Moses Simon you're World Class if..

Moses Simon will be World Class if he can work on his crosses. It is really inhibiting him. I am convinced that if he focuses on this, a big club will come for him. Age is not on his side. Come on Moses!!!
Re: Moses Simon you're World Class if..

Una no dey learn. How many Afcons do you need to watch him play to realize he is what he is?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Oct 17, 2023 6:14 pm Una no dey learn. How many Afcons do you need to watch him play to realize he is what he is?
Good on his feet. Good pace, can dribble but can’t cross.
A type of player you bring in 75mins+ when the opposing wing back is exhausted. Apart from that, he’s nothing but a squad member.

He is one of our best forwards. He creates opportunities for us more that those phantom superb forwards we have.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Oct 17, 2023 6:14 pm Una no dey learn. How many Afcons do you need to watch him play to realize he is what he is?

He would start every game if it were up to me

highbury wrote: Tue Oct 17, 2023 5:33 pm Moses Simon will be World Class if he can work on his crosses. It is really inhibiting him. I am convinced that if he focuses on this, a big club will come for him. Age is not on his side. Come on Moses!!!
Not at this age. If you haven’t worked on your crosses by now, it’s never going to happen.

Babalawo wrote: Tue Oct 17, 2023 6:44 pm
A type of player you bring in 75mins+ when the opposing wing back is exhausted. Apart from that, he’s nothing but a squad member.
His problem is that there’s nothing he’s great at. He’s not that fast, has basic dribbling skills, can’t cross, isn’t incisive enough and has dodgy decision making.

A player doesn’t have to have it all. But to stand out, you should be great at something. What’s Simon’s calling card? Nothing

Learn to walk first before you try to run. I would settle for a simple pass into the box from him. Beat your man, then whip that ball in. 20% of the time, that should create a decent goal scoring opportunity.

Polly

Post by Polly »

I sympathize with Simon's difficulty in crossing with his left foot even as a senior pro. But bewildering is that he has a simple and effective dribble when he drives towards the corner flag but then lifts the ball up over the defender's foot and back towards his own side. It is shocking that he never learned to whip that ball--at that point on his own right foot and his own terms--into the box.

he is nowhere near world class.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Oct 18, 2023 6:06 pm he is nowhere near world class.
Its an insult to the phrase "world class" to put his name close to that phrase. its even a joke! and thats why i laughed earlier. You have top players who are 1000x better than him who are not even close to world class. Do they even know what world class mean? We are talking of Mbappe, Osimhen, De Bruyne, Haaland, Bellingham, Silva, Salah, Kane, etc etc.. Even if Moses Simon was the best crosser in the world, he wouldnt even be in the same paragraph as these players. World class ko, smelling class ni. please dont make me laugh :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Simon Moses is no where close to being world class, decent at best...but there are times you watch him play so well for Nantes and wonder "what could have been"

Last time Moses had an outstanding game for the SE was against Egypt at the last ANC.

1naija wrote: Tue Oct 17, 2023 7:09 pm He is one of our best forwards. He creates opportunities for us more that those phantom superb forwards we have.
As a defender and a coach, I love him. He makes you compact in defending and he does provide attacking options.

But as the thread starter stated, he would be world-class if he adds the ability to provide consistent quality crosses.

What I am loving about the team is that we are getting to a stage of having quality options. Just need help fixing the goalkeeper issue.

danfo driver wrote: Wed Oct 18, 2023 6:37 pm
Its an insult to the phrase "world class" to put his name close to that phrase. its even a joke! and thats why i laughed earlier. You have top players who are 1000x better than him who are not even close to world class. Do they even know what world class mean? We are talking of Mbappe, Osimhen, De Bruyne, Haaland, Bellingham, Silva, Salah, Kane, etc etc.. Even if Moses Simon was the best crosser in the world, he wouldnt even be in the same paragraph as these players. World class ko, smelling class ni. please dont make me laugh :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I disagree!

He should be starting
Polly

Post by Polly »

I sympathize with Simon's difficulty in crossing with his left foot even as a senior pro. But bewildering is that he has a simple and effective dribble when he drives towards the corner flag but then lifts the ball up over the defender's foot and back towards his own side. It is shocking that he never learned to whip that ball--at that point on his own right foot and his own terms--into the box.

Simon Moses crosses the ball well when he plays at Nantes, infact majority of his assists there have come from well delivered crosses, so why doesn't he replicate the same in the SE? or is it a tactical set up issue?

Why do we shrine players after they have 2-3 good games? Simon is what he is. Isn’t he the same guy that fell off after the Egypt game at AFCON. The guy thought he was Messi and was dribbling in cul-de-sac. I’m fine if he makes the team or not.

Cellular wrote: Wed Oct 18, 2023 9:00 pm
I disagree!
So if Moses Simon could cross, he'd be in the same category has Silva, De Bruyne, Salah? And he nominated for Balon D'Or? :rotf: :rotf: Uncle please no make me remove the kola nut I left for you in the fridge.

danfo driver wrote: Thu Oct 19, 2023 8:22 am
Cellular wrote: Wed Oct 18, 2023 9:00 pm
I disagree!
So if Moses Simon could cross, he'd be in the same category has Silva, De Bruyne, Salah? And he nominated for Balon D'Or? :rotf: :rotf: Uncle please no make me remove the kola nut I left for you in the fridge.
He might not be at the class of the other players you mentioned but if he did add the ability to provide crosses like say Trent Alexander-Arnold (whom I think provides one of the scrumptious of crosses), yes, I will personally consider Moses World-Class. And it is my opinion.

Babalawo wrote: Tue Oct 17, 2023 6:44 pm
At the highest level you can’t afford to bring on a player that can’t cross the ball,imagine you need a goal and have a player like Oshimen that needs crosses into the box against a team that you know can’t handle him but Simons just cuts into the box and shoots at the sun?