KICKOFF MAGAZINE IS NOT DOING THEIR JOB........

Instead, they're chasing after our girls..... :twisted:

ngrguardiannews.com

Akide: I Look Forward To Marriage In August
FROM TUNDE OYEDOYIN, LONDON
MERCY Akide may not be a commercialised “brand like David Beckham, but her name transcends the borders of Africa’s most populous nation, Nigeria. The 2002 ‘African Footballer of the Year-female’ version,is described by FIFA’s Website as the most famous name in African women‘s football. She deserves it, though.

Akide is the first African woman to play professional football in the United States Women’s Soccer, (WUSA)— where she spent two seasons,before moving down to the lesser Women’s League W-League champions. :sat season, Akide bagged W-League’s Most Valuable Players (MVP) award, having led her club, that also features another Falcons player, Florence Omagbemi-Hampton Roads, Piranhas to their first championships in their nine-year history.

‘The marvellous’ Super Falcons regular is, for the second time in her career, among the 20 players that will form the FIFA Women’s all Star Team to face world champions in Germany, as part of FIFA 100th birthday at the Stade de France, Paris on May 20. On the eve of their recent 3-0 win over England, The Guardian caught up with the 28-year old at the team’s base, Corphthone Hotel, Slough.

Arsenal’s Manager, Arsene Wenger is often quoted as saying he knows only three places in London: the Gunner’s Training Ground, Highbury and his house. For Arsene, everything, and the legendary status including being the most successful manager in the club history and the first to win the Premiership title thrice,he has achieved is plotted within that triangular movement.

Ask Mercy Akide what is the secret of her own continued success and she will tell you: God, dedication and hard work. That’s the tripod upon which hers hangs.

“I want to do everything to play the game and achieve this, you have to be fit everytime.”

Her day doesn’t just end with the team’s two training sessions, “I’ve got the gym stuff at home, so I also practise on my own and when we go out, for matches, I do what’s required”. Although she is often referred to as a striker, but the Super Falcons’ Manager, Ismaila Mabo disagrees. “She has never been a striker and I do not think she will ever be good in that position”.

Mercy, he said, is an attacking midfielder; the role she played in the team’s 3-0 win over England at the Madejski Stadium last week. According to Mabo, if you play her as a striker, she may not deliver the goods and she could be easily tracked down. But if she follows behind, better and if we are finding it hard to penetrate, the ball could be passed to her to fire at goal because she has powerful shots.

But despite the power in her shots, the Super Falcons flopped at last year’s World Cup finals in the U.S.

“That’s in the past,” she said. But she later argued it wasn’t entirely their fault. So many things happened. “Unlike in 1999 when we got to the competition venue a month before kick-off, and eventually made it to the quarter-finals, before losing to Brazil in extra time”. Things were different in 2003, when they lost their three group matches to Korea, USA and Sweden. She defended that disastrous outing that saw them conceding 11 goals.

“We only arrived there two days before the tournament and the inoculation given to the players affected them.

The likes of Kikelomo Ajayi coped, but others were affected. You couldn’t touch their shoulders. And coupled with the jet lag, the Falcons couldn’t repeat the 1999 feat. Akide revealed that during one of their matches, the inoculation had taken its toll on Florence Omagbemi and I had to tell her to let the coach know she couldn’t continue playing like that”.

Explaining why she wasn’t affected, she said;“ I took permission to leave the camp early as I had to go and get something sorted out in my base and that gave me the opportunity of getting to the venue a week before others. That way I wasn’t affected by the problem.

With the Olympics just three months away, Akide is encouraged by what the current team has achieved as a result of being together for the past three months. However, she still wants them to spend more time together.

What is it like, playing in the United States

“US is cool, I like it
most especially, because there is always something to fall back on when you’ve gone past your sell by date. But obviously, Mercy finds time to do other things outside soccer. I love fun, dancing and going to the pool. She also loves going out to help and coach children.
How does she get the children to coach

She replied; “People just come to me and are willing to pay me to train their kids to play soccer”. But that’s not all there is to her. Mercy is a fun person, she will tell you.
More importantly, she is a Christian, loves people around her and even when others are mean, she shows love and also loves children. Three, she said is her number. I want to have three by the grace of God. And unlike the singer, R. Kelly who’ll want to turn back the hand of time, Mercy would rather like to fast-forward it. She can’t wait for August to come and go.

I’ll get married after the Olympics and she was quite excited about it. The lucky man is back home in Nigeria

She told me. But won’t you mention his name
And Mercy bursts into laughter saying.“ Not yet”. The Guardian had the feeling it was either she didn’t want to make it known to the public for now or maybe, she just wanted to take her time. But when reminded that some desperate men might not be convinced and they might still contemplate rushing in their applications to her, she bent a little by saying her man is a sports lover, he writes and is also a journalist.But there could be many sports journalists out there, who may claim to eo be her fiance.

She then agreed to let the cat out of the bag. He works for Kick Off magazine. So, sing, if your name is Collins Udoh.

Congratulations, Mercy. How did this happen

We met and became friends during the Nations’ Cup jointly hosted by Nigeria and Ghana. But we didn’t know it was going to be happen this way and I believe it is God that brought us together
So, after the Olympics, we would get married, go for the Nations’ Cup and from there, I don’t know where life will take me,” apart from going back to her club in Virginia.
It was past 10p.m and team officials were waiting on her to round off with me. And lastly, I asked, Would she be granting him any interviews

“Yes, I would, but it could be difficult for him doubling as a journalist and a lover. He doesn’t know where to start with me”.
Maybe someday, Mr. Udoh would surely find a way of walking the border line.
lowzeewee

Post by lowzeewee »

"Instead, they're chasing after our girls....." :lol:

So, sing, if your name is Collins Udoh.

No be our own kickoff chief be this?
Decky

Post by Decky »

nanijoe wrote:
So, sing, if your name is Collins Udoh.

No be our own kickoff chief be this?
Is it a crime to marry mercy? :?: :?:
What's the difference between school & life?
In school, you are taught a lesson and given a test.
In life, you are given a test that teaches you a lesson.

A genius is made of 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration.
Egunje

Post by Egunje »

So far dem no go near OUR Precious Dede...Na dat one go cause fight.

KOC fit do wetin hin want as long as he no near Precious. Na that one fit cause fight.:mrgreen:

Yes I think KOC is CU.

I've seen him on TV b4 and remember he has often talked about his woman being in America.

KOC, Omoreige o...so this is what you're up to. :wink:
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

RobbyBabs,

I thought you were happily married. Send me your wife's email and I will send her this link.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

In fact, I demand an INKWAYARY..........this is against journalistic ethics...YES.....What will happen if they Yettycom begin date Taribo?

KOC, ha, na so you dey do :D. God don catch you, the cat is out of the bag. No more "my wife is in America" or "My wife will be coming from America" stuff. Now you have to let us know anytime Mercy Akide is going to be in town or when you go visit to do a secret interview :P.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

xxmanB2003

Post by xxmanB2003 »

The cat has been let out of the bag. There is nothing wrong with a football writer marrying a player. Congrats to them in advance. :lol: :lol: :roll:
With God everything is possible.

xxmanB2003 wrote:The cat has been let out of the bag. There is nothing wrong with a football writer marrying a player. Congrats to them in advance. :lol: :lol: :roll:
Call me uncouth but is YettyCom Mercy Akide? 8)

Yusu:

contrary to what many believe, Yettycom works at Kickoff Magazine, and that makes her KOC's colleague.

Ms Akide is the lucky lady!

Congrats to our man KOC!

deanotito wrote:In fact, I demand an INKWAYARY..........this is against journalistic ethics...YES.....What will happen if they Yettycom begin date Taribo?

Tha will mean say water don pass garri o!

YUJAM wrote:
xxmanB2003 wrote:The cat has been let out of the bag. There is nothing wrong with a football writer marrying a player. Congrats to them in advance. :lol: :lol: :roll:
Uncouth!
WINNERMAN

Post by WINNERMAN »

KO should sort out their ever epileptic forum for one and give some respect for another.
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.

Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.

Sharrap, my friend! :lol:
YUJAM wrote:
Uncouth!

Chief:
Congrats to KOC indeed!
My eyes must have been playing tricks on me because I could've sworn that two professed their love for each other on this very forum! 8)

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Yusu:

contrary to what many believe, Yettycom works at Kickoff Magazine, and that makes her KOC's colleague.

Congrats to our man KOC!

YUJAM wrote:Chief:
Congrats to KOC indeed!
My eyes must have been playing tricks on me because I could've sworn that two professed their love for each other on this very forum! 8)

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Yusu:

Congrats to our man KOC!

Yujam:
It started because Yetty registered initially as Kickoff Queen. Based on that, whe whole CE assumed she was his madam, not colleague :P

azuka

Post by azuka »

Wetin concern una self. amebo find you way. una too dey pocknose .

this na dividend of journalism

Oga Chief, you have been exposed again. Kai!! There is no such thing as a secret on this forum. CONGRATS. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Meanwhile KOC, we still dey await ya participation for this thread