Ivory Coast vs Nigeria Prediction and Preview

Re: Ivory Coast vs Nigeria Prediction and Preview

Enyi wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 12:58 pm It will be a score draw. I think 2-2 with the home team scoring first and the SE going 2-1 in front but will draw late in the game
That sounds about right. Although as a fan I’m still hoping for 3-1 to us. Iwobi putting the game to bed late after we survive an onslaught at 2-1

3-1 CiV

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 8:46 am
Lolly wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 8:01 am Difficult one to predict without knowing our lineup.

But I would say a score draw or Ivory Coast to win 3-2.

Lineup? What does that have to do with winning? You obviously don’t understand Afcon.
I suspect we might be thin in some areas especially midfield. Alhassan is a doubt. Also heard one or two players are not 100%.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 2:17 pm
Lolly wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 8:01 am Difficult one to predict without knowing our lineup.

Lineup? What does that have to do with winning? You obviously don’t understand Afcon.
I suspect we might be thin in some areas especially midfield. Alhassan is a doubt. Also heard one or two players are not 100%.
Alhassan confirmed unavailable.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

I think we will win 2-1

There are not enough reliable AFCON stats for Opta to be spot on. However, I think it is fairly accurate here.

I see a draw, with CIV more likely to win it than Nigeria. :) CIV is playing at home. Nigeria is shaky at the back and misfiring at the front. Hoping for Paseiro to throw caution to the wind and attack with abandon. :D

Ivory Coast are also an offensive juggernaut especially with Adingra (IF FIT) and Boga on the wings. They will cause us problems.

But for the first time in a long time, I am very confident of the SE going into a game against tough or equal opposition. I think we are going to win this match.

E go shock una.
sabb

Post by sabb »

1-1
CIV no dey play rush rush which will suit our slow game
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
Coeur-d'Ivoire

Post by Coeur-d'Ivoire »

CIV 3 - 2 Nigeria
FREE TFCO NOW !!!!! - CAMPAIGN FOR TFCO'S EMANCIPATION (CTE)
Mouvement International de la Defense des Gnomes et pour l'Emancipation de Tfco (M.I.D.G.E.T)

Have you visited The Village Hall this week?

Coeur-d'Ivoire wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 5:38 pm CIV 3 - 2 Nigeria
my brother! good to e-see you.
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

1 - 0 Nigeria
www.ezesportsworld.net

Chesapeake sports Academy
proclaimjesus02

Post by proclaimjesus02 »

1-0 CIV

2-2 draw

Honest truth, (home crowd adj) I'll settle for a draw and we pick up 3 point in the final game.. Steady progress to the business end of the tournament.

That said, if we come out all guns blazing and get the early goal it will unsettle the crowd, but it is hard to see our defence holding out if the Elephants throw the kitchen sink at us to get an equaliser.

2-2 final score

Mr Shows wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 1:00 am Honest truth, (home crowd adj) I'll settle for a draw and we pick up 3 point in the final game.. Steady progress to the business end of the tournament.

That said, if we come out all guns blazing and get the early goal it will unsettle the crowd, but it is hard to see our defence holding out if the Elephants throw the kitchen sink at us to get an equaliser.

2-2 final score
People are still not paying attention to what’s happening at Afcon.
Look, if you’re going in a game hoping to get a draw, I can confirm to that you’re already a goal down at kickoff. Btw, GB is not coming to get a draw with SE. just saying.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 1:31 am
Mr Shows wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 1:00 am Honest truth, (home crowd adj) I'll settle for a draw and we pick up 3 point in the final game.. Steady progress to the business end of the tournament.

2-2 final score
People are still not paying attention to what’s happening at Afcon.
Look, if you’re going in a game hoping to get a draw, I can confirm to that you’re already a goal down at kickoff. Btw, GB is not coming to get a draw with SE. just saying.
Every fan expects to win.... you don't hope to get a draw.

What I mean is that in a game where there is a possibility of losing, i would 'rather' opt for a draw. Ivory Coast will likely accept the same, knowing that Nigeria on their day can put any team to the sword. The SE play better when they have their backs against the wall. I expect them to come out fighting

There are so many ifs.
We win if we don't get a Red card and are forced to play a man down.
If I were the coach, anytime I see Aurier marking any player I will instruct them to carry him into the box. He just can't help himself.

ikemba

Post by ikemba »

Cellular wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 1:40 am There are so many ifs.
We win if we don't get a Red card and are forced to play a man down.
If I were the coach, anytime I see Aurier marking any player I will instruct them to carry him into the box. He just can't help himself.
Chukwueze and Aina should know that.

Against CIV we MUST lineup like this

Chukwueze and Simon are shi$ so let's just get rid of the wing play

GK: Nwabili
LCB: Bassey
CB: Troost
RCB: Omeruo
RWB: Samuel
LWB: Aina
DM: Onyedika
CM: Onyeka (if Yusuf is injured)
AM: Iwobi
SS: Lookman
ST: Osimehn

Nacho can come on later for Lookman.

If Pesseiro ditches the midfield 3 we are DONE.

I seriously suggest we move beyond the useless Simon and Chukwueze, 352 is the best. We have the wingbacks.

Lolly wrote: Wed Jan 17, 2024 2:17 pm

But some people told us "we don't need 27 players"

So how can we possibly be thin ?

Why did we even take 25, we should have stuck with 23.

My heart tells me that Nigeria wins this 2-1 with Osimhen a menace. However, my real fear is if we fail to play 4-5-1 which is necessary to checkmate Ivory Coast's midfield. Nigeria will give maximum 110% effort like we have never seen before. Bet on it.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

2-1 good guys