Unity Cup: Was it the speed or what?

the speed was a crucial aspect as was the covering and tenacity of our play, i was impressed, imagine what we could achieve with a competent coach

This is not right ohh and this thread has resulted to Kanu yabbing because some players won the Unity Cup wow... We shall see how things turn out when qualification reaches crunch time...
chopeski

Post by chopeski »

I’ll take all these claims by these “mythical” players with a grain of salt. The truth is, 90% of these players will give an arm and a leg to achieve one half of what Kanu and JJ have achieved in the game.

Whilst I will not want to be seen to hold for fort for either of these future “hall of famers” Kanu probably does not warrant a call up right now! Also, we saw how Femi Martins was in awe of Kanu when they faced up to each other in Highbury last winter.

Ayo:

Why do we have to disparage someone in other to lift the other? I also doubt a lot of the claims you seem to be making here. If these boys are as humble as everyone claims to make, why would they tell someone they barely know things, which on their face value could be very controversial and damaging to team morale?

Finally, can we all desist from all the “groupie” activities of the past couple of days! I.e. all the #$% licking and what not. It is very unbecoming of 30+ olds presumably very educated professionals running after a couple of teenagers for tit bits on camp jists.

COMMON PEOPLE!!!
When they came for the communists, I was silent, because I was not a communist;
When they came for the socialists, I was silent, because I was not a socialist;
When they came for the trade unionists, I did not protest, because I was not a trade unionist;
When they came for the Jews, I did not protest, because I was not a Jew;
When they came for me, there was no one left to protest on my behalf."

Martin Niemoeller (1892-1984)

when you play a fast counter attacking game,the likes of kanu cannot be used,you need fast pacy players like martins,agahowa,osaze,ogbeche,utaka

in fact il go the extra mile and say that-these kids done us a big favour and its a blessing in disguise

pasamu

Post by pasamu »

all this talk about humble players is funny. was kanu not the most humble player in the world when he first played for nigeria. was keshi not humbly carrying chukwus boots when he started. how about oliseh? was he not keshis little boy when playing for nigeria was fresh. for every one player who showed arrogence from his first super eagles cap you can name i can give you ten who showed super ego tendencies once they became established. its called human nature, people should stop suggesting that this new bunch is a unique set of nigerians, if they last give them a year or two in the eagles setup and watch their attitudes change. mutiu adepoju, garba lawal are two players who showed true humilty despite the rubbish they were served over the years by the NFA and government. just because you talk to me and i make all the right noises means nothing until my actions back my words. talking only shows u have good pr skills, hey even people who met saddam hussein said he is not that bad when u get to talk to him. its as my pastor says talk and do that counts
my times are in HIS hands
pasamu

Post by pasamu »

all this talk about humble players is funny. was kanu not the most humble player in the world when he first played for nigeria. was keshi not humbly carrying chukwus boots when he started. how about oliseh? was he not keshis little boy when playing for nigeria was fresh. for every one player who showed arrogence from his first super eagles cap you can name i can give you ten who showed super ego tendencies once they became established. its called human nature, people should stop suggesting that this new bunch is a unique set of nigerians, if they last give them a year or two in the eagles setup and watch their attitudes change. mutiu adepoju, garba lawal are two players who showed true humilty despite the rubbish they were served over the years by the NFA and government. just because you talk to me and i make all the right noises means nothing until my actions back my words. talking only shows u have good pr skills, hey even people who met saddam hussein said he is not that bad when u get to talk to him. its as my pastor says talk and do that counts
pasamu

Post by pasamu »

Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Enugu II, even the players and officials made mention of the fact that Kanu was not there to slow there counter attacks down and it helped. In 2002, the boys were complaining about Oliseh and Finidi doing the same thing.

When you are carrying players who slow the tempo down, you are never going to score on the counter attack. Look at our third goal against Ireland the first goal against Jamaica.

They were "Arse-Anal" goals as the ball went from our 18 yard box into the opponents net within about 15 seconds. Had Kanu been on the pitch, we would never have scored such goals.

Ayoakinfe, sometimes I feel really sorry for you b'cos one day somebody is gonna sue your lying behind.
Which playera and Officials told you that. All these your delusions of granduer is gonna land you in hot soup one of these day and you can quote my name on this!!!

baba no regrets wrote:Ayo, shut up your yeye mouth. Even if any player made mention of Kanu slowing their pace which I'm sure na lie, do you have to open your foul mouth and pollute team atmosphere?

And with the speed, how far has Arsenal gone in the Champions league that offers better opposition away from the yeye teams in the Premiership? Our lack of pace has never been our downfall, if anything many see the relaxed play of the Eagles as one of their strong point. They have used that with their ball control ability to mess up opponents that are pacy in time past. I liked the slow and nice retention of the Eagles in time past with Oliseh, Finidi, Amunike and Siasia in their peak.

Baba no regrets,
The last part of your post is misleading.The 1994 Super Eagles was renowned for its speed in the attack.Finidi was credited with a 10 second 100 meter speed,and the likes of Amunike and Amokachi were rampaging.
Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

Listen folks, those of us that plays this game know that speed in football doesn't necessarily running aimlessly in the pitch.
Speed comes with the style of play. You can call it fluidity....ball movement, ball control, interchanging positions, making timely passes and timely running into positions.

I can go on and on but you guys gotta pay me for a crash course on soccer (coaching) 101 :lol: :D :P

baba no regrets wrote:Ayo, shut up your yeye mouth. Even if any player made mention of Kanu slowing their pace which I'm sure na lie, do you have to open your foul mouth and pollute team atmosphere?

And with the speed, how far has Arsenal gone in the Champions league that offers better opposition away from the yeye teams in the Premiership? Our lack of pace has never been our downfall, if anything many see the relaxed play of the Eagles as one of their strong point. They have used that with their ball control ability to mess up opponents that are pacy in time past. I liked the slow and nice retention of the Eagles in time past with Oliseh, Finidi, Amunike and Siasia in their peak.

What the heck are u talking about? The sign of a superb team is one which can play fast-fast soccer as well as slowing down the game to its advantage when necessary. Examples...Brazil of 1970 and 2002, France of 2000.
The SE team of 1994 were guilty of playing the game @ excessive pace all 90minutes. Pity, by the time that generation started playing slow soccer,it seemed to be the only kind of soccer they could play. This is why Aghahowa was such a key element in recent times because he seemed to be the only one playing football the 'nigerian way' with pace and abundant energy.

Flex Swift, Are you saying that when Kanu was in the team he scored using his head from set pieces?

I watched finally the Jamo game and lets say that the increase in speed and hustle is apparent. Utaka & Ogbeche were constant thorns in their flesh. The counter attacking moves where swift and somewhat deadly. Utaka should have had a hatrick. Jamo had a lot of possession but not enough quality shots on goal. Honestly, Kanu is my boy, but I don't know if this style of play suits the bobo. The lads made Jamo pay dearly for defensive blunders... any small error, it's off to the races... purely wicked... either Jamo defenders are damn slow or Ogbeche and Utaka have picked up some additional speed... either way, those boys were a handlful... I also liked how Obodo did the dirty #$% mop up work in the midfield without complaints... that helped shield (together with some dude called Paul) a very weak defenseline of seyi (not olofi), Joe, Adamu, & Lawal... Also, Rotimi needs some extra glue on his gloves cause he's got slipery fingers... He's got great size and appears athletic but with Vincent being as young as he is, I don't see Rotimi smelling the net unless for these sort of freindly games when the regulars are taking a day off. All in all, it was an OK game. We didn't play particularly well, but we were very efficient with the handlful of chances we had... also not bad consdering that only 3 or 4 starter materials played.

Please stop the Papillo bashing. :x :x :x :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

Is this the tip-tap-toe Akwuegbu was yarning about?