Okoye withdraws from WCQ squad

No reason given. Kai….the babalawos working for Uzoho no be joke o. :shock:

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2023/11/13/o ... ualifiers/
Re: Okoye withdraws from WCQ squad

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Nov 13, 2023 9:30 pm No reason given. Kai….the babalawos working for Uzoho no be joke o. :shock:

He feels like the picture when he gets an invitation:

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Mon Nov 13, 2023 9:38 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Nov 13, 2023 9:30 pm No reason given. Kai….the babalawos working for Uzoho no be joke o. :shock:

Depiction of Okoye when the invitation first arrived:

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Uzoho is alreadyon the list. Which 5 ft - 3in player will bebenfit the most from the withdrawal? The NFF should investigate this. There should be no room for wizards and principalities in our football.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Nov 13, 2023 9:41 pm

I don’t blame him. He’s just getting his confidence back and doesn’t want to lose his spot as No 2 @ Udinese then get abused by Nigerians. Iet him concentrate on his club and leave Nigerians to deal with Uzoho.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Nov 13, 2023 9:41 pm

I didnt see that coming from you; goes to show how our own introjections overwhelm us when least expected

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

You guyz are funny! After threatening his life for conceeding just one goal from open play in the whole tournament, una dey wonder why! I would have done the same in his shoes.

The coach needs to stop inviting him. How many times will he get called up only to withdraw? That slot could have gone to a Jonathan Rasheed or Stanley Nwabali. I hope he isnt considered for the AFCON. Also if the boy wants to resign from international football, he needs to let us know now instead of flaking all the time.

gochino wrote: Mon Nov 13, 2023 10:39 pm

You guyz are funny! After threatening his life for conceeding just one goal from open play in the whole tournament, una dey wonder why! I would have done the same in his shoes.
If that then he needs to be open about it like Lyles Foster of south Africa and take a break from international football..and or resign from international football. This constant flaking after getting called up is too much.

World Cup qualifiers: Maduka Okoye pulls out, Peseiro invites Bendel Insurance goalie as replacement

The Super Eagles of Nigeria are set to take on Zimbabwe and Lesotho later this month, but Okoye will not be part of the games

Super Eagles coach Jose Peseiro has invited Bendel Insurance goalkeeper Amas Obasogie after Udinese goalie Maduka Okoye pulled out of Nigeria’s 2026 World Cup qualifiers against Zimbabwe and Lesotho, Soccernet reports.

The Super Eagles will be looking to start their World Cup qualifying campaign on a good note later this month.

Peseiro invited 23 players for the games against Lesotho and Zimbabwe, and Okoye was one of the new additions to the team after missing out on previous selections due to his lack of game time at his club.

However, in a related development, the Super Eagles official X handle has revealed that Okoye has pulled out of the fixture. And in his place, Bendel Insurance shot-stopper Obasogie has been invited.

This is a big blow for the team as they are already without Adebayo Adeleye. As it stands, Francis Uzoho is the only experienced goalkeeper in camp.

Obasogie has been involved in seven games for Bendel Insurance this season, and he has kept six clean sheets, conceding just one goal.

Nigeria will play Lesotho on the 16th of November before travelling to Zimbabwe for their second group game on the 19th.

https://soccernet.ng/2023/11/world-cup- ... ement.html

Peseiro is not doing a good job scouting for new players. There are good goalkeepers in the local league. What is happening to Dele Alampasu and etc?

Kayode Bankole Remo stars fc 21 years old
Chris Nwoke Sporting Lagos

would be good enough for the 3rd goalkeeper spot.

If he is not yet in peak condition then it is the best decision for all involved.

Kudus to the young man.

ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Nov 14, 2023 1:34 am Peseiro is not doing a good job scouting for new players. There are good goalkeepers in the local league. What is happening to Dele Alampasu and etc?
Ohenhen1,

You done dey fall persin hand oooo! Dele who? Where dat one dey play now? Bros, BTW, Peseiro has just invited the Bendel Insurance goalkeeper. He is local in answer to your question but more importantly, he has considered far less goals in the NPFL when compared to his competitors.

I have a feeling this is going to be good

I'm happy for Obasogie. The best possible replacement on short notice.

Obasogie looks like a solid keeper. Don’t need Okoye.

All thanks to the large number of insecure Nigerian men who attacked him online after he conceded a goal at the last AFCON because of the admiration he attracted from Nigerian women!
The online attacks were over the top and it was obvious that it was not just about football

Dammy wrote:Tue Nov 14, 2023 9:16 am All thanks to the large number of insecure Nigerian men who attacked him online after he conceded a goal at the last AFCON because of the admiration he attracted from Nigerian women!
The online attacks were over the top and it was obvious that it was not just about football

Is this true or you are just making it up? My recollection is Okoye gas been roundly criticized since his play was largely responsible for at least two goals conceded in that 4-4 draw at home against Sierra Leone. Before then the way he got into the squad via Rohr and extra attention given to him in terms of preparation rubbed people the wrong way. All those are documented. How did you arrive at your conclusion?

This just shows how weak many abroad recruits are. Uzoho has been abused , Akpeyi was abused none stop , but this soft butter kid who is a bench warmer and couldn't even cut it at Watford gets scared because some pathetic loser fans abused him. Even that goal wasn't really his fault, it was Aina and Wilf to be precise

If he has an injury etc then that is understandable. He was on the bench last weekend

Enugu II wrote: Tue Nov 14, 2023 11:25 am
Dammy wrote:Tue Nov 14, 2023 9:16 am All thanks to the large number of insecure Nigerian men who attacked him online after he conceded a goal at the last AFCON because of the admiration he attracted from Nigerian women!

Is this true or you are just making it up? My recollection is Okoye gas been roundly criticized since his play was largely responsible for at least two goals conceded in that 4-4 draw at home against Sierra Leone. Before then the way he got into the squad via Rohr and extra attention given to him in terms of preparation rubbed people the wrong way. All those are documented. How did you arrive at your conclusion?
The insults he received were over the top.
Even Uzoho’s blunder that cost us the WC didn’t attract the kind of lynching Okoye received.
Many of us pointed it out at the time. Something wasn’t right and I highlighted the racial element. Dammy identifies the ‘fine boy’ element. Let’s also not forget that he was seen as ‘Rohr’s Boy’ and that in itself lined some people up against him.

Now Uzoho is receiving at the moment the same level of abuse as Okoye got, but before now, he has been criticized pretty fairly.
Akpeyi was treated badly too which didn’t help his confidence.
There’s always an identified agenda, some wrong, some right.

Meanwhile we have no idea why Okoye has dropped out, but see how his critics are quick to label him chicken.
After all, he honored the last invitation a few weeks ago.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Nov 14, 2023 11:36 am This just shows how weak many abroad recruits are. Uzoho has been abused , Akpeyi was abused none stop , but this soft butter kid who is a bench warmer and couldn't even cut it at Watford gets scared because some pathetic loser fans abused him. Even that goal wasn't really his fault, it was Aina and Wilf to be precise

If he has an injury etc then that is understandable. He was on the bench last weekend
Here goes one of the insecure dudes.