South Africans lurch from one crisis to another

Alaafin
South Africans lurch from one crisis to another

Post by Alaafin »

Soccer-South Africans lurch from one crisis to another

By Mark Gleeson

PORT LOUIS, Jan 8 (Reuters) - South African soccer faced fresh embarrassment on Thursday when the national team arrived for a match in Mauritius with more officials than players.

Only 15 footballers made the trip to the Indian Ocean island for Saturday's Cosafa Castle Cup first round match against Mauritius which is part of South Africa's preparation for the African Nations Cup which starts on January 24.

On Wednesday the coach Ephraim Mashaba was suspended by the South African Football Association for alleged breach of contract after heavy criticism of his player selection for the Nations Cup tournament in Tunisia.

Mashaba's assistant Styles Phumo took charge of the side on Thursday but has just 15 players for Saturday's game at Curepipe, with just one goalkeeper.

Uncapped goalkeeper Wayne Roberts had to be left behind at the airport after belatedly discovering his passport had expired.

There were, however, 18 officials accompanying the threadbare squad for the match on the tropical island, better known for its beaches and resort hotels.

Officials said Mashaba was unlikely to be restored to his job for the Nations Cup finals after heavy criticism of his squad choices.

MAJOR EMBARRASSMENT

Mashaba left out foreign-based players like Quinton Fortune of English premier league leaders Manchester United and refused to allow other key players like Porto striker Benni McCarthy permission to skip most of the two-week pre-tournament training camp.

This decision led to McCarthy announcing his retirement from international football while Charlton Athletic defender Mark Fish withdrew from the squad for Tunisia.

The football association said Mashaba had been in breach of his contract by not keeping up with the form and injury status of his players.

They cited as an example the selection of George Koumantarakis, the Preston North End striker who has been out with injury since March and not played a single match in the last nine months.

The current crisis around the national side follows on a similar sidelining of Mashaba before last May's friendly match with England, where officials were also angered by his choice of players.

South Africa is one of five African countries bidding to host the 2010 World Cup finals and the latest development is seen as a major embarrassment to the campaign.

01/08/04 10:58 ET
Iku Baba Yeye; Alase Ikeji Orisa

He who has power over life and death; Second-in-Command to the gods
Ohaneze

Post by Ohaneze »

This problem of chaos is not unique to Nigeria. It is an African thing as illustrated by the South Africans. Not to make excuses for the mess called NFA, but when you open mouth about Nigeria, remember that we are not alone and take am a little easy with the blood cuddling bad belle.
Alaafin

Post by Alaafin »

Ohaneze, excellent point!

shakes is a principled man and I admire his stance but he is in the wrong job.
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

Waffiman wrote:shakes is a principled man and I admire his stance but he is in the wrong job.
Mark Fish might not see it that way. Going by your analogy of coaching styles, what mold would Mashaba fit? Fergie or Arsene? :wink: :wink:

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

hopefully, this disorganization will help us when we play them. :mrgreen:

green4life wrote:hopefully, this disorganization will help us when we play them. :mrgreen:
You forget that Nigeria's disorganisation will also help South Africa.
RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

This is great news! Nigerians are used to organised chaos but I doubt the South Africans are!

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Ebyboy wrote:
Waffiman wrote:shakes is a principled man and I admire his stance but he is in the wrong job.
Mark Fish might not see it that way. Going by your analogy of coaching styles, what mold would Mashaba fit? Fergie or Arsene? :wink: :wink:
Going by that analogy. None of the above. Why? Shakes will not play Rio when he missed a drug test, he will ban Rio instead. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Fergie nor get morals, so he go play am, while Wenger go ask FA, plus UEFA, plus FIFA permission first. :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:
Alaafin

Post by Alaafin »

RudeBoy wrote:This is great news! Nigerians are used to organised chaos but I doubt the South Africans are!
uhmm, there maybe be some positive to come out from Naija's experience with chaos afterall :D

Akamoke

Post by Akamoke »

I don't see anything positive about a fellow African nation having chaos especially one of our better organised countries in Africa. :x :(
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

Ohaneze wrote:This problem of chaos is not unique to Nigeria. It is an African thing as illustrated by the South Africans. Not to make excuses for the mess called NFA, but when you open mouth about Nigeria, remember that we are not alone and take am a little easy with the blood cuddling bad belle.

Ohaneze bcos other African country are disorganised doesn't mean Nigeria should join the pack.

We Nigerian must aim to be the stnadard of African football. :D