Page 1 of 2

CAF names Best XI for Ghana 2008 ACN

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:18 pm
by da vyrus
The confederation of African Football (CAF) has released the Best XI for the 26th MTN Africa Cup of Nations, Ghana 2008.

The team was decided by the Technical Study Group (TSG) after careful observations of the tournament matches.

Best XI

Essam El Hadary (Egypt)

Geremi Njitap (Cameroon)

Wael Gomaa (Egypt)

Michael Essien (Ghana)

Sulley Muntari (Ghana)

Yaya Touré (Cote d’Ivoire)

Alexandre Song (Cameroon)

Hosny Abd Rabou (Egypt)

Mohamed Aboutreika (Egypt)

Amr Zaky (Egypt)

Manucho (Angola)

Substitutes

Richard Kingson (Ghana)

Hany Saïd (Egypt)

Ahmed Fathy (Egypt)

Frej Saber (Tunisia)

Stephane Mbia (Cameroon)

Didier Drogba (Cote I’voire)

Kader Keita (Cote d’Ivoire)

http://cafonline.com/?lng=1&cmpt=0&modu ... news=82850

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:22 pm
by Cristao II
they put essien as cb? this guys aint serious!!

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:23 pm
by Ghost
First time in a long while that no Nigerians made it. I think Danny Shittu deserved some consideration but I must admit I have not seen enough of the Egyptian central defense.

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:24 pm
by edboat
Choi....no Nigerian?

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:27 pm
by paj
..has bv seen the list?:D:D
Pa

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:28 pm
by anointed
Kai! Naija suffer plenty for Ghana. Not even a ball boy or Internet forummite.

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:30 pm
by Ghost
Sir Cristao wrote:they put essien as cb? this guys aint serious!!
It appears they may have chosen the best XI as opposed to the best XI by position. For instance they have midfielders Toure, Essien, Muntari, Aboutreika, Song, Zaky

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:31 pm
by paj
anointed wrote:Kai! Naija suffer plenty for Ghana. Not even a ball boy or Internet forummite.
...dat na BV's team for U....

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:32 pm
by tera
anointed wrote:Kai! Naija suffer plenty for Ghana. Not even a ball boy or Internet forummite.
Oga Why you de still wory about Ghana? Similar post on GW but no one has made a meal of Non-Nigerian on the list

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:32 pm
by Dodo
edboat wrote:Choi....no Nigerian?
were you really expected a nigerian in the list

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:38 pm
by Pharaoh
Our central defense is easily our weak link. The technical staff has done a good job masking our weaknesses and accentuating our strengths thus far. The play of El-Hadary and the Hosny/Shawky combo in DM certainly hasn't hurt.

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:38 pm
by anointed
tera wrote:
Oga Why you de still wory about Ghana? Similar post on GW but no one has made a meal of Non-Nigerian on the list
If u have a problem with understanding my pidgin, I mean Nigeria did not have it good in the AFCON held in Ghana. It's not about Ghana worry.

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:39 pm
by paj
Dodo wrote:
...Nna..correct ya english before TFCO see am O! :shock:

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:44 pm
by da vyrus
the african number one player did not make the list .how?

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:49 pm
by jdizzy
No Eto'o???

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 5:57 pm
by anikulapo
NO Naija boy even make am to bench.

kaiii how are the mighty fallen.

Tufiakwa! useless country :roll:

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 6:58 pm
by mcal
yep! we deserve it.
But wait o, fifa go comot with their own list and naija go be on top.

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:17 pm
by forade
Clearly CAF hate Nigeria !!!! Disgraceful list !!!!! There should be at least seven Nigerians on that list including Nwaneri and Olofinjana.

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:18 pm
by balo
Etoo sef nor dey.

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:24 pm
by forade
balo wrote:Etoo sef nor dey.
This is a fair list IMHO. Etoo has not played better than Zaky or Manucho (though arguably he has played as well as Drogba). Shittu and Taiwo perhaps deserved to make the substitute bench.

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:28 pm
by KwabenaDankwa
I wonder the formation they would play with this team.
Shittu deserved to be a CB, Etoo should start ahead of Zaky and Yaya should give up his spot for Annan

Posted: Sun Feb 10, 2008 9:57 pm
by tfco
paj wrote:
Dodo wrote:
...Nna..correct ya english before TFCO see am O! :shock:

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:47 am
by Molue Conductor
Dodo wrote: