George Weah

mastermind
George Weah

Post by mastermind »

George Weah is the best Striker in Africa. The only african to every win world best player, european and african best player awards in the same year. Roger Milla is great but Weah is the best.

Post by 27 »

George Weah is the best Striker in Africa.
He's actually retired from football.
Roger Milla is great but Weah is the best.
What's the difference?
:?
lowzeewee

Post by lowzeewee »

"George Weah WAS the best Striker in Africa"

"Both are good but Weah is better"

Post by 27 »

"Is" or "Was"?
mblack76
Re: George Weah

Post by mblack76 »

mastermind wrote:George Weah is the best Striker in Africa. The only african to every win world best player, european and african best player awards in the same year. Roger Milla is great but Weah is the best.
In the same Logic Zidane and Ronaldo are better players than Diego was cos they won World player of the year more than once. Also, Diouf is a better player than JJ, Mboma, Eto'o and Abedi (just to name a few) cos he won the African Player of the year more than once!
Re: George Weah

mkizito76 wrote:
mastermind wrote:George Weah is the best Striker in Africa. The only african to every win world best player, european and african best player awards in the same year. Roger Milla is great but Weah is the best.
In the same Logic Zidane and Ronaldo are better players than Diego was cos they won World player of the year more than once. Also, Diouf is a better player than JJ, Mboma, Eto'o and Abedi (just to name a few) cos he won the African Player of the year more than once!
Not quite MKizito, but Weah is the only African that has one the award and deservedly so.

You guys make me laugh, when Milla was playing he didn't even come close to being in the top 50 greatest players in the World! This is a man that was languishing in div 2 France may! He was not even good enough for the first d 1.

Weah on the other hand one the award beating out the likes of Ronaldo, Zidane, Baresi, Maldini, Baggio, Vialli etc. Le creme de la creme. Can you in all honesty compare Milla to the top players in his era?
xxmanB2003

Post by xxmanB2003 »

Yea he is the greatest African striker. :lol: :lol: :roll:
With God everything is possible.
Elexus

Post by Elexus »

Roger Milla was a genius, Weah was not a genius. Roger Milla is the oldest player to have played and scored in a world cup at 38 (3 goals) and 42 (1 goal). Every great player has won a cup for their country and at least brought their country to the world cup. Pele of Brazil, Maradona, Argentina. Roger Milla won two Nations cup for Cameroon and brought the Indomitable Lions to the world cup. Weah has done neither.
Every true hero normally asserts himself in a battle. Archilles asserted himself in the battle of Troy. Pele asserted himself. Maradona asserted himself. Now Cameroon playing with a tremendous disadvantage against the greatest opposition imaginable with Maradona at his prime and ever menacing Canigia, were reduced to 9 men!! The Russian coach was visibly worried and was at a loss for what to do. He reasoned that he must introduce African greatest attacker into the match even though it was a huge gamble. Others would have opted to send in a defender. Omam Biyik's younger brother had been unfairly sent off after Canigia, in chasing the ball entangled his legs and fell and Biyik was blamed for it.

It was indeed a mercy that the Magic-legged Roger Milla had entered the match. His instruction was to hold on to possession. At 38 I thought it was too great a burden to this man. By God, he did not disappoint. His dribbling runs rendered the match tantalizingly out of reach for the Argentines.

In a nutshell, Roger Milla belongs to a league of his own. Africa may never witness such a genius again.
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Both players shook the world. Like George Best, Weah never got to play in a WC competition. He did however play against the world's top defenders at a time when Serie A was the world's top league. Weah's definitely a legend.

Milla was fearless on the world stage: he earned his strips.

Elexus: one isn't sure how genius comes into this. They are both heroes. it's disingenuous to assume(not sure if you are) Weah wouldn't have been as fabulous in a WC tournament like Milla was.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
Elexus

Post by Elexus »

Roger Milla is the African player of the century. Coaches all over Africa and Sportwriters voted for him. I just happen to agree with the decision to elect him as the player of the century.
George Weah was good. But he failed to assert himself at the 1996 Nations cup in South Africa. Considering Nigeria's withdrawal, only 3 teams were left namely Gabon, Zaire and Liberia. And two teams had to qualify from the group. And George Weah still active and in his prime could not deliver. Instead Zaire and Gabon qualified from the group. And Zaire and Gabon were not better than Liberia. And neither of the two teams had any player in the calibre of George Weah.
lowzeewee

Post by lowzeewee »

27 wrote:

"Is" or "Was"?
Is.Because he STILL IS better.

Roger Milla is the best oldest african player.Roger was the best oldest african player./ Milla will be the best oldest african player
she, everybody mind go rest now, abi? :shock:
Decky

Post by Decky »

nemi2002 wrote:Roger Milla is the best oldest african player.Roger was the best oldest african player./ Milla will be the best oldest african player

What's the difference between school & life?
In school, you are taught a lesson and given a test.
In life, you are given a test that teaches you a lesson.

A genius is made of 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.
lowzeewee

Post by lowzeewee »

:mrgreen: :) :D
Makanaky

Post by Makanaky »

nemi2002 wrote:Roger Milla is the best oldest african player.Roger was the best oldest african player./ Milla will be the best oldest african player
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: How you gonna yab The Honourable Roger Milla like that.
Nkono, Kunde, Massing, Tataw, Ebwelle , Pagal,Mbida, Mfede, Mbouh,Makanaky,Kana-Biyik,Oman-Biyik, Ekeke, Milla,.....Too Strong to be Intimidated, Too Stong to be defeated! Indomitable!!!! Marc Viven-Foe R.I.P!!!
lowzeewee

Post by lowzeewee »

Roger Milla sux...face it,lol,he sux,used to suck,and still sux :D
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Elexus, granted views are personal. Milla always had a superior Camerounian team compared to able-bodied players that made up Weah's Liberia.
Savchenko of the Ukraine & George Best of N.Ireland will be seen forever as some of the greatest players ever cos of their club performances.
Would Milla have won plaudits like Weah if he played club footie in Europe?Interesting question.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
anywork

Post by anywork »

Elexus wrote: Every great player has won a cup for their country and at least brought their country to the world cup. [..] Weah has done neither.
Abi na magic? No single player can carry a team INTO the World Cup. Place any great player Weah's Liberia team, and they would fail.
Buea

Post by Buea »

Elexus wrote:Roger Milla was a genius, Weah was not a genius. Roger Milla is the oldest player to have played and scored in a world cup at 38 (3 goals) and 42 (1 goal). Every great player has won a cup for their country and at least brought their country to the world cup. Pele of Brazil, Maradona, Argentina. Roger Milla won two Nations cup for Cameroon and brought the Indomitable Lions to the world cup. Weah has done neither.
Every true hero normally asserts himself in a battle. Archilles asserted himself in the battle of Troy. Pele asserted himself. Maradona asserted himself. Now Cameroon playing with a tremendous disadvantage against the greatest opposition imaginable with Maradona at his prime and ever menacing Canigia, were reduced to 9 men!! The Russian coach was visibly worried and was at a loss for what to do. He reasoned that he must introduce African greatest attacker into the match even though it was a huge gamble. Others would have opted to send in a defender. Omam Biyik's younger brother had been unfairly sent off after Canigia, in chasing the ball entangled his legs and fell and Biyik was blamed for it.

It was indeed a mercy that the Magic-legged Roger Milla had entered the match. His instruction was to hold on to possession. At 38 I thought it was too great a burden to this man. By God, he did not disappoint. His dribbling runs rendered the match tantalizingly out of reach for the Argentines.

In a nutshell, Roger Milla belongs to a league of his own. Africa may never witness such a genius again.
Elexus, don't mind these empty heads, they will nver understand. You make your conclusions based on the fact that you observed both players. Some of these guys never saw Milla play
Our goal is to remain superior to the eagles!

Buea wrote:
Elexus wrote:Roger Milla was a genius, Weah was not a genius. Roger Milla is the oldest player to have played and scored in a world cup at 38 (3 goals) and 42 (1 goal). Every great player has won a cup for their country and at least brought their country to the world cup. Pele of Brazil, Maradona, Argentina. Roger Milla won two Nations cup for Cameroon and brought the Indomitable Lions to the world cup. Weah has done neither.

Elexus, don't mind these empty heads, they will nver understand. You make your conclusions based on the fact that you observed both players. Some of these guys never saw Milla play
Your signature shows you are unable to be objective.