Team List for Saudi friendly (NO MUSA!!!!!)

Re: Team List for Saudi friendly (NO MUSA!!!!!)

Babalawo wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 12:59 am ………………. Osimhen…………Boniface…………………

….Lookman…………………………………….Iheanacho………

………………………….Iwobi……

………………………………,……..Ndidi…………………………….

……..Aina…….Bassey……..TourinGh…………Ajayi…….

…………………………….Uzoho…………………………………….
Are u trying to sabotage Ndidi health with donkey work?

blueangel wrote: Mon Oct 02, 2023 9:58 pm Tyronne Ebuehi ?
The infatuation continues on CE.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Oct 02, 2023 4:10 pm Aina and Bassey are supposedly injured.
Aina, Bassey and Ajayi are CURRENTLY injured…
Even if slight, would have left them out of these friendlies.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 3:18 am
Frankly, would have him over the rusty average Collins…
Aina could play at LB/RB, while Ebuehi backs up Osayi-Bright.

Good squad.

Two things that interest me:

1. Pairing Osimhen and Boniface in attack.

2. The continued maturation of Bassey at Centreback.

Also,

Congrats to Fisayo Dele Bashiru on his maiden call-up to the Super Eagles.

Gotti wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 3:35 am
Enugu II wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 3:18 am
Frankly, would have him over the rusty average Collins…
Aina could play at LB/RB, while Ebuehi backs up Osayi-Bright.
Ebuehi is a baller. He is injury prone but has stayed relatively healthy lately.

Bassey was on the bench and in the match squad against Chelsea today.
Gotti wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 3:32 am
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Oct 02, 2023 4:10 pm Aina and Bassey are supposedly injured.
Aina, Bassey and Ajayi are CURRENTLY injured…
Even if slight, would have left them out of these friendlies.

mystic wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 4:46 am Good squad.

Two things that interest me:

1. Pairing Osimhen and Boniface in attack.

2. The continued maturation of Bassey at Centreback.

Also,

Congrats to Fisayo Dele Bashiru on his maiden call-up to the Super Eagles.
We’re still waiting for the depth chart you promised 5yrs ago. :roll:
Sheikh

Post by Sheikh »

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Oct 02, 2023 7:27 pm
Sheikh wrote: Mon Oct 02, 2023 7:14 pm
maceo4 wrote: Mon Oct 02, 2023 6:38 pm So we play KSA on 13th and Mozambique on the 16th! :clap:

https://www.instagram.com/p/Cx50eF3siHa ... BiNWFlZA==
Remove Omeruo (tried and past it), Aribo (not in form) and Bashiru (no basis and has not played at any quality level yet). Replace respectively with Ogbu (Slavia Prague in form), Matthew (FC Zurich in form) and Orban (he was red carded; he is not injured) and you have a more complete team.
Yeah Ogbu is due for a call up but I can understand why Omeruo was called up, experience and the fact that he's still playing active football are fair considerations, you want some experience to lead that backline especially with the omission of Ekong...but we're gradually seeing a pattern of Peseiro slowly phasing out the old heads from the team so Ogbu will get his chance soon.

Fisayo Dele Bashiru is highly rated in Turkey, he's just 22 and a perfect understudy for Iwobi, it's left for him to take his chance. The likes of Ifeanyi Matthew etc aren't competing for the same position as Fisayo who is a natural CAM, I can agree that Aribo should be dropped for Ifeanyi Matthew- even though it can be understood why Peseiro is trying to maintain the core of his players for sake of chemistry with AFCON already too close to start experimenting with a variable of new players.

Orhan came off the bench in their last game, still needs time to find his form but he's part of the team project, and we both know he ain't displacing a more established Moffi who took his spot back.
There is so much unsupported hype and lobbying about Bashiru. Very interesting; but it is not driven by football merit. He started at youth level at Man City, and then moved to play in the EFL League (equivalent to the 3rd division for just over 2 seasons). He then moved to the Turkish league where has so far played only 7 games this season for Hatayspor (there are really 3 Turkish clubs of any quality - Galatasaray, Fernerbache where Osayi plays, and Besiktas). He is 22. The UK scouting system is so comprehensive that if he was as good as the noise being made then he would have been picked up by a quality club long ago. If we were stretching for a midfielder of just above average quality (because we are lacking in that area) then Tella and Akpom will be far ahead of him.
Sheikh

Post by Sheikh »

maceo4 wrote: Mon Oct 02, 2023 6:38 pm So we play KSA on 13th and Mozambique on the 16th! :clap:

Remove Omeruo (tried and past it), Aribo (not in form) and Bashiru (no basis and has not played at any quality level yet). Replace respectively with Ogbu (Slavia Prague in form), Matthew (FC Zurich in form) and Orban (he was red carded; he is not injured) and you have a more complete team.
Yeah Ogbu is due for a call up but I can understand why Omeruo was called up, experience and the fact that he's still playing active football are fair considerations, you want some experience to lead that backline especially with the omission of Ekong...but we're gradually seeing a pattern of Peseiro slowly phasing out the old heads from the team so Ogbu will get his chance soon.

Fisayo Dele Bashiru is highly rated in Turkey, he's just 22 and a perfect understudy for Iwobi, it's left for him to take his chance. The likes of Ifeanyi Matthew etc aren't competing for the same position as Fisayo who is a natural CAM, I can agree that Aribo should be dropped for Ifeanyi Matthew- even though it can be understood why Peseiro is trying to maintain the core of his players for sake of chemistry with AFCON already too close to start experimenting with a variable of new players.

Orhan came off the bench in their last game, still needs time to find his form but he's part of the team project, and we both know he ain't displacing a more established Moffi who took his spot back.
There is currently much unsupported hype and lobbying about Bashiru. Very interesting; but it is not driven by football merit. He started at youth level at Man City, and then moved to play in the EFL League (equivalent to the 3rd division for just over 2 seasons). He then moved to the Turkish league where has so far played only 7 games this season for Hatayspor (there are really 3 Turkish clubs of any quality - Galatasaray, Fernerbache where Osayi plays, and Besiktas). He is 22. The UK scouting system is so comprehensive that if he was as good as the noise being made then he would have been picked up by a quality club long ago. If we were stretching for a midfielder of just above average quality (because we are lacking in that area) then Tella and Akpom will be far ahead of him.

Sheikh wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 7:06 am

There is so much unsupported hype and lobbying about Bashiru. Very interesting; but it is not driven by football merit. He started at youth level at Man City, and then moved to play in the EFL League (equivalent to the 3rd division for just over 2 seasons). He then moved to the Turkish league where has so far played only 7 games this season for Hatayspor (there are really 3 Turkish clubs of any quality - Galatasaray, Fernerbache where Osayi plays, and Besiktas). He is 22. The UK scouting system is so comprehensive that if he was as good as the noise being made then he would have been picked up by a quality club long ago. If we were stretching for a midfielder of just above average quality (because we are lacking in that area) then Tella and Akpom will be far ahead of him.
I was of the same opinion though I haven’t watch him play a full game, the scouting reports and highlights I’ve seen confirms that the boy is legit. He’s a box to box AM with an eye for goal. The fact that Pesseiro called him at the first opportunity confirms his quality.
onovo

Post by onovo »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 1:54 am
onovo wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 1:24 am

………………………….Iwobi……

The boy is useless :boo:
You don pay for copyright? Abeg, mek we settle before you start using that word. Na me own the word useless on CE. :thumb:
Abeg send me your account number :thumbs:
Sheikh

Post by Sheikh »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 7:14 am

I was of the same opinion though I haven’t watch him play a full game, the scouting reports and highlights I’ve seen confirms that the boy is legit. He’s a box to box AM with an eye for goal. The fact that Pesseiro called him at the first opportunity confirms his quality.
What scouting reports? Don't be fooled. It is part of the hype that Peseiro has apparently fallen for. It is not based on football. Granted we are desperate for an attacking AM. But the AM concept that we seem obsessed with (forward attacking dribbler/playmaker that easily splits defenses as per Okocha) has since gone. How many modern day top teams have or need such players? The high press of more modern football now demands supporting strikers to be more defensive and all round midfielders that can play box to box). France for example does not have such players; the responsibilities for play making rests on Griezman, Mbappe and Tchouameni - the central/defensive midfielders). Neither Man City nor Liverpool use such players. All of their midfield playmakers are very aggresive ball winners too. The traditional AM as was known has become an unwanted luxury and has long since been phased out. I daresay even Iwobi has not cut it to the top levels that were expected of him, because he is considered not aggressive and defensive enough. For SE, we need 3 solid all-rounders to complement Osimhen, Boniface, and either of Orban/Moffi at the moment. The top 3 I can think of are Ndidi, Onyedika and Iwobi. In reserve would be Matthew, Onyeka and Tella. The quality of these reserves is not great, but so it is. We should be looking to have Orban, Moses, Chukwueze, Lookman and Iheanacho to also become stronger ball winners when playing for SE if we are to compete at the very top of the game. Those unable to do so should not be in the team.
The Observer

Post by The Observer »

The following is a quote from Football League World in the summer on Fisayo:

"Sky Sports claimed in January that Italian giants AC Milan, PSV, Besiktas and Antalyaspor were all keen on Dele-Bashiru, as well as a number of unnamed Premier League and Championship clubs, while Bristol City have previously been linked"

That said, I considered Fisayo's brother at Watford, Tom Dele-Bashiru, to be a stronger prospect.
Every soul shall taste of death. And you shall be paid on the Day of Resurrection only that which you have fairly earned. Whoever is removed from the fire of Hell and is made to enter the Garden, he indeed is successful. The life of this world is nothing but the comfort of illusion – Quran 3: 185
The Observer

Post by The Observer »

The following is a quote from Football League World in the summer on Fisayo:

"Sky Sports claimed in January that Italian giants AC Milan, PSV, Besiktas and Antalyaspor were all keen on Dele-Bashiru, as well as a number of unnamed Premier League and Championship clubs, while Bristol City have previously been linked"

That said, I considered Fisayo's brother at Watford, Tom Dele-Bashiru, to be a stronger prospect.
Every soul shall taste of death. And you shall be paid on the Day of Resurrection only that which you have fairly earned. Whoever is removed from the fire of Hell and is made to enter the Garden, he indeed is successful. The life of this world is nothing but the comfort of illusion – Quran 3: 185

Sheikh wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 8:07 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 7:14 am

What scouting reports? Don't be fooled. It is part of the hype that Peseiro has apparently fallen for. It is not based on football. Granted we are desperate for an attacking AM. But the AM concept that we seem obsessed with (forward attacking dribbler/playmaker that easily splits defenses as per Okocha) has since gone. How many modern day top teams have or need such players? The high press of more modern football now demands supporting strikers to be more defensive and all round midfielders that can play box to box). France for example does not have such players; the responsibilities for play making rests on Griezman, Mbappe and Tchouameni - the central/defensive midfielders). Neither Man City nor Liverpool use such players. All of their midfield playmakers are very aggresive ball winners too. The traditional AM as was known has become an unwanted luxury and has long since been phased out. I daresay even Iwobi has not cut it to the top levels that were expected of him, because he is considered not aggressive and defensive enough. For SE, we need 3 solid all-rounders to complement Osimhen, Boniface, and either of Orban/Moffi at the moment. The top 3 I can think of are Ndidi, Onyedika and Iwobi. In reserve would be Matthew, Onyeka and Tella. The quality of these reserves is not great, but so it is. We should be looking to have Orban, Moses, Chukwueze, Lookman and Iheanacho to also become stronger ball winners when playing for SE if we are to compete at the very top of the game. Those unable to do so should not be in the team.
You seem to be talking too much-rather too ecstatically for someone who hasn't even watched the Fisayo kid play, those of us who have watched him consistently know his quality and what he can bring to the NT, Nigerian fans all over social media are pleased about his invitation including top media pundits so that should tell you everything you need to know, real football experts who watch, scout and follow our Naija players across various leagues thumbed up Fisayo as a refreshing invitation. It remains to be seen if he grabs the opportunity in both friendly matches...so why not relax, and let the coach who was paid to scout and invite players do his job? if Fisayo is good enough, surely we will get a sample-size hint of what he can bring to the team when he debuts in both games soon.

Relax.

I am a bit baffled as to why you would think a national team coach would be deceived by the hype on a certain player.
That's a bit of a stretch.
Which hype anyway? Fans? The press?
Which coach worth his name would go simply by hype, without taking measures to reach an independent decision?

Peseiro is on public record as saying that he makes the squad choices because he is being paid to do so.
He might not be everybody's cup of tea but to suggest his decisions are heavily influenced by hype is to really reduce him to level zero as a coach.

………………………….Iwobi……

With this team, Onyeka has to start with Ndidi.

Damunk wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 10:20 am
I am a bit baffled as to why you would think a national team coach would be deceived by the hype on a certain player.
Which coach worth his name would go simply by hype, without taking measures to reach an independent decision?

Peseiro is on public record as saying that he makes the squad choices because he is being paid to do so.
He might not be everybody's cup of tea but to suggest his decisions are heavily influenced by hype is to really reduce him to level zero as a coach.
Hmmm… let’s not dismiss Sheik’s points too quickly.

I too am happy Dele-Bashiru was called up. But there has been hype around him. And Peseiro hasn’t exactly covered himself in glory even if this looks his best selection to date.

We’ve discussed the AM obsession before (all three of us agree on this point) and the squad still feels light with Onyeka the only genuine box-to-box ball winner (although Ndidi has been doing a good impersonation of it of late).

With Ndidi and Onyedika, Onyeka and Iwobi, Aribo and Dele-Bashiru, I think we’ve got better options than we’ve had in a while. And this friendly is a good chance to try D-B. But let’s not dismiss Sheik’s arguments outright. D-B still has a lot to prove.

waka-man wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 11:44 am

I too am happy Dele-Bashiru was called up. But there has been hype around him. And Peseiro hasn’t exactly covered himself in glory even if this looks his best selection to date.

We’ve discussed the AM obsession before (all three of us agree on this point) and the squad still feels light with Onyeka the only genuine box-to-box ball winner (although Ndidi has been doing a good impersonation of it of late).

With Ndidi and Onyedika, Onyeka and Iwobi, Aribo and Dele-Bashiru, I think we’ve got better options than we’ve had in a while. And this friendly is a good chance to try D-B. But let’s not dismiss Sheik’s arguments outright. D-B still has a lot to prove.
I mean it's not rocket science- he's just 22 yr boy earning his first ever NT call up, he doesn't have anything to prove any more than the other players who are also fighting to get into the NT. It's a friendly match, make una relax and stop making much Ado about nothing

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 11:49 am

I mean it's not rocket science- he's just 22 yr boy earning his first ever NT call up, he doesn't have anything to prove any more than the other players who are also fighting to get into the NT. It's a friendly match, make una relax and stop making much Ado about nothing
No be football fans we be? If not to scrutinise selection, wetin you wan make we do? Abi maybe na you dey disturb yasef too much.

As for the match, na pre-Afcon be dis O! Weda na 22 or abi na 12, the young man better be coming with a mindset to prove himself. If not e go do am like say na dream say dem invite am one time.

As for us, fans will be fans.

waka-man wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 12:13 pm

No be football fans we be? If not to scrutinise selection, wetin you wan make we do? Abi maybe na you dey disturb yasef too much.

As for the match, na pre-Afcon be dis O! Weda na 22 or abi na 12, the young man better be coming with a mindset to prove himself. If not e go do am like say na dream say dem invite am one time.

No vex, I get your point but I don't understand why some of you are so fixated on Fisayo Bashiru's invitation. I mean here's a player who by all accounts is a very exciting player and is having a head-turning season in Turkey in just his debut season playing from midfied- already has 4 goals in 7 appearances, and highly rated in Turkey as well. We have a more nagging problem where players like Aribo are still being called up despite his terrible form in the championship, that's what we should be talking about.

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 12:36 pm
waka-man wrote: Tue Oct 03, 2023 12:13 pm

No vex, I get your point but I don't understand why some of you are so fixated on Fisayo Bashiru's invitation. I mean here's a player who by all accounts is a very exciting player and is having a head-turning season in Turkey in just his debut season playing from midfied- already has 4 goals in 7 appearances, and highly rated in Turkey as well. We have a more nagging problem where players like Aribo are still being called up despite his terrible form in the championship, that's what we should be talking about.
I hear you. The Aribo invite and maybe the Iheanacho one, is indeed the odd thing here. I was just saying let’s not dismiss Sheik’s point that D-B is not a shoo-in especially if we’re thinking of him as an AM