Jay Jay regrets Martins Absence

kbt
Jay Jay regrets Martins Absence

Post by kbt »

Nigeria captain Jay-Jay Okocha has said that the decision of striker Obafemi Martins not to play at the Nations Cup is a setback to their title ambitions.

The in-form Martins has opted to play for his Italian club Inter Milan, attracting criticism from fans who have questioned his loyalty to the country.

But Okocha told the BBC Sport website he has sympathy with Martins' situation.

"We must accept his decision.

"I won't blame him because we have had this problem [of choosing between club and country].

"For Nigeria, his decision is bad news but it may be his chance to fight for a place in his team.

"When we have gone for previous Nations Cups, many of us have lost our club positions," Okocha recalled.

He might need the national team one day

Jay-Jay Okocha

"But on the other hand, he should realise that he might need the national team one day.

"He should consider the [interests of] of the country as well," Okocha advised.

The midfielder and other England-based players in the Super Eagles were given permission to report to camp after the 6 January deadline set by manager Christian Chukwu for other European-based players.

But the Bolton Wanderers captain said he is yet to have a firm date on when he will leave his club to report for international duty.

"I may have to stay a bit longer and help my team, because we have a small squad unlike other Premiership clubs."

Okocha said he is aware of the discomfort that his absence and that of other England-based players is having on their supporters but insists that their late arrival to camp will not frustrate the Super Eagles title ambitions in Tunisia.

"I don't think that our late arrival will have a negative effect on the team, since we have all been playing and are quite fit.

"We are still one of the favourites and with the talent we've got, we have a chance to win the Cup," Okocha said.
kbt

Post by kbt »

Well said Captain
Larry Ashagbe

Post by Larry Ashagbe »

kbt,

Let me contribute to your thread.

Martins lose is bad but life goes on.

"We are still one of the favourites and with the talent we've got, we have a chance to win the Cup," Okocha said.
Interesting how Oga too feels it's the talent that will win the ANC, nothing else.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

Its a Goal wrote:
Interesting how Oga too feels it's the talent that will win the ANC, nothing else.
IAG
the captain has to be positive. He's much more professional than the NFA officials (crooks).
Last edited by Jiggerman21 on Thu Jan 08, 2004 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.
segebaba

Post by segebaba »

This is what i call a diplomatic statement by a leader. Martins will always be a traitor in my books, and the guy is not all that anyways cos i saw him play against arsenal. Mark my words people he will come back crawling on his knees and we will reject him, send him [packing
those who fail to plan, plan to fail........

"Valdez comes out & spits the verbiage like Mussolini at the balcony", lol...
"Puyol almost got caught w his knickers down" Lmao!
"Messi could follow u into a revovling door and still come out first"
"It's the maestro himself, the puppeteer who turns into the daggerman..", lol...
Alaafin

Post by Alaafin »

Its a Goal wrote:
Haba, he didn't say nothing else. U'll agree that talent is an important factor.
Iku Baba Yeye; Alase Ikeji Orisa

He who has power over life and death; Second-in-Command to the gods
ufuomsky

Post by ufuomsky »

This is how a leader should speaker ......the captain has spoken but one of the NFA official is like a spoiled bratt , instead trying to blackmail martin through his age.
be objective or die subjectively
ufuomsky

Post by ufuomsky »

This is how a leader should speaks!!! ......the captain has spoken but one of the NFA official is like a spoiled bratt , instead trying to blackmail martin through his age.
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

ufuomsky wrote: This is how a leader should speaker
This is how a leader should speaks
Chei, double whammy!!! Shock and Awe!!!
ChristianNo1

Post by ChristianNo1 »

Jiggerman21 wrote:

What a WMD!
"The wicked man flees though no one pursues, but the righteous are as bold as a lion." --Proverbs 28:1
senator

Post by senator »

ChristianNo1 wrote:
Jiggerman21 wrote:

What a WMD!
:D :D :D :D :D :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
ufuomsky

Post by ufuomsky »

You got me on that one!!!!!! Now slap yourself

[color=brown]Jiggerman21[/color] wrote:
Kai, nothing goes unnoticed here in CE :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

ufuomsky

Post by ufuomsky »

eye of eagle is watching
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

Its a Goal wrote:
[color=brown]Jiggerman21[/color] wrote:
Kai, nothing goes unnoticed here in CE :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:.
Precision guide: look before you launch

Alaafin

Post by Alaafin »

this one was a cluster bomb :mrgreen:
Iku Baba Yeye; Alase Ikeji Orisa

He who has power over life and death; Second-in-Command to the gods
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

Alaafin don kill me o!

ufuomsky

Post by ufuomsky »

Hey guys you can suck on #$%, typo !!! you fool
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

ufuomsky wrote:Hey guys you can suck on #$%, typo !!! you fool
Relax man, just playing with you. :D

[color=brown]ufuomsky[/color] wrote:Hey guys you can suck on #$%, typo !!! you fool
Haba, take easy it now. You have to take it on the chin and wait for the next guy to take the load off you.

bobbye

Post by bobbye »

Like a hero and patriot he always is he never asked what the country will do for him but what he will do for the country.keep it up my hero.Hopefully the young players will follow your footsteps not that of selfish unpatrotic little brat Martins. Hopefully Nigerians will remember his flimsy excuse when he comes begging,pleading and apologizing. Up Okocha and Kanu
somebody

Post by somebody »

This is how a leader should speaker
god Damn, he get as he be :shock: :shock: :roll: :roll: :lol: :lol:
Why do we struggle to live when we are still going to die anyway?