Moving Naija Football forward

KoC
Moving Naija Football forward

Post by KoC »

This is my 800th combined post (Old and New Forum--minus the ones I lost). I wish it was champagne-popping time, but little about Nigerian football gives cause for cheer at this time.

The NFA Annual General Meeting (AGM) holds this weekend in Owerri, the Imo State capital.

2003 was the year that CE really came of age in terms of influencing Nigerian football, and I am happy to have been a part of that. But while we have influenced some things, we have not really been able to affect policy, and I believe this is an opportunity to begin to do so.

Like you may all know, I do have some contact with a few members of the NFA board and I believe we can use those contacts to push for certain changes to be made at the Glass House.

May I humbly request forumites to put forward their suggestions of what kind of NFA they want, suggetsions on how to handle international contacts, dealing with players and their European clubs and managers, domestic football etc. Its open season, everything and anything is welcome.

Suggestions can be sent to me by email at [email protected] with real names and CE handles attached. But to allow other forumites to see what suggetsions have been made, a copy should be posted here.

I hope we can all contribute positively. As usual, I hope we will refrain from trading insults here.

Let's start the New year with an attempt to make some REAL, POSITIVE changes.
. . . all about the players. Total posts: 725 and counting. . .

Blogzilla
KickOff Nigeria

I love Arsenal. Such entertainment!! The kind of soccer we want for the kind of results we hate!!!
---Polly waxes lyrical after Burnley nyansh the ARSE

Hip hip hip hurrah hahahaha well done KOC for all your fantastic efforts and all with your own contributions to Naija soccer as a whole and the way it affects us each day. The way forward has to start from some place some where because our soccer is at a low point right now. Nothing to write home about and it will continue to do so unless drastic measures are taken even if it means locking them up at KIRIKIRI things like this can no longer continue to fall apart the way things have.

You know i will have plenty to say so all i can say is to be continued....
Last edited by MI5 on Thu Jan 08, 2004 2:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.

MI5 wrote:Hip hip hip hurrah hahahaha well done KOC for all your fantastics efforts in all with your own contribution to Naija soccer and the way it affects us each day. The way forward has to start from some place some where because our soccer is at a low point right now. Nothing to write home about and it will continue to do so unless drastic measures are taken even if it means locking them up at KIRIKIRI things like this can no longer continue to fall apart the way things have.

Ol'boy na wa for you oh. The bobo siad suggestions not insults or yabbis on the NFA. BTW YOU DEY CAMP ABI YOU NEVER MAKE THE DROP? :P
monkeypost

Post by monkeypost »

I want an NFA with people in the know in world football such as Fashanu at the helm. not the galadima's of this world.
If you give me Cole and I give you Gallas, surely, SURELY, you owe me money? waka man on the Cole Gallas transfer saga

Robby,

It's my own opinion on how i feel and they deserved to be insulted to what they've done to Naija soccer as a whole and you know it. I stand by what i wrote here and it's a freedom of expressing myself on the sorry state of where our futbol is right now. NFA deserves every insult, abuse that is hurled at them because they are nothing but a bunch of crooks, thieves, career criminals, barawos and many more. If an association like that is so inept why are we even bothering to play at all..

Our ticket to Athens 2004 is now up for grabs we shall see how they respond to that now that it's a winner take all now... U-20 a youth soccer development that has produced the best of the best in the past where is it today? Our coaches need some real coaching education to raise their standards to another level? NFA needs to break off from the past and move into the future on how a Futbol association should be run... Many more i will write to KOC and it will be my own views.... If i insult them so be it. Maybe it's about time they start feeling the pinch and know how people feel when they run Naija soccer to the ground...

MI-8, is on his way to Tunisia to prepare for my red carpet arrival :wink: :lol: I am to big for Faro because i am a foreign based player. :lol:

MI5 wrote:Hip hip hip hurrah hahahaha well done KOC for all your fantastics efforts in all with your own contribution to Naija soccer and the way it affects us each day. The way forward has to start from some place some where because our soccer is at a low point right now. Nothing to write home about and it will continue to do so unless drastic measures are taken even if it means locking them up at KIRIKIRI things like this can no longer continue to fall apart the way things have.

Ol'boy na wa for you oh. The bobo siad suggestions not insults or yabbis on the NFA. BTW YOU DEY CAMP ABI YOU NEVER MAKE THE DROP? :P
Last edited by MI5 on Thu Jan 08, 2004 2:15 pm, edited 4 times in total.

KOC nice idea, that's what av been saying all this while, people just come up here and type insults at their key-board directing it to the NFA, that won't solve our problems, all we need do is just establish a direct contact btwn this forum and the Membership of the NFA, lets all get involved in an open forum with dem, although my fear is that some people here might just go off tune and start throwingg mannerless insults at them instead of being Objective. Meanwhile tell them to get computers in that their damn offices and hook of too the www.com. Then they can be Updated.
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

KOC

I suggest that Nigeria start using some home base players in the SE to stop the flow of our talent to Europe it would make life easier for the SE coach during selection and prevent the Martin Club vs country saga.

The internet and TV has a strong role to play in the development of Nigeria football. What would it take to setup up regular streaming of Nigeria league football to the more than 3 million Nigerian living aboard this can be a good source of revenue to the local clubs
odi

Post by odi »

Where can one start? There are so many problems with the Glass house that it is almost impossible to list em all.

My one suggestion is this: a serious push for NFA autonomy this year. And I mean a real push, not just blowing hot air in the media. Methinks that that will solve a great many problems.
The SUPER EAGLES shall rise again!
Fourteen

Post by Fourteen »

I don't think that merely featuring homebased players will slow the flow of talent to Europe - This is a problem that caused by the bad economy not necessarily the featuring of players in the National team
realtrouble wrote:KOC

I suggest that Nigeria start using some home base players in the SE to stop the flow of our talent to Europe it would make life easier for the SE coach during selection and prevent the Martin Club vs country saga.

The internet and TV has a strong role to play in the development of Nigeria football. What would it take to setup up regular streaming of Nigeria league football to the more than 3 million Nigerian living aboard this can be a good source of revenue to the local clubs
azuka

Post by azuka »

Thanks KOC. Expect my suggestions.
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

Did somebody mention the words NFA and Fashanu in the same breath? Surely, you can’t ask the fox to look after the Chickens, can you?
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)
HAWKEYE

Post by HAWKEYE »

Odi wrote:

"My one suggestion is this: a serious push for NFA autonomy this year. And I mean a real push, not just blowing hot air in the media. Methinks that that will solve a great many problems".

KOC, please note the above pertinent contribution. My suggestion towards NFA autonomy is to lobby the National Assembly, the Presidency, political parties etc. to abrogate decree 101 and commercialise football TOTALLY. Going to the NFA with decree 101 still in place is doing the musical chair once again.

As I have said the few times I contribute on this forum - WE HAVE TO RUN FOOTBALL AS A COMMERCIAL VENTURE OUTSIDE OF ANY CIVIL SERVICE SUPERVISION. FOOTBALL IS A MONEY SPINNING VENTURE IN EUROPE, SOUTH AMERICA AND NOW ASIA.

Commercialised football in Nigeria will provide jobs for millions, especially the youth, the administration will be run in a corporate manner; our league will become truly professional; clubs will hire only productive coaches, be they LC or IC; most of our young stars will stay home to play professionally instead of languishing in some "back-o-yard" league all over the globe; lastly, will contribute tremendously to our single commodity economy.

Nothing can change in the NFA under same decree 101. Even if you replace the whole board now, same problems - Ministry intervention in particular - will persist. If CE is going to make a move, it should be a proactive one, not patching the crack on the wall AGAIN.
CAPTAIN HAWKINS

Gotta keep this thread up....
Eagle Winged

Post by Eagle Winged »

realtrouble wrote:KOC

Not playing abroad, would mean they wont develop as well as they could. Our league and its players are nowhere near good enough to be the backbone of our national team, players NEED to go abroad when the time is right.
Kelechi

Post by Kelechi »

I wonder sometimes if this baby or bob called baby or Robingitnice will just focus on deleting or whatever is appointed to do, rather than minding other's posting. Make you delete am if he no sweet ya hearing Mr Cyberpolice------wetin wrong with MI5 posting?
For a child of God, silence in the face of problem is an act of ignorance
SUYA

Post by SUYA »

Excellent post KOC and kudos to you. You must however make us a promise though and that is to follow up on suggestions and give us feedback regarding what with and how these suggestions are treated by the "ogas". Finally why do we have to send suggestions about how to improve Nigerian to a Zambian Email? :lol:
KoC

Post by KoC »

Suya, the idea is that I will get the suggestions across to the ogas.

BTW, .za is the ccTLD for South Africa not Zambia
. . . all about the players. Total posts: 725 and counting. . .

Blogzilla
KickOff Nigeria

I love Arsenal. Such entertainment!! The kind of soccer we want for the kind of results we hate!!!
---Polly waxes lyrical after Burnley nyansh the ARSE

KickOff Chief wrote:Suya, the idea is that I will get the suggestions across to the ogas.

BTW, .za is the ccTLD for South Africa not Zambia
KOC,
The NFA needs a database of all Nigerian players wherever in the world they might be playing and the position which they play for there respective clubs includin the ones in the youth teams
They also need to establish a contact person and contact with the clubs.
They need to find out fixture which can be printed off well in advance so they can monitor our players. e.g It will save cost to watch La Louviere play Standard or watch how our players respond to big match situation by watching there European games or watch them play a big club like Anderlecht in Belgium.
They should make it Obligatory for our boys to inform them of there movements i.e If they change clubs and none of 'didn't you see me on TV when I signed a new contract' attitude.
They need to request for Tapes from clubs of the games our boys played in every week for the National Coach.
All the games involving our boys should be monitored every week.
Each country have there match of the day or they can simply request copies from the clubs.
The key is information and planning ahead, they should know who is injured when they will return how they perform in the reserve games.
Its 24/7 monitoring of our players all over the world!!!!They need to have a proper web site and most players can be contacted by email and text msgs.....
I have got more........
geminikoat

Post by geminikoat »

Good job KOC.
My suggestion is probably for the Minister who would not be part of the AGM; the suggestion borders on the imperative need to run the NFA as a business entity with the goal of making profit through sponsorships and merchandizing; the administration by ex-footballers or government stooges have taken us nowhere!

The abrogation of decree 101 is also central to the development of football in Nigeria.
...but with God all things are possible...
Baii

Post by Baii »

One of the reasons why dec 101 remains and will continue to remain is because the NFA has shown all that they are not yet ready to put their house in order.
Here we are talking about how to make things work while they are out there thinking about how to share the next money that the government will release.
Let us ask them, how come other nations seem to have a good control over their soccer programs and they (NFA) don't?
How come they always seem to look for a bail out at the last minute?
How in the world do they then expect the sports ministry to grant them freedom when all they have done is to poop all over the place?

Well KOC I will email you with some suggestions and I pray just like all who love Nigerian soccer that they atleast listen.
“A fanatic is one who entrenches himself in invincible ignorance.”

― OSWALD CHAMBERS, Baffled to Fight Better
Ohaneze

Post by Ohaneze »

I would like to see an NFA without people like Fashanu, who put their self interest ahead of Nigeria. He is a man who refused to play for Nigeria and now he is trying to take advantage of Nigeria to advance himself. He is supposed to be in charge of the domestic league, but he is based in the UK. His kind have no business in the NFA.

Pls keep this thread up for KOC...