My First Eleven for ANC

bim007
My First Eleven for ANC

Post by bim007 »

This is my first eleven based on a 4-4-2 formation:

Goalkeeper - Vincent Enyeama
Left Back - Ifeanyi Udeze
Right Back - Yobo Joseph
Centre Back - Taribo West
Centre Back - Isaac Okoronkwo
Left Wing - Kanu
Right Wing - Utaka
Attacking Midfield - Jay-Jay Okocha
Defensive Midfield - Seyi Olofinjana
Supporting Striker - Yakubu Aiyegbeni.
Top Striker - Aghahowa.

What do you guys think?
Paveman

Post by Paveman »

Might as well have been a 4-0-6 formation. The midfield is almost non-existent.

Nigeria can't play with only one defensive minded midfielder. Kanu, Utaka, and Jay-Jay would leave big holes in the middle of the pitch and Seyi would be out-numbered. I know we haven't got the quality in terms of defensive midfielders but it is still better to play wide players who can defend when necessary. If I can remember correctly, Seyi played as an attacking midfielder for his club so why can't we use him as a second midfielder and let either Yobo or Obodo play behind him. My team selection would look like this:

Goalkeeper - Vincent Enyeama
Left Back - Celestine Babayaro
Right Back - Jonathan Enakhire / (Joseph Yobo if Obodo is prefered in MD)
Centre Back - Taribo West
Centre Back - Isaac Okoronkwo
Left Wing - Kalu
Right Wing - Jay-Jay Okocha
Attacking Midfield - Seyi Olofinjana
Defensive Midfield - Joseph Yobo / Chris Obodo
Supporting Striker - Kanu (this guy is on form based on his last two games)
Top Striker - Aghahowa (Sub Yakubu Aiyegbeni)

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Mai pipul don come again wid dis dem funny line-up. Haba!!!!! Have you guys ever heard of midfield?????????

Just build your team around the Obodo/Olofinjana partnership in centyral midfield and you are then on the right track. Anything that does not take into account the need for two anchormen in the middle of the park is utter nonsense.

Africa has come a long way and we cannot be distracted with these primary school formations. The likes of Senegal and Cameroon will all have at least two ball winners in midfield.