Pick Your Top 8 Midfieders for AFCON Squad.....

Pick Your Top 8 Midfielders for AFCON Squad.....

Poll ended at Wed Jan 03, 2024 8:11 pm

Wilfred NDIDI (Leicester, ENGLAND)
13%
Frank ONYEKA (Brentford, ENGLAND)
12%
Alex IWOBI (Everton, ENGLAND)
13%
Joseph ARIBO (Southampton, ENGLAND)
4%
Ahmed MUSA (Sivaspor, TURKEY)
No votes
Samuel CHUKWUEZE (AC Milan, ITALY)
11%
Moses SIMON (FC Nanters, FRANCE)
11%
Ademola LOOKMAN (Atalanta, ITALY)
10%
Raphael ONYEDIKA (Club Brugge, BELGIUM)
8%
Gift ORBAN (KAA Gent, BELGIUM)
5%
Fisayo DELE-BASHIRU (Mataspor, TURKEY)
1%
Kelechi IHEANACHO (Leicester, ENGLAND)
12%

Total votes: 156

Pick Your Top 8 Midfieders for AFCON Squad.....

Pick your top 8 midfielders for the AFCON. Please bear in mind that these include wide and central midfielders.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Pick Your Top 8 Midfieders for AFCON Squad.....

We don’t have a box to box midfielder.

Where is Alhasan Yusuf? His name should be on the list.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Wilfred NDIDI
Frank ONYEKA
Alex IWOBI
Samuel CHUKWUEZE
Moses SIMON
Ademola LOOKMAN
Gift ORBAN
Kelechi IHEANACHO

It’s either Alhassan or Onyedika

Babadee

Post by Babadee »

Chukwueze Lookman and Iheanacho are all forward players per Super eagles typical list

midfielders if I was choosing

Iwobi
Ndidi
Onyeka
Onyedika
Dele Bashiru
Abiodun Ogunniyi
Ifeanyi Matthew
Alhassan Yusuf

No Aribo

I was checking the boxes until I saw Musa’s name and I unchecked everything I checked. This poll is not serious.

packerland wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 1:33 am I was checking the boxes until I saw Musa’s name and I unchecked everything I checked. This poll is not serious.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Ol'boy, you must respect our captain. I was looking at the voting and none of you has shown any respect, at all. Na waaaa ooo
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I would take Iwobi, Ndidi, Onyeka, Aribo, Nwakali, Dele-Bashiru, Yusuf.

Ndidi, Iwobi, Onyeka, Onyedika, Nwakali,Yusuf, Matthew, FDB

bret- hart wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 6:57 am Ndidi, Iwobi, Onyeka, Onyedika, Nwakali,Yusuf, Matthew, FDB
Kpom

olu wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 6:49 am I would take Iwobi, Ndidi, Onyeka, Aribo, Nwakali, Dele-Bashiru, Yusuf.
Aribo must be a family member or something otherwise...

No Nathan Tella?? Nawao

olu wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 6:49 am I would take Iwobi, Ndidi, Onyeka, Aribo, Nwakali, Dele-Bashiru, Yusuf.
Happy to see that Nwakali is finally getting the appreciation he deserves. :thumbs:
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

Personally I do not see any midfielder yet in our Team. I am sorry. Ndidi cut small (as defensive) thats All. As for me oooo.. That list no be am. Which one of the players really are playmakers in any team they play for? Or we dont know what a Midfielder do any more? If Iwobi is a midfielder in his team ok

Agbako wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 5:03 pm Personally I do not see any midfielder yet in our Team. I am sorry. Ndidi cut small (as defensive) thats All. As for me oooo.. That list no be am. Which one of the players really are playmakers in any team they play for? Or we dont know what a Midfielder do any more? If Iwobi is a midfielder in his team ok
Speak for yourself. FDB, Mathhew, Nwakali can playmake. Ndidi can also play futher up the pitch. You seem to forget that most African midfielders are used primarily as DMs in Europe. Even Mikel had to play DM despite being an AM/CM naturally.

bret- hart wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 5:30 pm
Agbako wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 5:03 pm Personally I do not see any midfielder yet in our Team. I am sorry. Ndidi cut small (as defensive) thats All. As for me oooo.. That list no be am. Which one of the players really are playmakers in any team they play for? Or we dont know what a Midfielder do any more? If Iwobi is a midfielder in his team ok
Speak for yourself. FDB, Mathhew, Nwakali can playmake. Ndidi can also play futher up the pitch. You seem to forget that most African midfielders are used primarily as DMs in Europe. Even Mikel had to play DM despite being an AM/CM naturally.
He’s right. We have other MF at Barca, Man City and Liverpool that are not on the list.They are real MF.

Listed by OwnGoal

Wilfred Ndidi
Ademola Lookman
Moses Simon
Sam Chukwueze
Raphael Onyedika
Joseph Aribo
Frank Onyeka
Alex Iwobi
Kelechi Iheanacho

CE's Selection

Wilfred Ndidi
Ademola Lookman
Moses Simon
Sam Chukwueze
Raphael Onyedika
Joseph Aribo
Frank Onyeka
Alex Iwobi
Kelechi Iheanacho

Enugu II wrote: Wed Dec 20, 2023 11:49 pm Listed by OwnGoal

Wilfred Ndidi
Ademola Lookman
Moses Simon
Sam Chukwueze
Raphael Onyedika
Joseph Aribo
Frank Onyeka
Alex Iwobi
Kelechi Iheanacho

CE's Selection

Wilfred Ndidi
Ademola Lookman
Moses Simon
Sam Chukwueze
Raphael Onyedika
Joseph Aribo
Frank Onyeka
Alex Iwobi
Kelechi Iheanacho
EII,

You appear to be inferring that a CE member is a key contributor in OG🤔❗️

oyek

Post by oyek »

I don't think we should be going to that AFCON without Alhasan Yusuf.
If not for Jesus, where will i be?

oyek wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 1:14 pm I don't think we should be going to that AFCON without Alhasan Yusuf.
Sometimes I wish we didn’t have this many forwards and just keep things simple. It seems like the coaches are having a hard time dropping some of these strikers/forward players for central midfielders.
BigMuze

Post by BigMuze »

packerland wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 1:47 pm
oyek wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 1:14 pm I don't think we should be going to that AFCON without Alhasan Yusuf.
Sometimes I wish we didn’t have this many forwards and just keep things simple. It seems like the coaches are having a hard time dropping some of these strikers/forward players for central midfielders.
You aren’t far from the truth man. All we need are 3 strikers, as in outright 9s. Osimhen, Bonniface and Moffi or Sadiq, Whether it is 23 or 27 names. We are already lucky to have Iheanacho deputising as an attacking midfielder or winger. It’s a simple decision for a coach with common sense. We need at most 4 wingers to support these guys. So easy to pick; Chucky, Simon, Lookman, plus 1 (Tella, Musa, even Nacho). Then, even all they don’t play he can use the training time to build on our midfield personnel and give some other MF players a chance to blend with the team, ie Fisayo D-B, Yusuf, Nwakali, etc. , then the likes of Daga, Michael etc. it’s so unfortunate we find ourselves in this position with an unreasonable coach with unreasonable tactics.
"Everyone, and particularly every true beliver, should decide which is more important to them. But as for me, I choose eternity over lifetime".

We must have at least 7 midfielders in the final 27 man squad, this final list be a litmus test as to how truly stupid or reasonable Peseiro is, cause if he plans to line up his redundant 424/442 formation again, then we are in for a long ride before the first game.