Name your SA/Benin squad

Re: Name your SA/Benin squad

wiseone wrote: Thu May 16, 2024 11:42 am Moffi's in/out status from the team is puzzling. I would actually have him as "third cab on rank" behind the two Victor's. Plus he is left footed and has a different playing style to the other contending strikers (eg. faster than Kele and Onuachu, better finisher than Dessers).
I don’t know why Moffi isn’t a regular in the team already. Imho, he’s Moffi, Vic and Boniface should be the top 3 strikers.

So Owngoal is saying that a homebased winger will replace Chukwueze if he doesn't recover from injury.

And this is how we will fail to qualify. Nonsense like this.

We have Tella, Ejuke, Lookman, Olawoyin, Fisayo Bashiru, Dennis,

Why on earth would we need some unknown homebased player for this position ?

Also with Finidis preferred 352, it isn't necessary to be heavy on wingers.

Anyways as I suspected they are going to mess around with our world cup just to pimp players.

Totally disgusting.

vancity eagle wrote: Thu May 16, 2024 2:42 pm So Owngoal is saying that a homebased winger will replace Chukwueze if he doesn't recover from injury.

Anyways as I suspected they are going to mess around with our world cup just to pimp players.

Totally disgusting.
It’s not just a winger, they already have 4 NPFL players on standby to replace up to 6 players who might be injured. SE is not about the best players anymore. The Nff has opened market, they will role over Finidi easily.

vancity eagle wrote: Thu May 16, 2024 2:42 pm So Owngoal is saying that a homebased winger will replace Chukwueze if he doesn't recover from injury.

Totally disgusting.
I saw this as well. This is why they wanted Finidi so they can pimp out and package as many sub standard HB players as possible. Finidi of course will not say anything. I am not optimistic about us qualifying for the WC.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu May 16, 2024 2:52 pm

Totally disgusting.
It’s not just a winger, they already have 4 NPFL players on standby to replace up to 6 players who might be injured. SE is not about the best players anymore. The Nff has opened market, they will role over Finidi easily.
From what I read there are 4 NPFL players in the preliminary list of 35. This doesn't seem that unreasonable. Consider at least 1 is probably a keeper.

But calling up a homebased winger to replace Chukwueze sounds like complete utter corruption.

Might it also be that putting a European based player on standby means his European club will likely conjure some ojoro and refuse to release him on a few days notice in the middle of preparing for a match or a tour somewhere?
vancity eagle wrote: Thu May 16, 2024 3:05 pm

But calling up a homebased winger to replace Chukwueze sounds like complete utter corruption.

wiseone wrote: Thu May 16, 2024 3:33 pm Might it also be that putting a European based player on standby means his European club will likely conjure some ojoro and refuse to release him on a few days notice in the middle of preparing for a match or a tour somewhere?

They cannot conjure up anything to prevent a player who has been placed on standby.

Not to mention, the season is OVER.

Are you guys really going to bend over backwards to defend this nonsense.

We wait and see but I hope they don’t turn our beloved SE to a market for HB players

Dammy wrote: Thu May 16, 2024 3:52 pm We wait and see but I hope they don’t turn our beloved SE to a market for HB players
You already know that is exactly what is going to happen.

There are already reports the Egu said Finidi will ALWAYS work with hb players in the team.

They have snuck the hb quota back. This is why I preferred a foreign coach.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu May 16, 2024 2:52 pm

Totally disgusting.
From what I read there are 4 NPFL players in the preliminary list of 35. This doesn't seem that unreasonable. Consider at least 1 is probably a keeper.

On what grounds is that reasonable? Are the 4 hb players better than other players playing abroad or is just "test" to "see" if they're good enough. Because, if the SE is for scouting new players that might be good enough, it's better for us to just field 100% hb until we find the talent and stop wasting money of fb players. Abi?

Totally disgusting.
Owngoal? :roll: :roll: :roll:

They have already shortlisted 35 players from where they will call the 25 who will be in camp.

What I have been seeing from reports is that those who were against hiring a local coach are contriving reasons to affirm their biases. Regardless of who the coach is, someone will have a problem with the players called up.
Let's wait and see who is called up.
Who gets to start.
How they are lined up.
And ultimately, the RESULTS!

...which is why I said "a tour somewhere".

Picking players who live in Nigeria is not illegal under FIFA statues BTW.

vancity eagle wrote: Thu May 16, 2024 3:47 pm
They cannot conjure up anything to prevent a player who has been placed on standby.

Not to mention, the season is OVER.

Are you guys really going to bend over backwards to defend this nonsense.

They are now saying Awoniyi has made the squad.

A very poor decision, considering he has barely played any football at all, and has never been a key part of the team.

I have never been sold on Awoniyi.
pindal123

Post by pindal123 »

vancity eagle wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 2:54 pm They are now saying Awoniyi has made the squad.

A very poor decision, considering he has barely played any football at all, and has never been a key part of the team.

I have never been sold on Awoniyi.
Awonyi is a great player. If he has never been a key player of the team is because he has never had the chance.

Why do we lock threads where people name the wrong squad but keep threads open when unsubstantiated corruption allegations are made?

aruako1 wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 4:06 pm Why do we lock threads where people name the wrong squad but keep threads open when unsubstantiated corruption allegations are made?
Did they open a thread to make unsubstantiated corruption allegations?

It is the 17th. ScoreNigeria is reporting the list will be released soon. Camp starts on May 28.

My prediction of the 25 man list
GK- Nwabili, Uzoho, Ojo
DF- Aina, Onyemachi, Awazien, Ekong, Ajayi, Osayi, Collins, Bassey, Omeruo
MF- Iwobi, Onyedika, Yusuf, Ndidi, Onyeka, Izuogu

FW- Osimhen, Boniface, Iheanacho, Moffi, Lookman, Tella, Chukwuze

aruako1 wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 4:06 pm Why do we lock threads where people name the wrong squad but keep threads open when unsubstantiated corruption allegations are made?
Araoko, why are you always taking sides with corruption?

danfo driver wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 5:17 pm
Araoko, why are you always taking sides with corruption?
Lol. I'm against corruption and unsubstantiated slurs. I don't want Siasia and Salisu in our team for a reason. Now I'm sure you get my point.

Cellular wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 5:03 pm
Did they open a thread to make unsubstantiated corruption allegations?
They do it all the time. And they get a free pass. And they insert them in other threads. We can't clamp down on certain types of disinformation and allow others. It should be all or nothing.

I hope they turn the SE into a market for HB players.

pindal123

Post by pindal123 »

ohenhen1 wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 5:12 pm It is the 17th. ScoreNigeria is reporting the list will be released soon. Camp starts on May 28.

GK- Nwabili, Uzoho, Ojo

This squad is much worse than the rumored one, which included Okonkwo, Adarabioyo, Okoli, Osho and Njinmah.
It seems that after Rohr’s era we aren’t anymore able to convince players with dual nationality to play for us!

pindal123 wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 8:22 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Fri May 17, 2024 5:12 pm It is the 17th. ScoreNigeria is reporting the list will be released soon. Camp starts on May 28.

GK- Nwabili, Uzoho, Ojo

This squad is much worse than the rumored one, which included Okonkwo, Adarabioyo, Okoli, Osho and Njinmah.
It seems that after Rohr’s era we aren’t anymore able to convince players with dual nationality to play for us!
That list was packed with players who’re yet to commit to us or never played for us. Na pipe dream.