Egypt crush Rwanda 5-1

Diabo
Egypt crush Rwanda 5-1

Post by Diabo »

Rwanda better get their act together before they open vs Tunisia on the 24th

Egypt 5-1 Rwanda

By Amr Shaheen
BBC Sport

Abdel Halim Ali skips past a Rwandan challenge in Port Said

Egypt beat a weak Rwanda side 5-1 in a friendly match in Port Said as both teams continued their preparations for the forthcoming Nations Cups finals.

The result does not bode well for Nations Cup newcomers Rwanda since three of Egypt's foreign-based players, including leading striker Ahmed 'Mido' Hossam, missed the game due to club engagements.

It took the Pharaohs just 16 minutes to open the scoring as Ahmed Belal broke through Rwanda's defence and chipped the ball neatly over the goalkeeper.

Ten minutes later, Belal made use of the huge gaps in the Rwandan rearguard to set up Tamer Abdel Hameed who notched an easy second.

In the 39th minute, Zamalek defender Bechir El Tabei made it 3-0 after the visiting goalkeeper failed to stop his lengthy 40-yard strike.

Although the Egyptians were constantly able to break the east Africans' offside trap, Rwanda retained their weak defensive strategy throughout the second half.

They were punished by two more goals, as Turkey-based Ahmed Hassan scored after 59 and 68 minutes.

The two goals both came from the Besiktas player breaking in from the right flank and shooting home from a narrow angle.

One piece of good news for Rwanda came seven minutes from time as Edid Said scored a consolation goal after the Egyptian goalkeeper Nader El Sayed failed to stop his shot from the edge of the penalty area.

Rwanda's comprehensive defeat comes just 16 days before the Wasps are due to meet hosts Tunisia in the opening game of the Nations Cup finals.

The east Africans' other opponents in Group A are Guinea and DR Congo.

Meanwhile, Egypt are drawn in Group C alongside Algeria, Nations Cup debutants Zimbabwe and reigning champions Cameroon.

The Pharoahs are coming,run,hide :lol: At the end of everything they better peform at the ANC.

Larry Ashagbe

Post by Larry Ashagbe »

Rwanda are comming for the experience and nothing to fear.

Omey2k, Cameroon should be very scared right?
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"
original skeepolah

Post by original skeepolah »

guys look at the story..a WEAK rwandan side in a FRIENDLY!!!!!!!!!
Lets not jump the gun here. lets see what ANC will show us. Egypt might be the one to recieve such a drumming.......................Naija boys arm arming themselves.....I saw an eagle perched on a pyramid, what does this means????????
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Is this the same Rwanda team that displaced Ghana in the ANC tourney?
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.
original skeepolah

Post by original skeepolah »

Abbey wrote:Is this the same Rwanda team that displaced Ghana in the ANC tourney?

nope. But it will show you the heights at which Ghana has fallen!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :oops:

Bamnedaboy the only team Cameroon should be scared of Nigheria.Cameroon owns Egypt anyday.96 ANC u beat them 2-1(if memory serve me right),2002 ANC u beat them 1-0 so Egypt isnt a threat to the lions.

Did anyone expect Rwanda to beat Egypt?

Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

omey2k4 wrote:Bamnedaboy the only team Cameroon should be scared of Nigheria.Cameroon owns Egypt anyday.96 ANC u beat them 2-1(if memory serve me right),2002 ANC u beat them 1-0 so Egypt isnt a threat to the lions.
Until Nigeria beats Cameroun in a big tournament, Cameroun owns Nigeria too.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

Actually, it was no until recently that Cameroon started kicking the pharors behinds. We always say in Cameroon that if there is one country that can talk trash to Cameroon, it should be Egypt. Not Nigere. Egypt had always beaton us at the Club level. They even took the 88(not sure 86 or 88) ANC from us. Luckily, we had Nigeria to avenge our anger on them.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

Yup Naija has been u guys *Nice Lady* for a long time but i think we have even the scores equally after the 3-0 thrashing in Lagos :lol:

omey2k4, do you have a short memory? What happened after the 3-0 thrasing in Lagos? Did Cameroon play you guys again? What were the scores? I thought so 2.