Nigeria 1vs 2 Algeria: FT

Re: Nigeria 1vs 2 Algeria: FT

chif456 wrote:Bottom line we lost to a better team on the day
Nothing more to add :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

theYemster wrote:I'd like to know what Rohr's tactics were. :?
Basically what they did all day..............................Old man Guediora, Bennacer and Feghouli basically ran at Etebo and Ndidi all day, Collins, Iwobi, Awaziem, and Omerou basically had to help them out on several occasions.

Our Attack was toothless, the only chance we had Ighalo decided to drift to the right instead of moving the ball towards the goalie.

They basically studied out tactics well.

Purity wrote:Time for Amuneke to to take over
I guess you missed Tanzania :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
ukwala
Re: Nigeria 1 vs 1 Algeria: Second half

Post by ukwala »

Lolly wrote:One of our player dropped to the ground on the wall
Strange move ! Was that to block the kick from going under the wall? Is it not better to face the ball, see where it is going and try to use a leg to block it??

Despite their tactics the game was still evenly matched out until that QUALITY goal. Go and rewatch the match and you will see

john12, if evenly matched out means they didn’t convert the myriad of opportunities they created then you’re right but the truth is that they outplayed us in every way imaginable❗️

wale1974 wrote:
There is so much to add that this comment betrays the intelligence, honesty, and integrity that we all know you have.

Senator WIRES wrote:Algeria Fans In Paris :-x , Where are the EAGUS fans in London, New York, :roll: ?

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/articl ... olice.html
and the clueless mcal said the goalcup get more kramp pass AFCON...this is in Paris
That one don disappear since their wives started asking for equal pay. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Anyone can see that, they cancelled out Chukwueze especially, Musa with experience was able to adjust he started coming in instead but his decision making let him down still. But Chukwueze simply did not or could not depending on what he was asked to do. And to think Rohr waited till 70 something minutes to tweak something that that was not working.
That's what I said during the game thread that I don't know where on the field Chukwueze was playing cos he was married out. Ighalo too was ineffective and should've been yanked earlier as well. This was not a game for him. The Algerians were fast as well as physical enough to handle Ighalo. This was why I wanted Rohr to try out Osimhen and Onyekuru in the Madagascar match so we would have that option when the time came. They were faster than us and played with more pace. We couldn't match that. Ighalo killed like two far break opportunities allowing the Algerians to get back and set their defence.

In my non professional, less knowledgeable opinion, if your team is trailing at half time in a must win match, you give it at the most, ten minutes of the second half to see if your half time pep talk walked, if not then you make a bloody change if only to shake things up. There's a reason you're allowed a 23 man squad.

We were fortunate to get the penalty which was completely not of our doing.

Kneedeep

Post by Kneedeep »

Kneedeep wrote:The match stats do not follow the match we "watched" on social media. Allegedly the "better" Algerians only had two shots on target. Ball possession was 50-50. If the SE were garbage then the ___
(fill in the blank) are garbage-adjacent

https://www.espn.co.uk/football/matchst ... eId=539318
Onye nkuzi.

This is what I posted on page 33 of the match thread...

Cellular wrote:Just saw a shot of the stats.

Stats can lie sha.
And I still hold that view.
The person keeping the stats must be sleeping to say two shots on target. They scored two goals to begin with, given one is an own goal. Then that one to one that Akpeyi saved, thank God it was not Mahrez that had that chance it would have ended at the back of the net cos he is more clinical. Then you have that bazooka that richoted off our crossbar... Where did they get only two?

Algeria should have finished the game off in the first half.
Since two people wey sabi football talk am, I accept under advisement. If they get washed by Senegal, I no dey accept again :taunt:
Advocating rational thought since 1987

Kneedeep wrote:
Kneedeep wrote:The match stats do not follow the match we "watched" on social media. Allegedly the "better" Algerians only had two shots on target. Ball possession was 50-50. If the SE were garbage then the ___
(fill in the blank) are garbage-adjacent

https://www.espn.co.uk/football/matchst ... eId=539318
Onye nkuzi.

This is what I posted on page 33 of the match thread...

Cellular wrote:Just saw a shot of the stats.

Stats can lie sha.
And I still hold that view.
The person keeping the stats must be sleeping to say two shots on target. They scored two goals to begin with, given one is an own goal. Then that one to one that Akpeyi saved, thank God it was not Mahrez that had that chance it would have ended at the back of the net cos he is more clinical. Then you have that bazooka that richoted off our crossbar... Where did they get only two?

Algeria should have finished the game off in the first half.
Since two people wey sabi football talk am, I accept under advisement. If they get washed by Senegal, I no dey accept again :taunt:
@Oloye, from the little I understand about match stats, the collation is still a very manual process to begin with. There is room for human error, if you have limited bodies at the match to do so.

Anyone can see that, they cancelled out Chukwueze especially, Musa with experience was able to adjust he started coming in instead but his decision making let him down still. But Chukwueze simply did not or could not depending on what he was asked to do. And to think Rohr waited till 70 something minutes to tweak something that that was not working.
Dean, Leaving Chukwueze on the pitch was the best thing coward Rohr did and taking him out was his worst mistake..............The Algerian coach planned how to contain Chukwueze but that was at the cost of putting 2 or more players on him, which is a plus for us.
A Keshi would have exploited this -1 to destroy Algeria with offensive football....................the cowardice of Rohr was what 'uselessed' the -1 Algerian advantage that Chukwueze gave us.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

wale1974 wrote:
Nonsense and a silly wowo :curse: analysis.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

We lost to the better team that scored a QUALITY goal. All these he/she/they blah blah blah are just excuses. Just congratulate the best team and move forward because in football there will always be winners and losers

wale1974 wrote:
There is so much to add that this comment betrays the intelligence, honesty, and integrity that we all know you have.
We can't make a Benz out of a Fiat...................We are not that good period.

wale1974 wrote:
We can't make a Benz out of a Fiat...................We are not that good period.
Shameless gasbag. :atc:

The blue print has been there since the pre-worldcup friendlies. Because of players that are not very good with balls at their feet when you run at them they make mistakes. Madagascar knew that as well, England, Croatia, and Argentina also knew it. Run at Ndidi alone and its almost guaranteed turnover and Ekong not great either. That defense doesn't get good unless a replacement is found for Ndidi. Its the same way shoelace Yobo stunk up the joint for so long before Keshi finally retired him, he was not good with the ball at his feed as well.

wale1974 wrote:
We lost to a better COACHED team.

john12 wrote:We lost to the better team that scored a QUALITY goal. All these he/she/they blah blah blah are just excuses. Just congratulate the best team and move forward because in football there will always be winners and losers
What was it that the Great Zee called you again?

I am beginning to believe him.

Algeria is not in the top 10 in Africa... believe it or not.

That used to be your patented excuse. That we lose to teams we are supposed to lose and beat the ones we are supposed to beat based on ranking, quality of players and where they play. Mada#$%&gascar put a lie to this then Algeria come add spanner.

Your massa is a football coward that has a difficult time adjusting when folks checkmate him.

wale1974 wrote:
Kpom!

Dean, Leaving Chukwueze on the pitch was the best thing coward Rohr did and taking him out was his worst mistake..............The Algerian coach planned how to contain Chukwueze but that was at the cost of putting 2 or more players on him, which is a plus for us.
A Keshi would have exploited this -1 to destroy Algeria with offensive football....................the cowardice of Rohr was what 'uselessed' the -1 Algerian advantage that Chukwueze gave us.
Rohr didn't take advantage of the interchangeability of the wide players or even trying to play Musa centrally to cause confusion or disorganization for the Algerians. He stuck them there and refused to change.

Even when he realized that all 3 forwards were ineffective going forward.

wale1974 wrote:
Shameless gasbag. :atc:
I guess you missed your Medication again this morning.................It is well with you.

wale1974 wrote:
Don't mind CE internet coaches.............lol