Ivory Coast vs Nigeria (0-1 ) Ekong FT

Re: Ivory Coast vs Nigeria ( 11AM CT, 5pm Nigerian Time )

mcal wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 4:03 pm ...for goodness sake, why do you guys hang on formation?
who gives a flipping flop?
we have 11 players on the field, they all defend, and they all attack
and any of them can distribute the ball, and any can score.
Damn people, just beating about to critic the coach when the real culprits are starring y'all in eyes everyday.
There is a reason different formations exist.

According to you it doesn't matter. So basically tactics don't matter. Why even have a coach then ?

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 4:07 pm
mcal wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 4:03 pm ...for goodness sake, why do you guys hang on formation?
Damn people, just beating about to critic the coach when the real culprits are starring y'all in eyes everyday.

According to you it doesn't matter. So basically tactics don't matter. Why even have a coach then ?
...tactic matters. These are pros, I will only emphasis this formation thing to pee wee kids, not multi million naira players who have gone thru the ranks of playing football to get to where they are today.

Unless you dey bet/gamble on formation somewhere and losing money, okay o :laugh: :laugh:

Kai E. Guinea is flogging Ginea Bissau 4-1.

Osimehn should hang his head in shame. These 3rd division players can finish, but our own African player of the year is a disgrace.

Hat trick for a 3rd division player.

According to the cable, the line up is

Nwabali
Bassey - Ekong - Ajayi
Zaidu - Onyeka - Iwobi - Aina
Lookman - Osimhen - Chukwueze

https://www.thecable.ng/nigeria-vs-ivor ... ead-attack

Oboy or O'man, enough with the negativity na ..
vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 4:15 pm Kai E. Guinea is flogging Ginea Bissau 4-1.

Osimehn should hang his head in shame. These 3rd division players can finish, but our own African player of the year is a disgrace.

1naija wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 4:16 pm According to the cable, the line up is

Nwabali
Bassey - Ekong - Ajayi
Zaidu - Onyeka - Iwobi - Aina
Lookman - Osimhen - Chukwueze

https://www.thecable.ng/nigeria-vs-ivor ... ead-attack
Big call to switch to a back 3 if true. Aina and Zaidu will have to run their cotton socks off

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 4:15 pm Kai E. Guinea is flogging Ginea Bissau 4-1.

You are being nice to Osimhen! You are yet to wish him death or for him to have a career ending injury.

Osimhen should thank his stars

This is a gamble formation
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Na the same formation wey Guinea take beat us for friendly

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 4:07 pm

That’s a guy that knows nothing about football…..

Truly we will play 5-4-1

We will lose if he does not change it within 30mins

ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 3:51 pm 343 is a STUPID formation, given that our wingers have been poor, and we are weakening our midfield.

Why not play 352 so we can strengthen the midfield and utilize our strength in striking options.

Pissero just isn't thinking right.
343 can also be 361. Not sure why all these noise about formation as long as they can defend as a unit. Nothing is static. just because a player is in the attacking line doesn't mean he can't fall back in the middle or defend. I just don't get this formation uproar.
adeaderije

Post by adeaderije »

Disgrace ke? Can you tone it down a bit
I no be gentleman at all o

packerland wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 3:55 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 3:51 pm 343 is a STUPID formation, given that our wingers have been poor, and we are weakening our midfield.

Why not play 352 so we can strengthen the midfield and utilize our strength in striking options.

How many times did he play 3-4-3 in friendlies? I don’t know about this coach. This looks like desperation to me.

Don't let VE confuse you here...

A 3-4-3 as in this case does not mean you only have 2 MFs. That's not how formations work. Its not a simple bean counting exercise!

Vancity Eagle has simply refused to learn...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

CIV has declared a holiday and ordered people to the stadium to support the team.
Haaaaaaa….. is this legal under FIFA rules? :scared: :sneaky:

CIV people are so far, wonderful hosts. It’s like a carnival in the stadium. I hope it stays that way when we spank them.
Okocha10

Post by Okocha10 »

3-4-3 will not work against CIV. crowding the midfield will exposure our back line, especially with the likes of Onyeaka in the midfield
<b> EGBON MEKUS OF CYBEREAGUS</b>

It just means there will be more people crying at the stadium after we beat them.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 5:03 pm CIV has declared a holiday and ordered people to the stadium to support the team.

txj wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 5:02 pm
packerland wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 3:55 pm

How many times did he play 3-4-3 in friendlies? I don’t know about this coach. This looks like desperation to me.

Don't let VE confuse you here...

A 3-4-3 as in this case does not mean you only have 2 MFs. That's not how formations work. Its not a simple bean counting exercise!

Vancity Eagle has simply refused to learn...
I actually think it’s a good formation for the folk we have. Slightly surprised as Samu ahead of Nacho but all good. Expect Bassey to step into middle in possession and Lookman to play really close to Iwobi.

I’m less clear what this will mean for the press but if we do press, Iwobi is going to have be brave and leave Onyeka behind knowing the wingback and centre half can provide coverage

Maybe most importantly, I think this will be a surprise to the Ivorians.
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

Possibly Semi Ajayi will play in MF and the team will remain with 4 at the back.

Aina - Bassey - Ekong - Zaidu
--------------Ajaji ----------------
-------Onyeka----Aribo--------
Chukwueze ----------Lookman
----------Osimhen--------------

1naija wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 5:07 pm It just means there will be more people crying at the stadium after we beat them.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 5:03 pm CIV has declared a holiday and ordered people to the stadium to support the team.
:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

This is what I suspect also. Ajayi was excellent in that role during the last AFCON
Paveman wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 5:08 pm Possibly Semi Ajayi will play in MF and the team will remain with 4 at the back.

Aina - Bassey - Ekong - Zaidu
--------------Ajaji ----------------
-------Onyeka----Aribo--------
Chukwueze ----------Lookman
----------Osimhen--------------