Yugoslavia in the 90s: the greatest team there never was?

original skeepolah

Post by original skeepolah »

mate wrote:original skeepolah

Exactly!

We not only made the WC in our 1st attempt to qualify as an independent nation...but we also took 3rd place, giving France a serious run for their money in the semi-final. Who knows what would have happened had Alen Boksic been healthy enough to partner Davor Suker.

The fact of the matter is that a united Yugoslavia never had such a footballing achievement in 50 years of trying. In fact, it sometimes missed WCs despite massive talent at its disposal. For a long time, Serbian players received preference as opposed to more talented Croatians. The league was such a joke in how matches were fixed for Red Star and Parizan Belgrade.

Ever since independence, we have made every WC and missed just one Euro. Our clubs do better than anybody elses. We have managed this after war destroyed much of our country.

Modric is the tip of the iceberg. We have a collection of highly touted youngsters coming through the pipe, attracting big club attention. We even have an excellent forward named Da Silva...a naturalized Brazilian.

:P

Cheers, Mate
exactly..the cosistency is an example of the change.
original skeepolah

MATE NA YA PIKIN BE DIS??????

That's my son Oliver. Here are more pics of Croatia's next football star!

http://www.kodakgallery.com/ShareLandin ... share&Ux=0

8-)

Cheers, Mate
original skeepolah

mate wrote:That's my son Oliver. Here are more pics of Croatia's next football star!

http://www.kodakgallery.com/ShareLandin ... share&Ux=0

8-)

Cheers, Mate
Prosinecki, boban...the beginning......... 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-)
skinkut

Post by skinkut »

Mate,
Is it true that before Yugoslavia broke up there used to be some sort of quota system for the national side like you had to have a minimum number or serbs, croats bosnians etc within the national team? If so it would probably explain why the former Yugoslavia underchieved at world cups for all the talent they had.

Skinkut

This question invokes a lot of anger and passion among ex-Yugoslavs. Obviously, Serbians will argue that since they represented a majority of Yugo, it was justified to have more of them on the NT. Of course, they will also argue that they were better.

And believe me, it carried over between the players and coaches. As we discussed, for all the rich talent produced all around, the whole was always less than the sum of the parts.

Croatia, on the other hand, is showing both consistency and achievement beyond anything ever produced by the ex-Yugoslavia...or any of the other republics. Yes, we had a disappointing last WC, but for once we just didn't have the talent and experience, especially in the attacking midfield.

That is being corrected. And at the very least, whomever plays, they play with passion for Croatia. It makes a difference.

Cheers, Mate
Re: Yugoslavia in the 90s: the greatest team there never was

Good grief, they had some dynamite players over the years...
Bouncer
Re:

Post by Bouncer »

mate wrote:original skeepolah

Exactly!

We not only made the WC in our 1st attempt to qualify as an independent nation...but we also took 3rd place, giving France a serious run for their money in the semi-final. Who knows what would have happened had Alen Boksic been healthy enough to partner Davor Suker.

The fact of the matter is that a united Yugoslavia never had such a footballing achievement in 50 years of trying. In fact, it sometimes missed WCs despite massive talent at its disposal. For a long time, Serbian players received preference as opposed to more talented Croatians. The league was such a joke in how matches were fixed for Red Star and Parizan Belgrade.

Ever since independence, we have made every WC and missed just one Euro. Our clubs do better than anybody elses. We have managed this after war destroyed much of our country.

Modric is the tip of the iceberg. We have a collection of highly touted youngsters coming through the pipe, attracting big club attention. We even have an excellent forward named Da Silva...a naturalized Brazilian.

:P

Cheers, Mate
That is zoogeria there for you, yet some zoogerian peeps are acting as if it's not the case.
Bouncer
Re:

Post by Bouncer »

mate wrote:Skinkut

This question invokes a lot of anger and passion among ex-Yugoslavs. Obviously, Serbians will argue that since they represented a majority of Yugo, it was justified to have more of them on the NT. Of course, they will also argue that they were better.

And believe me, it carried over between the players and coaches. As we discussed, for all the rich talent produced all around, the whole was always less than the sum of the parts.

Croatia, on the other hand, is showing both consistency and achievement beyond anything ever produced by the ex-Yugoslavia...or any of the other republics. Yes, we had a disappointing last WC, but for once we just didn't have the talent and experience, especially in the attacking midfield.

That is being corrected. And at the very least, whomever plays, they play with passion for Croatia. It makes a difference.

Cheers, Mate
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: No caging of people in an unwanted union can beat that. Croatia, an example for all the foolish zoogerians. Wait until Biafra separates from the zoo to see what is meant by unlocking a people's potential.
Re:

bret- hart wrote:
mate wrote:Don't be fooled. The Croatians are the only real deal from the ex-Yugoslavia. In fact, we have another superstar generation emerging...just in time for the next Euro and WC in Africa.

Watch this space.

8-)

Cheers, Mate

:roll: :roll: :roll: OK yeah like the last WC abi???
:bump: :bump: :bump: :bump: :bump: :bump: :bump: :bump:
Re: Re:

Bouncer wrote:

Cheers, Mate
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: No caging of people in an unwanted union can beat that. Croatia, an example for all the foolish zoogerians. Wait until Biafra separates from the zoo to see what is meant by unlocking a people's potential.
Like Eritrea and South Sudan :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Re:

Purity wrote:I think the real team here would be the Czech team.In my opinion they were far younger than the Argies of the FIFA under 20 team in Canada 2007.

uote="mate"]Don't be fooled. The Croatians are the only real deal from the ex-Yugoslavia. In fact, we have another superstar generation emerging...just in time for the next Euro and WC in Africa.

Watch this space.

8-)

Cheers, Mate
[/quote]
What’s the Czech team got to do with ex Yugoslavia?
scholl

Post by scholl »

Purity wrote:I think the real team here would be the Czech team.In my opinion they were far younger than the Argies of the FIFA under 20 team in Canada 2007.

uote="mate"]Don't be fooled. The Croatians are the only real deal from the ex-Yugoslavia. In fact, we have another superstar generation emerging...just in time for the next Euro and WC in Africa.

Watch this space.

8-)

Cheers, Mate
What’s the Czech team got to do with ex Yugoslavia?[/quote]

:rotf: :rotf: Validates my reply, in a different post, about how many Naija's are not very worldly. Infact, their knowledge of geography is very poor.

They are just a Nation of ballers. Imagine they had Dzeko, Ibrahimovich along with Mandujcic?

Alen Boksic
Davor Suker
Robert Prosinecki
Zvonimir Boban
Goran Vlaovic

The mention of these names sends chills to the spine. Boban was just magnificient. Boksic was so commanding as a striker.

airwolex wrote:They are just a Nation of ballers. Imagine they had Dzeko, Ibrahimovich along with Mandujcic?

My fantasy.

I mentioned in other threads a deepening cultural reach outside of Croatia. We're going to do more to get young kids to play for Croatia from abroad: from those with any Croatian ancestry, but also Bosnian and Serbian. We actually made an overture to Christian Pulisic.

It is easier with Bosnia, where Dzeko comes from. Consider Alen Halilovic.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alen_Halilović

Alen has a Bosnian Muslim father and Croatian Catholic mother. Minor details. But he obviously speaks the language. He made it to Barcelona. Still developing. We will see...but he choses to play for the Croatia NT.

This is the only way Croatia can maintain top competitiveness. We blend domestic players and our diaspora. The ultimate diaspora player was Rakitic, who was raised and trained in Switzerland.

Fingers crossed.

mate wrote:
airwolex wrote:They are just a Nation of ballers. Imagine they had Dzeko, Ibrahimovich along with Mandujcic?

My fantasy.

I mentioned in other threads a deepening cultural reach outside of Croatia. We're going to do more to get young kids to play for Croatia from abroad: from those with any Croatian ancestry, but also Bosnian and Serbian. We actually made an overture to Christian Pulisic.

It is easier with Bosnia, where Dzeko comes from. Consider Alen Halilovic.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alen_Halilović

Alen has a Bosnian Muslim father and Croatian Catholic mother. Minor details. But he obviously speaks the language. He made it to Barcelona. Still developing. We will see...but he choses to play for the Croatia NT.

This is the only way Croatia can maintain top competitiveness. We blend domestic players and our diaspora. The ultimate diaspora player was Rakitic, who was raised and trained in Switzerland.

Fingers crossed.
And people complain when Nigeria seeks players born and raised outside the country....

Bouncer

Post by Bouncer »

wale1974 wrote:
Bouncer wrote:

Cheers, Mate
Like Eritrea and South Sudan :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Eritrea and South Sudan are far much better and safer countries than our zoo. FACT!! :D