Full AFCON Provisional List

Re: Full AFCON Provisional List

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 12:09 am Image
3 home based players all goalkeepers. But there are a lot of foreign based players that are bench warmers. Nigeria is not serious. I just don't want to hear the usual crying when we lose at Afcon.

They picked Nwoke ahead of Kingdom Osayi. They are not serious. Here would be my 27 man list

GK- Osayi, Ojo, Obasogie, Uzoho
RB- Aina, Osayi
CD- Bassey, Ajayi, Omeruo, Awaziem, Toranurigha
LB- Sanusi, Onyemachi
MF- Ndidi, Nwakili, Onyeka, Alhasan,Daga,Onyedinka
FW- Osimhen, Boniface, Sadiq Umar, Iwobi, Iheanacho, Lookman, Chukwuze, S Moses

ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 12:43 am
3 home based players all goalkeepers. But there are a lot of foreign based players that are bench warmers. Nigeria is not serious. I just don't want to hear the usual crying when we lose at Afcon.
Uzoho and Musa and to a lesser extent Aribo (started getting PT) are the FB bench warmers, that’s not too bad, the rest play. I would have really liked an Orban on that list as he’s an unpredictable and one for the future and esp now with Moffi out. Also your fav GK from Sweden would have been a welcomed addition 😝

bret- hart wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 7:43 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 7:05 pm
bret- hart wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 6:08 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 5:31 pm The real pity about this selection is the stagnation in the squad. Other than in the goalkeeper position, no new young players are coming through. This is practically the same squad we’ve been using for some time now. We need an infusion of talent in defense and midfield🤔❗️

Oga stop complaining. You are one of those that were against the inclusion of new players in the past. You get what you ask for.
Stop criticizing blindly and try to understand what is actually being said. I am pointing out the failure in our football system that’s not turning out any new players worth reckoning with… and yes, I am squarely against the inclusion of new players who have nothing to offer🤔❗️

"worth reckoning" subjective innit? How do you know the likes of Orbam, Akinsanmiro Yusuf, Daga, Adam's etc aren't worth it when you are against them being invited in the 1st place. Make it make sense? You are just waiting for these young players to show up at Real Madrid and Barcelona before you invite them.Nonsense
No subjectivity whatsoever. What has any of these players done at club level to warrant any kind of optimism? A few years ago, when we were salivating over the possibility of Bukayo Saka turning out for Nigeria, we had a good reason to. He was quickly emerging as Arsenal’s best player. Can you say anything similar about any of the players you just mentioned? Which of them are even playing any major roles for their clubs❓🤔❗️

How the egusi does Musa make it anywhere near the Super Eagles???

marutimon wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 1:20 am How the egusi does Musa make it anywhere near the Super Eagles???
They say he’s there for leadership. The guy is a bench warmer for country and club. I don’t see what he bring in leadership that Ekong didn't bring. I think both should be retired for younger players but asking at least plays for his club.

Lolly wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 9:45 pm
anointed wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 8:51 pm
Lolly wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 7:13 pm
txj wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 7:07 pm
Lolly wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 6:51 pm Submitting a list of 40 names that is going to be trimmed down to 23/27 in 2 weeks time without any camp is a meaningless exercise. Though Keshi used a similar exercise to sneak in a few of his players.

What makes it meaningless? You think in this day and age we still "fight for shirts" or "storm the camp"?

The provisional list is the starting point. You then assess form and especially, injuries, and from there make the final cut...
The provisional list is what allows you adjust for injuries and other related squad/availability issues...
They have 2 weeks to assess form and injuries of those more likely to make the list, and then make any necessary adjustments for injuries. What's the point in submitting names like Onuachu, Dennis, Dessers when we know they would never be on the final list? No be by force to name up to 50. That was just a guide.
Your argument is kinda moot. As we speak, Moffi is already injured. That makes 39. God forbid there are more.

It makes sense that there must be competition for the 27 slots. Rohr wasn't doing that and it hurt us.

It's not a big deal to drop 12 players in a week of camping.
So the coach needs to submit 12 additional names as backups in case of injuries? Another proof he doesn’t know what he is doing.
So, you think you can get a player released from a club overnight or even within a week to replace an injured player without having invited the player and notified his club before hand?

Second, now that the provisional list has been submitted, CAF and other stakeholders, like the broadcasters can start researching the players and uploading their data to where necessary. Even if a fresh player is released on the eve of the tourney, that's not when they start researching the players and updating their database. That's not when TV broadcasters and sponsors would want to know his stats.

There's a thing called planning. Those graphics on TV don't just appear on the screens during live matches. They have been planned. And we've not even talked of how important it is to tactical preparations, team bonding etc of the participants.

This is even the way it's done at the WC and Euros, when you could say there are no ongoing club football and getting players released won't be any issue. By now all the clubs would have been notified or latest 2 weeks before the tourney starts.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

marutimon wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 1:20 am How the egusi does Musa make it anywhere near the Super Eagles???
This piece of shi$ doesn't even play for his club. Half the time he doesn't even make the focking bench.

Nigeria is just not a serious nation at all.

Ejuke should be on this list.

But no.

Musa, Ahmed focking Musa.

In the year Two Thousand and Twenty Four.

Focking disgrace.

maceo4 wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 12:59 am
Uzoho and Musa and to a lesser extent Aribo (started getting PT) are the FB bench warmers, that’s not too bad, the rest play. I would have really liked an Orban on that list as he’s an unpredictable and one for the future and esp now with Moffi out. Also your fav GK from Sweden would have been a welcomed addition 😝
Both Uzoho and Aribo have been starting for their club’s recently, so it’s good that they’re getting playing time in the build up to AFCON

anointed wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 5:21 am
Lolly wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 6:51 pm Submitting a list of 40 names that is going to be trimmed down to 23/27 in 2 weeks time without any camp is a meaningless exercise. Though Keshi used a similar exercise to sneak in a few of his players.

What makes it meaningless? You think in this day and age we still "fight for shirts" or "storm the camp"?

The provisional list is the starting point. You then assess form and especially, injuries, and from there make the final cut...
The provisional list is what allows you adjust for injuries and other related squad/availability issues...
They have 2 weeks to assess form and injuries of those more likely to make the list, and then make any necessary adjustments for injuries. What's the point in submitting names like Onuachu, Dennis, Dessers when we know they would never be on the final list? No be by force to name up to 50. That was just a guide.
Your argument is kinda moot. As we speak, Moffi is already injured. That makes 39. God forbid there are more.

It makes sense that there must be competition for the 27 slots. Rohr wasn't doing that and it hurt us.

So the coach needs to submit 12 additional names as backups in case of injuries? Another proof he doesn’t know what he is doing.
So, you think you can get a player released from a club overnight or even within a week to replace an injured player without having invited the player and notified his club before hand?

Second, now that the provisional list has been submitted, CAF and other stakeholders, like the broadcasters can start researching the players and uploading their data to where necessary. Even if a fresh player is released on the eve of the tourney, that's not when they start researching the players and updating their database. That's not when TV broadcasters and sponsors would want to know his stats.

There's a thing called planning. Those graphics on TV don't just appear on the screens during live matches. They have been planned. And we've not even talked of how important it is to tactical preparations, team bonding etc of the participants.

This is even the way it's done at the WC and Euros, when you could say there are no ongoing club football and getting players released won't be any issue. By now all the clubs would have been notified or latest 2 weeks before the tourney starts.
Makes perfect sense. :thumb:

Dammy wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 7:28 am
maceo4 wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 12:59 am
Both Uzoho and Aribo have been starting for their club’s recently, so it’s good that they’re getting playing time in the build up to AFCON
That’s good, but it still doesn’t negate the fact that their abilities are limited.
As for Musa, as much as many of us admire him, he shouldn’t be in the squad any more.

But Angola that already submitted their own 26 man squad list are not planning? No wonder these fraudulent coaches and their NFF sponsors take us for mumus.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 12:23 pm

But Angola that already submitted their own 26 man squad list are not planning? No wonder these fraudulent coaches and their NFF sponsors take us for mumus.
Point is Angola won't be able to replace any injured player if they ever have to face that situation before the tourney begins.

Having a horrible coach like Gbeseiro is one thing, being able to plan is another.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

I looked at the list again. Nigeria is not serious. Musa inclusion is stupid. Only 5 midfielders, Iwobi plays in a different role for his club. Looks like Peisero is sticking to his two man midfield.

ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 4:34 pm I looked at the list again. Nigeria is not serious. Musa inclusion is stupid. Only 5 midfielders, Iwobi plays in a different role for his club. Looks like Peisero is sticking to his two man midfield.

anointed wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 2:43 pm

Point is Angola won't be able to replace any injured player if they ever have to face that situation before the tourney begins.

Having a horrible coach like Gbeseiro is one thing, being able to plan is another.
That’s why they named 26 players. They have enough cover in that list.

Peseiro used that long list to sneak Musa’s name in. So the outcry won’t be too loud when he makes the final 26. Same way Keshi removed Ideye from his preliminary list and made it easier for him to sneak in his payer in the final list. Same script.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 5:31 pm

Peseiro used that long list to sneak Musa’s name in. So the outcry won’t be too loud when he makes the final 26. Same way Keshi removed Ideye from his preliminary list and made it easier for him to sneak in his payer in the final list. Same script.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 4:34 pm I looked at the list again. Nigeria is not serious. Musa inclusion is stupid. Only 5 midfielders, Iwobi plays in a different role for his club. Looks like Peisero is sticking to his two man midfield.
Always told you guys Pisseiro is a retard and spiteful moron who is out to get his pound of flesh against Nigerian fans for rightfully calling him out for being utter garbage...you can't tell me his choice of certain players isn't all planned out to trigger Nigerian fans. We already know he's going to stick to his brainless 2 man midfield and 2 man attack rubbish at the AFCON.

I've already resigned myself to fate that we ain't winning jack at the AFCON, at best we might struggle our way into the second round before a serious team eliminates us. I'm more focused on our re-organization and prepariations for the next WCQ rounds after the AFCON under the new coach, forget AFCON under this Portuguese clown.

You miss the point.

This AFCON requirement is normal in any major tournament, including the World Cup. I pointed this out a week or so previously. It is a very important requirement for organizational purposes and greatly helpful for media as well.

The point is to have teams select players from a known pool and attempt to limit teams to that pool. This is very helpful for planning. For the media, it reduces guess work and helps with managing publication errors. Now, this does not mean teams cannot in special circumstances go beyond the list of 50. In such cases, they may appeal to the organizers within certain limitations.

There are timelines for reducing the number until it gets to the tournament 23. There are 4 additional players who also travel with the squad as injury replacements. As someone already pointed out, clubs need to get these players' invitation way ahead of time as required by FIFA.

Now, some teams go straight to naming their tournament 23 but that is not a requirement at this time. Some choose to do it for various reasons, others choose not to because they may not have made up their mind and in any case injuries may still occur.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 10:12 pm

You miss the point.

This AFCON requirement is normal in any major tournament, including the World Cup. I pointed this out a week or so previously. It is a very important requirement for organizational purposes and greatly helpful for media as well.

The point is to have teams select players from a known pool and attempt to limit teams to that pool. This is very helpful for planning. For the media, it reduces guess work and helps with managing publication errors. Now, this does not mean teams cannot in special circumstances go beyond the list of 50. In such cases, they may appeal to the organizers within certain limitations.

There are timelines for reducing the number until it gets to the tournament 23. There are 4 additional players who also travel with the squad as injury replacements. As someone already pointed out, clubs need to get these players' invitation way ahead of time as required by FIFA.

Now, some teams go straight to naming their tournament 23 but that is not a requirement at this time. Some choose to do it for various reasons, others choose not to because they may not have made up their mind and in any case injuries may still occur.
Oga, na you miss the point.

I don't disagree with naming a provisional list to include cover for injuries and what not all. But what Peseiro has done here by naming 40 players with a number of them that have no business being on the list is criminal. If he had named a maximum of 30/32 deserving players, then we won't be having this argument. I know what he is doing but una eye go clear soon. We shouldn't be supporting criminality especially when its the same script that our coaches have been using at all levels including youth tournaments.

Lolly wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 11:12 pm
Enugu II wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 10:12 pm

You miss the point.

Oga, na you miss the point.

I don't disagree with naming a provisional list to include cover for injuries and what not all. But what Peseiro has done here by naming 40 players with a number of them that have no business being on the list is criminal. If he had named a maximum of 30/32 deserving players, then we won't be having this argument. I know what he is doing but una eye go clear soon. We shouldn't be supporting criminality especially when its the same script that our coaches have been using at all levels including youth tournaments.

I do believe he will nane the strongest 23 person squad that he believes in. The standby list may include new guys, may even include Musa. I will not bat an eyeliead because that standby usually means diddly. So I am not sure what else you expect?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics