwolex wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 7:05 pm Lookman is lowkey having a very good game, but i see he will not solve our set piece problems.
Not lowkey, he is having a very good game! :clap:

Silver-Shadow

Post by Silver-Shadow »

At HT stage, which score would you rather have preferred? 1-1 or 0-0?
No Escape

metalalloy wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 7:03 pm
Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 7:00 pm
Lolly wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:58 pm
Cellular wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:55 pm 45 more minutes to decide our fate.

Uzoho flopped that grounder. Didn't get down quick enough.
And that has always been my issue with him.

I have watched them train a few times over the years and Ezenwa always looked better and sharper in training. Uzoho looks so casual and lazy in training, that I often wondered why Rohr preferred him.

But it’s just another slip up by a goalkeeper. It happens. Hopefully he recovers from the shock in time for the 2nd half.
Thank you!

I don't know why folks think pointing out an obvious individual error is an indictment on the individual.

Thankfully, we have a whole half of football left.

We might still need him to pull out a save or two to help us through.
Say what? :rotf: Where was this energy after Okoye and his mistake? The Tunisia game thread and numerous posts for several weeks after the nations cup are only a few pages away oh....
Bros, you can quote me on any Okoye related post.

Uzoho is still better than Okoye at this point.
I have maintained that the goal that Tunisia scored was a Keeper error same as this one.

You should go find folks looking for other people to blame than the Keeper that let in a catchable ball.

Good thing is we have Kele and Simon loaded just in case.
SylverEagles

Post by SylverEagles »

Well I knew we were in trouble when I read this earlier... :sneaky: :sneaky: :sneaky:
Robbynice wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 3:22 pm
deanotito wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 3:05 pm Uzoho; Aina, Bassey, Troost-Ekong, Balogun; Etebo, Onyeka, Aribo; Lookman, Dennis, Osimhen

I am beside myself. God help us. I pray
This is a shock and awe lineup. I love it. Ghana no go know wetin hit them today. Let's go Super Eagles of Nigeria! :clap:
blueangel

Post by blueangel »

This Situation we are in
Is What Champions are made off.
We Will Be Champions Today.

1. Stop fouling the players. Keep the pressure on them and they’ll hand u ball. We don’t need to foul

2. Use Bassey and Lookman more. That’s our most effective attacking area.

3. Onyeka needs to stop the diagonal runs when the ball comes to Aina. It’s not working. Stay central and let’s build from there.

4. We are playing ok. We need the second goal early and d crowd needs to get into it. We need the crowd more than ever!!!
ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

Sadiq Umar has to play.

Otitokoro wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 7:02 pm Onyeka is the one playing behind the striker, not Aribo.
He needs to switch the roles Onyeka and Aribo are playing and have Aribo play more forward.
Siddonlook11 wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:51 pm Aribo is not a 10 ..lookman should have played 10 and Simon played.

Simon would also give Bassey cover because bassey NEEDS that cover lookman i snot helping him at all.
Aribo is not a better option to Etebo or Onyeka. He should been a sub, Egouvoen is too shy of making wholesome changes.
Are you sure? Isnt onyeka in the No 4 jersey? he seemed to be playing next to Etebo, behind Aribo.

Silver-Shadow wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 7:06 pm At HT stage, which score would you rather have preferred? 1-1 or 0-0?
0-0

The score now is 2-1 to Ghana. We are chasing the game.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

maceo4 wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:58 pm
Enyi wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:57 pm
maceo4 wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 6:54 pm Uzoho just dey fall hand, can we try the sub, our goalie situation is not set at all we need to be trying out Osigwe and wooing Okonwo haba…
Everyone makes mistake even the best….

Okonowo was so awful in the friendly he played, he had to rested the next game…

Aribo need to grow into the game or bring on Sadiq ( chias factor)
I meant Okonkwo the Arsenal kid…
I think Arsenal have two Naija-Brit GKs. Okonkwo looks promising.

I have to drive home now. Damnitttt. Naija please...i never ask anything of you...please this once, just win this game ..if you have to employ ojoro sooting stars at home tactics, i support it.

Otitokoro wrote: Tue Mar 29, 2022 7:02 pm Onyeka is the one playing behind the striker, not Aribo.

Actually, both Onyeka and Aribo are playing high upfield while Etebo sits back.