FIFA World Cup™ 2018: Nigeria 1 -2 Argentina FT

Re: FIFA World Cup™ 2018: Nigeria - Argentina: NGA - Pre-Mat

LOL @ the Shaku Shaku questions. Idowu is pretty polished. He answered his questions very well

niyi wrote:what's the stuff about Victor Moses not contributing because he's not psychologically fit? He had an assist in the last match and defended well. Some Naija journos can ask stupid questions I swear.
Because it is our country, Nigerian Journalists will ask the most relevant questions to the team.

The foreign Journalists are just looking for sensational headlines (that are actually meaningless).

For example the question tabled to Idowu about Messi. A lot of outfits are using it now, sounds great, catchy, sensational..but what does it really mean? Nothing really.

The Nigerian Journalists are there with a different motive than their foreign counterparts.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

bushboy wrote:
niyi wrote:what's the stuff about Victor Moses not contributing because he's not psychologically fit? He had an assist in the last match and defended well. Some Naija journos can ask stupid questions I swear.
The journalist is 100% correct. Moses has been piss poor! Terrible in the last 4 games in a row! The assist he is credited with was a lucky one. His cross was pathetic, and it took excellent ball control from Musa to profit from it. Personally, I would like to see Ebuehi bench him at RWB with Idowu on the left.
Bench Moses for Tyrone? Nna stick to your day job biko !

My goodness the disrespect these pundits dey give us , my goodness...smh

Certain things one can deduce. We'll likely play the 3-5-2 with Mikel, Moses and Musa all starting. Idowu at the press conference might be a decoy because it might make it appear he will start. I think the plan is to start with the side that started the second half against Iceland, but will emphasis on fighting for the ball early in midfield so we don't draw them too close to our area to concede fouls. From his continued emphasis on fitness, there might be a plan to run them ragged. So everyone must be prepared to run from the first whistle down to the last minute. This also suggests there might be early or tactical changes to account for tiring players. If we are ahead by 2 in the first half, I fully expect Ogu to come in and help close out the game.

The strength of the squad will be tested today and I see a good game with a Nigeria victory. Don't rule out a nervous last 10 with them pulling a goal back and Iceland going ahead against Croatia (we being 2-0 up by then).

Come on it's game day, Lets go SE..fire burn the wicked

uglyoneiamagain
Nigeria (-) vs Argentina (-) Match Thread

Post by uglyoneiamagain »

Line Ups to yet be announced.

Nigeria XI: Uzoho, Balogun, Ekong, Omeruo, Idowu, Moses, Ndidi, Mikel, Etebo, Musa, Iheanacho

Substitutes:: Ezenwa, Akpeyi, Iwobi, Ebuehi, Shehu, Ighalo, Nwankwo, Onazi, Obi, Ogu, Awaziem, Echiejile

Argentina XI: Armani, Mercado, Tagliafico, Banega, Higuain, Messi, Di Maria, Mascherano, Perez, Rojo, Otamendi

Substitutes: Guzman, Ansaldi, Biglia, Fazio, Acuna, Meza, Salvio, Aguero, Lo Celso, Dybala, Pavon, Caballero

Kick off: 18:00 GMT
Last edited by uglyoneiamagain on Tue Jun 26, 2018 5:56 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Re: Nigeria (-) vs Argentina (-) Match Thread

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

uglyoneiamagain

Bigpokey24 wrote::roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

:lol: Dem Go Hia Wien

Shownoja wrote:Certain things one can deduce. We'll likely play the 3-5-2 with Mikel, Moses and Musa all starting. Idowu at the press conference might be a decoy because it might make it appear he will start. I think the plan is to start with the side that started the second half against Iceland, but will emphasis on fighting for the ball early in midfield so we don't draw them too close to our area to concede fouls. From his continued emphasis on fitness, there might be a plan to run them ragged. So everyone must be prepared to run from the first whistle down to the last minute. This also suggests there might be early or tactical changes to account for tiring players. If we are ahead by 2 in the first half, I fully expect Ogu to come in and help close out the game.

The strength of the squad will be tested today and I see a good game with a Nigeria victory. Don't rule out a nervous last 10 with them pulling a goal back and Iceland going ahead against Croatia (we being 2-0 up by then).
I Amen that bro.

Shownoja wrote:Certain things one can deduce. We'll likely play the 3-5-2 with Mikel, Moses and Musa all starting. Idowu at the press conference might be a decoy because it might make it appear he will start. I think the plan is to start with the side that started the second half against Iceland, but will emphasis on fighting for the ball early in midfield so we don't draw them too close to our area to concede fouls. From his continued emphasis on fitness, there might be a plan to run them ragged. So everyone must be prepared to run from the first whistle down to the last minute. This also suggests there might be early or tactical changes to account for tiring players. If we are ahead by 2 in the first half, I fully expect Ogu to come in and help close out the game.

I think Idowu will start. I think Rohr will start the same team that started the Iceland match.

That gives me the crawlies.

That formation always starts out on the back foot with misplaced passing and unforced errors.

Provided they keep the errors to nil and stay focused, I am cool.

Line up?

uglyoneiamagain

Cellular wrote:Line up?
Still nothing concrete but speculation.. should be sure in an hour or so.

For those who don't already know:

https://www.foxsports.com/
You can signup with your cable info to watch the game live
At least you can listen in live

That gives me the crawlies.

That formation always starts out on the back foot with misplaced passing and unforced errors.

Provided they keep the errors to nil and stay focused, I am cool.
you done start again whining

balo wrote:For those who don't already know:

Best place to watch if you are in the US.

joplass wrote:
balo wrote:For those who don't already know:

Best place to watch if you are in the US.

Been missing out. I never thought of it. All those games that were played while at work I missed them.

GOOD luck to the Eagles. Let's batterr these Argies

Wishing them goodluck but the coach really undermined them by starting Idowu. Anyone else of Echiejile, Joel, or even Shehu would have been an upgrade talkless of Ebuehi. Idowu does not even play like a professional footballer, more like Sunday pickup soccer.
blueangel

Post by blueangel »

Go Eagles Go

Make Nigeria, Africa Proud.

:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
K
Re: FIFA World Cup™ 2018: Nigeria - Argentina:

Post by K »

Is this the match thread? I don't want to be refreshing the wrong one like the last time :D
visit the village square