Nigeria vs Angola (1-0) Lookman x1, Moses assist FT

Re: Nigeria vs Angola (1-0) Lookman HT

Iwobi is really balling. His final balls going forward are very incisive. I love it!!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

This game is ours for the taking for one simple reason. The Angolans have no pace throughout their team. Every rush for the ball, we get there first. We made that count for the goal and need to punish them further in the 2nd half.

ZAIDU SANUSSI has been extremely poor. Please can we have a better left side midfielder. Not sure what has happened to him, but has stunk our team out throughout this tournament.
Last edited by Goldleaf on Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

The pitch and Sanusi are killing us….we have to be careful that we do not just sit back and defend. This Angolan team has a goal or 2 in them….

We need to counter and get a couple more goals to be safe….

Iwobi has been excellent in the middle…he is keeping Yusuf off the team - the guy is super disciplined….

A slightly cagey game, with Nigeria well ahead on points...

The SE remain quite balanced. Orienting the block in the direction of the center of MF and allowing the fullbacks deal with the Angolan wingers 1v1. Real test of this is on the left side with Zaidu needing to be on his toes and yet offering an outlet for attacks.

He's been quite good, save for his deliveries...

Iwobi in MF is the superior player across the entire pitch...He needs to find Victor on one of the thru balls...

We've played well but need to control the game some more...
Last edited by txj on Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

wanaj0 wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:43 pm
bushboy wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:39 pm Leave Zaidu. Our keeper dey on vacation. This game has 3-0 written all over it. Almost too easy.
Same keeper that made a point blank save? Ok oo
Chief, he is just saying our boys are playing well defensively. Yes, the goalkeeper is solid.

fabio wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:46 pm The replay of Nwabali save at 03:45, shows how very good it was. If na someone else, na goal.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: you dey fear to call him name?

I think that would have been overruled for offside if it went in.

Moses and Lookman swapping positions has helped.
sabb

Post by sabb »

metalalloy wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:40 pm
SylverEagles wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:39 pm If we talk now, they will come and tell us how Zaidu is Roberto Carlos and Cafu rolled into one.

What a waste.
LOL. He just second guessed himself there. Not sure what’s up this tourney for him, he has been better offensively for the eagles in the past.
competition don dey for that LB na :D
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

If there ever was a time for Vic to get a goal it would be early in the second half to book our place in the final four.
He is due one please

The centre backs of Angola are scared stiff of Victor Osimhen.
They are also very slow.
Once Angola push up to attack, we can punish them on the counter.
We have the pace and they don't.
Zaidu Sanussi should not be in this team.
Last edited by Goldleaf on Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

nice opeks full stadium,

metalalloy wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:47 pm
fabio wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:46 pm The replay of Nwabali save at 03:45, shows how very good it was. If na someone else, na goal.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: you dey fear to call him name?

I think that would have been overruled for offside if it went in.
I thought so too.

Goldleaf wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:46 pm This game is ours for the taking for one simple reason. The Angolans have no pace throughout their team. Every rush for the ball, we get there first. We made that count for the goal and need to punish them further in the 2nd half.

ZAIDU SANUSSI has been extremely poor. Please can we have a better left side midfielder. Not sure what has happened to him, but has stunk our team out throughout this tournament.
Their forwards are quite fast.

Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

With the exception of all the ree kicks and corner kicks we are giving up, I like what I see with our defense. Angola is going to come out with all guns blazing in the second half and my hope is we catch them on a few counter attacks.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."
lacidi

Post by lacidi »

bushboy wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:39 pm Leave Zaidu. Our keeper dey on vacation. This game has 3-0 written all over it. Almost too easy.
That play was offside. If the goal had gone in, it would have been disallowed.
Its nice when someone shoots ur murderer in the back, without asking to be paid.

Before the match, Angola's coach said they know our weaknesses. I am sure he was speaking about Zaidu, because most of their attacks has come from that side -- the blonde head guy - while their best player, Dala on the left has been relatively quiet.

If the score remains the same, Coachie should consider bringing on Ken Omeruo earlier than usual (around the 65 min mark) for Zaidu and move Bassey to the left wing back for better delivery on counters.

Lookman has been such a revelation.
To think that this squad could’ve actually
had Saka and Eze running the wings in addition.
Thank God they snagged Ademola!

lacidi wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:49 pm
That play was offside. If the goal had gone in, it would have been disallowed.
It would have been dicey on VAR because of Troost-Ekong's trailing leg.
Nwabali was amazing there.
Last edited by Goldleaf on Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

So far so good. The SuperEagles need to remain vigilant on defense; don’t allow those wide players to get by their man❗️

Re: Nigeria vs Angola (0-0)

fabio wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:43 pm
truetalk wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:39 pm
truetalk wrote: Fri Feb 02, 2024 6:13 pm Zaidu is being asked to do something he isn't capable of.

He is a decent defender, but not good going forward, as such cannot be a wing back or wing forward.

Bruno may be better at this stage. Tyronne and Jamilu Collins should have been the extra men for this squad if we want to keep using this formation going forward. 6 wingbacks/wingforwards/full backs (whatever you choose to call them)
Coaching is not too hard.

These guys are going to make the fans turn on Zaidu, & it will be unfair.

He does not fit this system.
People are forgetting Zaidu release the ball for Simon Moses, which led to the goal. Defensively, he has covered Bassey very well.
The pass was a tad short, which was why the defender had a shot at getting it. He lunged, but missed, or Simon got past him.

He is putting in an effort, and the Coach probably wants to defend from the front, so he may still be his first choice. However, he seems limited offensively, compared to a Collins, Aina, Tyronne, and even the little I've seen of Bruno.

Funny thing is Zaidu is actually playing better in this game than he did against Cameroon, it’s his final ball/decision making that is just baffling for a professional player…It’s no wonder he doesn’t attack much when I watch him for Porto, they know he suck at the most important moment…

Iwobi should be looking to play through balls to Osimhen from the middle. He is very good at those.