Page 55 of 56

Re: NIGERIA V CROATIA 0-2 (match thread) - Links/Lineup

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:51 pm
by cchinukw
Robotnik wrote:
otite wrote:Guys, we are winning the next two games to lead the group. It's going to be a shocker.
:roll:
This is actually possible with this set of of players, but Rohr has to ring the changes.
Certainly possible. It's just unlikely at this point.

Anyway, we're here to learn. :roll:
Na academy we we dey?

To borrow an Ayo Akinfe quote and I paraphrase, the National Team is no place to learn your trade. You either come prepared or stay well away.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:52 pm
by The YeyeMan
txj wrote:We can’t keep firing managers and constantly rebuilding. We need to build on what we have.
Nor can we ignore or reward failure.

A new coach can build upon and continue the work started by Rohr. Pinnick has done well to put a lot of the organisation and structure in place; that effort is arguably more significant than Rohr's.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 6:05 pm
by Damunk
txj wrote:We can’t keep firing managers and constantly rebuilding. We need to build on what we have.

A new coach can build upon and continue the work started by Rohr. Pinnick has done well to put a lot of the organisation and structure in place; that effort is arguably more significant than Rohr's.
TY, you know that aint gonna happen. It never has!
We as a nation need to learn how to hold our nerve and try something called perseverance for once.
We are too flighty!

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 6:19 pm
by The YeyeMan

We as a nation need to learn how to hold our nerve and try something called perseverance for once.
We are too flighty!
I think talk about rebuilding is often overstated and misunderstood...

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 6:32 pm
by txj

We are too flighty!
For me, I think the first thing is to commission a number of people to do a technical analysis of our performance, covering both in game and longer technical issues. And I’m not talking about the stupid comments from Rohr about the clubs our players play for.

It clearly goes beyond Rohr. Never expected anything from him and this team.

We are not producing players and that is a far, far more serious issue.

I mean, we are in the WC with a third division GK.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 6:46 pm
by Coach
Third division?

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 7:20 pm
by Lolly
Heliopolis wrote:The good news is that Nigeria is playing the weakest team in the group next while Croatia is capable of beating Argentina and a draw is also probable. If things go according to plan, Nigeria will go into their last match with 3 points to Argentina's 2. I still expect Croatia and Argentina to advance but Nigeria has better odds of doing so than most African teams in this WC.
The weakest team for us is not Iceland. For a team like Nigeria that creates very few chances, playing a team that defends so well will be so difficult. Croatia will be our easiest game and we will regret not going all out to win. But no sentiments, we are the weakest in the group.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 7:29 pm
by marutimon
Lolly wrote:
Heliopolis wrote:The good news is that Nigeria is playing the weakest team in the group next while Croatia is capable of beating Argentina and a draw is also probable. If things go according to plan, Nigeria will go into their last match with 3 points to Argentina's 2. I still expect Croatia and Argentina to advance but Nigeria has better odds of doing so than most African teams in this WC.
The weakest team for us is not Iceland. For a team like Nigeria that creates very few chances, playing a team that defends so well will be so difficult. Croatia will be our easiest game and we will regret not going all out to win. But no sentiments, we are the weakest in the group.
If you have a clinical finisher like Iheanacho, than a few chances is enough.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 7:45 pm
by folem

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 7:59 pm
by realtrouble

We are too flighty!
For me, I think the first thing is to commission a number of people to ddo a technical analysis of our performance, covering both in game and longer technical issues. And I’m not talking about the stupid comments from Rohr about the clubs our players play for.

Are you Pa Oni in disguise :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 9:01 pm
by GREENWHITEGREEN

We are too flighty!
For me, I think the first thing is to commission a number of people to do a technical analysis of our performance, covering both in game and longer technical issues. And I’m not talking about the stupid comments from Rohr about the clubs our players play for.

With all due respect, that is wishful thinking. Many of us have been on this forum since 1998. it's one thing to lie to others, but another thing entirely to continue to lie to ourselves. I strongly suspect that our problem is much deeper. God has given us more than many other countries in the world. No amount of praying will help us. Nigeria is a sick country.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 9:27 pm
by Odas
Yes the loss hurts, but we lose one game and ALL HELL broke loose? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Come-on, guys! Let's wait till after the tournament before SPILLING our fires> we might do well after-all. All is NOT lost yet

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 10:11 pm
by joao

We are too flighty!

All this, 'throwing the baby out with the bath water', just after one loss to start the tournament?
Talk about a lack of mental confidence to rebound, and fight our way out of the hole we dug ourselves in.

I believe many of us claiming to be sports (football) experts, fail to realize the possibilities
we have if we put in the effort and get some lucky breaks. If we can feel and utter such pessimism
as fans, why should we expect any better from the team?
For me, the tournament is not over till we are truly eliminated. At least, let's hold some belief.

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 4:52 am
by Kunle
Odas wrote:Yes the loss hurts, but we lose one game and ALL HELL broke loose? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Come-on, guys! Let's wait till after the tournament before SPILLING our fires> we might do well after-all. All is NOT lost yet
Yes o, we might as well lift the trophy :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 5:40 am
by greg
Kunle wrote:
Odas wrote:Yes the loss hurts, but we lose one game and ALL HELL broke loose? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Come-on, guys! Let's wait till after the tournament before SPILLING our fires> we might do well after-all. All is NOT lost yet
Yes o, we might as well lift the trophy :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Says Mr "we'll beat Croatia. You can take that to the bank". He might yet be correct. If he is, then it'll be a story similar to Bulgaria's at the 94 World cup. I don't wish anyone bad, but it'll be a lot easier if Messi doesn't play in our match with the Argies. Rohr is a terrible wildcard that we all weren't expecting though.

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 12:43 pm
by marko
Formation ended up been wrong, mikel is no playmaker but i suspect the coach will use the same formation against Iceland

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 3:11 pm
by Oguleftie
Enough of talking North, South, East, & West.
It is a clueless coach when it comes to inviting & selecting naija players.
You build a house on quick sand, it will buckle, fall or collapse.
Luckily for SE their next match is against a team playing kick away, run, & jump football.

Re: NIGERIA V CROATIA 0-0 (match thread) - Links/Lineup

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:19 pm
by mouko
tunde72 wrote:Am shaking seriously, i have went out several times into the sun but to no avail. Chaiiii God please give us this day.
I am or I'm

Re: NIGERIA V CROATIA 0-0 (match thread) - Links/Lineup

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:07 am
by tfco
mouko wrote:
tunde72 wrote:Am shaking seriously, i have went out several times into the sun but to no avail. Chaiiii God please give us this day.
I am or I'm
You missed the important one

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:24 pm
by greg
Why is this thread still a sticky? Abeg somebody uplug the hole and let it go down the drain

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:48 pm
by cchinukw
All this talk about players and clubs is of not much consequence.

This player in Iceland, Birkir Bjarnason is listed as playing for Aston Villa in the English Championship.

How about Jón Daði Böðvarsson? He plays for Reading.

This is a country that a few years ago didn't register in the first 100 of FIFA ranking.

The Danish team that whopped our asses in 1998 were using Championship players on their squad if memory serves me correctly.

How about English players? Only 4 years ago, they had hit rock bottom and couldn't go any lower.

So it is all about the coach and system, guys. The coach has to know his team and bring out the best in them.

Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:22 am
by jungle-jawara
I wonder what all these folks will say when we qualify for the second round. See you there folks

Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:00 pm
by Ipe Grams
jungle-jawara wrote:I wonder what all these folks will say when we qualify for the second round. See you there folks

We talking of playing the worst brand of football and you talking about qualifying. :?