Page 2 of 2

Re: IS THERE A FOOTBALLER WHO NEVER MISSED A PK?

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 4:56 pm
by paj
maceo4 wrote:Victor Ikpeba....
2000 Afcon pk? Or maybe he didn't really miss? :?

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 8:12 pm
by jette1
First of all let’s us acknowledge that football has naturally and inadvertently undergone levels of evolutional twiks in concert with multiple inevitable cultural, psychosocial and political changes around the world. Penalties of those those days of pure English run & shoot rugby-type football or Nigerian type police game of - ( if you miss the ball don’t miss the leg)- the penalties were often clear and unquestionable. Those awards were often well justified and the victims are almost always carried off in stretchers for treatment. Mere brought-downs inside 18 was never meant to merit automatic penalty as has become the case these days of associated generational watered-down penalty awards. Football is a contact sports so much so more than any other sports except wrestling hence bringing a player down in the 18 as long as you are not trying to injure them or stop them from an obvious goal scoring chance isn’t a justifiable penalty award merit

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 10:20 pm
by maceo4
paj wrote:
maceo4 wrote:Victor Ikpeba....
2000 Afcon pk? Or maybe he didn't really miss? :?
VAR no dey that time :boo:

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 3:21 am
by Ezesportsworld
Christian Gabu Madu. He will tell Okala where he will place the ball but you can't reach it...

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 8:58 pm
by wiseone
Yes - hundreds of players throughout their career never missed a PK (on the basis of taking and scoring only 1-2 PKs in their career!). You need a sensible cut-off (like 50 penalties taken in a career) to separate PT and FT penalty takers. There is an excellent CE thread at the URL below about the best PK takers in the game's history (people like Le Tissier, Del Piero, Lambert etc):

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=32650&hilit=penalty+life

In that thread I said:

"The most ruthless from the spot I have seen:

1) Le Tissier (48 goals out of 49 penalties)
2) Del Piero (consistently put it in the top corner, scored 62 penalties in his career)
3) Ray Stewart (scored 76 out of 86 career penalties). Former West Ham defender. Used to absolutely hammer the ball.
4) Van Nistelrooy (always hit the ball hard into the bottom right - yet GKs could never save it even though they knew this!)
5) Shearer (always hit the ball with so much power)"

paj wrote:..Just wondering....

Posted: Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:45 pm
by TonyTheTigerKiller
cic old boy wrote:Christian Madu, Great Olympics of Accra, Enugu Rangers and Nigeria. He never missed even in training. He used to bet Okala 10 naira in training that he will take 10 pens and score all. And he did.
... and you just happened to be along for the ride in all those training sessions where he scored all the penalties :mrgreen: ❗️

Posted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 3:08 am
by omey2k4
Yeking never missed a PK

Posted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 4:23 pm
i know i never missed a PK while playing , however most folks here do not watch sunday league games.... i even scored a television goal one time , it was one of my best goals in a competitive game not televised

Posted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 6:50 pm
by maceo4
Just realized Enyeama is a candidate:

https://www.instagram.com/p/B-uEYB1guY1 ... yrji9tvmr0

Posted: Wed Apr 08, 2020 8:06 pm
by Tobi17
maceo4 wrote:Just realized Enyeama is a candidate:

How predictable :taunt:

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 2:25 am
by maceo4
maceo4 wrote:Just realized Enyeama is a candidate:

How predictable :taunt:
Who go stop that pk ehn :mrgreen:

Posted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 3:21 am
by kalani JR
Murphy Akanji has never missed a penalty.

Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2021 1:01 pm
by wiseone
Ivan Toney of Brentford- currently has a 100% record from the spot (12 out of 12).

Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2021 3:52 pm
by iworo
Ledio Pano is one of the players who never missed a penalty in his career. He is an Albanian legend.

Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2021 6:37 pm
by Gotti
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:45 pm
cic old boy wrote:Christian Madu, Great Olympics of Accra, Enugu Rangers and Nigeria. He never missed even in training. He used to bet Okala 10 naira in training that he will take 10 pens and score all. And he did.
... and you just happened to be along for the ride in all those training sessions where he scored all the penalties :mrgreen: ❗️
Forget "training sessions", he never missed a PK in an official match...

Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2021 6:39 pm
by Gotti
Synopsis wrote: Thu Apr 02, 2020 2:18 amIheanacho
Nacho missed a PK against Newcastle last season...

Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2021 7:14 pm
by TonyTheTigerKiller
Gotti wrote: Sun Sep 19, 2021 6:37 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Tue Apr 07, 2020 4:45 pm
Forget "training sessions", he never missed a PK in an official match...
By my reckoning, and I could be wrong, Christian Madu retired from playing football when you were very young. Prior to the Rangers International, he played his football in Ghana, at a time when record keeping was little more than an afterthought. How can you be so sure of you’re assertion that he never missed a PK in an official match...❓❗️

Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2021 11:40 pm
by Synopsis
Gotti wrote: Sun Sep 19, 2021 6:39 pm
Synopsis wrote: Thu Apr 02, 2020 2:18 amIheanacho
Nacho missed a PK against Newcastle last season...
My post was before his miss.

Posted: Mon Sep 20, 2021 10:51 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
paj wrote: Wed Apr 01, 2020 8:12 pm ..Just wondering....
Christian Madu

Posted: Tue Sep 21, 2021 6:21 pm
by Polly
That'd be me, of course!

Put the felele there, let me step forward. ALWAYS!

Posted: Wed Sep 22, 2021 6:33 pm
by COOKING SPOON
bushboy wrote: Wed Apr 01, 2020 10:45 pm I believe Matthew LeTissier had a 100% record. I could be wrong sha.
He only missed one penalty in his entire career.