Page 3 of 4

Re: Player for player, the current team is VASTLY superior t

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:17 pm
by metalalloy
deanotito wrote:I've tried to ignore this topic because you know...it has to be lunacy

But I can’t anymore. My fren, will you sharap that stinkin mouf!!!

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 7:49 pm
by cchinukw
amafolas wrote:when someone says a semi-retired Mikel of 2019 is superior to an 94 Oliseh. Haba!!!!
Oliseh > Mikel at any stage of their careers. Fact not fiction.

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:08 pm
by bushboy
amafolas wrote:when someone says a semi-retired Mikel of 2019 is superior to an 94 Oliseh. Haba!!!!
Now you're just being totally ridiculous. Mikel has declined, I agree, but at his peak, he was far better than Oliseh. Not even close.

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 12:42 am
by kalani JR
I want to lock this thread but I saving abusing my . mod powers for other things.

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:56 am
by jette1
bushboy wrote:
Now you're just being totally ridiculous. Mikel has declined, I agree, but at his peak, he was far better than Oliseh. Not even close.
Oliseh has to pass a test before he could qualify to eat mikels dung

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:04 am
by okidoki
The thing about the 94 team is the players that made them special were exceptional, if not World class.
These players Okocha, Yekini, Finidi, Amunike would easily walk into this team. This team has potential, and in some areas like the midfield I would say we’ve never had the sort of powerful pair, in Ndidi and Etebo we do now. However we need to give this team at least 3 years, then have this convo again.

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:24 am
by bret- hart
The 94 team would have slapped Croatia around at the last world cup. Please lock this thread.

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 4:50 am
by fishward6
azuka wrote:
bushboy wrote:I was looking again at that 1994 World cup squad, and I dare say today only Finidi, Okocha, Rufai and Yekini could make the grade on the current team.
Mikel is better than Oliseh
Ndidi is better than Adepoju
Musa is better than Siasia
Aina/Ebuehi better than Eguavon

The list goes on....
And let me help you Ighalo is better than Rashidi or Amokachi.
That thing u dey smoke abeg give am back to the person wey pass am to you. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Na Trump e Dey smoke o! This is Fake News Na which player is better than Okocha make u see well before talk rubbish

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 4:59 am
by joplass
joplass wrote::lol: @ the thread

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: its' like saying Clinton Njie is VASTLLY superior to Roger Milla.
yes o

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 6:03 am
by furiously frank
Apples and oranges

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 7:42 am
by Cristao II
Somebody has been on drugs ....

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:57 am
by marko
When Mikel scores a goal at any world cup, then you compare him to Oliseh! That 1994 team that won the nations cup was packed with world class talent! If Abacha was not hopeless, Nigeria would have won 1996 and probably 1998 nations cup with that squad, 2 world class wingers in Amunike and Finidi, compare that to what we have now

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 12:18 pm
by john12
The 1994 team would had slapped Croatia?? Lool Nigerians are the most DELUSIONAL fans worldwide walahi

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 12:44 pm
by aruako1
john12 wrote:The 1994 team would had slapped Croatia?? Lool Nigerians are the most DELUSIONAL fans worldwide walahi
Yes. And it wouldn't have been close.

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 2:57 pm
by bushboy
marko wrote:When Mikel scores a goal at any world cup, then you compare him to Oliseh! That 1994 team that won the nations cup was packed with world class talent! If Abacha was not hopeless, Nigeria would have won 1996 and probably 1998 nations cup with that squad, 2 world class wingers in Amunike and Finidi, compare that to what we have now
The circular reasoning and goalpost shifting that happens on this website makes having a conversation difficult. Is world cup goals the total measure of a player? In that case Ahmed Musa is the greatest soccer player in the history of Nigerian football.

Mikel did more both for club and country than Oliseh ever did. They have both won ANC and Mikel has CL, Europa, FA cup, league titles, Olympic medal to his name. For anyone who is not just seeking an argument to even suggest Oliseh is better is mind boggling.

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 2:57 pm
by john12
The same way they were running their mouth that ndidi will tame modric and co prior to Wc until they were taught a football lesson. The Croatia midfield at that 2018 WC is one of the best midfield of all time I highly doubt Nigeria 1994 team will even get a shot in target let alone score

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 2:58 pm
by john12
Bushboy mikel was a better all round midfielder but as a pure DM, Oliseh was better

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:06 pm
by aruako1
john12 wrote:The same way they were running their mouth that ndidi will tame modric and co prior to Wc until they were taught a football lesson. The Croatia midfield at that 2018 WC is one of the best midfield of all times I highly doubt Nigeria 1994 team will even get a shot in target let alone score
The Croatia midfield is not even the best Croatian midfield of all times. Croatia had a good first round but only beat powerhouses Denmark and Russia on penalties. They managed a 2-1 win over another powerhouse, England before losing to a France team that is not as good as the France team at the turn of the millennium. Against France, their 4-2 loss was made to look respectable because of a howler by Loris. After the WC, they lost 6-1 to Spain and 2-1 to England. So much for one of the best midfields of all time.

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:21 pm
by john12
Story story story you obviously don’t know football saying that’s not the best Croatian midfield of all times. (Conversation end) A team with modric, perisic, kramaric, rakitic, kovacic

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:26 pm
by bushboy
john12 wrote:Bushboy mikel was a better all round midfielder but as a pure DM, Oliseh was better
In EVERY way you want to compare any two players. Mikel is superior to Oliseh.
I love that 94 team as much as anyone, but truth is truth.
Oliseh is to blame for Italy's equalizer.

Posted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 3:36 pm
by john12
I take that back. Yes, 1994 team had a possibility of Winning that Croatia 2018 team it could had gone to anyone our 1994 team had many stars

Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 7:29 am
by Cristao II
bushboy wrote:
marko wrote:When Mikel scores a goal at any world cup, then you compare him to Oliseh! That 1994 team that won the nations cup was packed with world class talent! If Abacha was not hopeless, Nigeria would have won 1996 and probably 1998 nations cup with that squad, 2 world class wingers in Amunike and Finidi, compare that to what we have now
The circular reasoning and goalpost shifting that happens on this website makes having a conversation difficult. Is world cup goals the total measure of a player? In that case Ahmed Musa is the greatest soccer player in the history of Nigerian football.

Mikel did more both for club and country than Oliseh ever did. They have both won ANC and Mikel has CL, Europa, FA cup, league titles, Olympic medal to his name. For anyone who is not just seeking an argument to even suggest Oliseh is better is mind boggling.
Mikel did more for Nigeria than Oliseh? Dear Lord grant me strength.

Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 8:15 am
by cchinukw
john12 wrote:The 1994 team would had slapped Croatia?? Lool Nigerians are the most DELUSIONAL fans worldwide walahi
Please go and watch 94 world cup matches again before you start your nonsense trademark yapping abeg.

Bulgaria back then was like Croatia today with world class Stoichkov as their main man. Yes - Stoichkov!

You are delusional!