Merry Christmas, Arsene !

Myles is spot on. I raise my glass to the great man too and say Merry Xmas Le Prof. :D :D :D :D :D :D

By Myles Palmer

I’LL RAISE a glass to Arsene Wenger on Christmas Day.

And I shall raise another to him on New Year’s Eve.

Because he is the smartest and most ambitious manager in Arsenal’s history.

This guy came to the club in 1996 and has taken two titles off Manchester United Megastore PLC, and missed a third by one point, and has won three FA Cups, and finished in the top two for six years in a row, and he has beaten Valencia 2-1 at Highbury, and beaten Roma away 3-1, and beaten Inter in Milan by 5-1, and he’s also hammered a fine Juventus team 3-1.

His ideas and his players have taken Arsenal to new heights, new places,new horizons.

For the last seven years, his teams have played fabulous football, attacking football, winning football.

Sure, Arsenal have lost some games they could have won, and drawn plenty of games they should have won, BUT THEY HAVE RARELY BEEN OUTPLAYED, except by Dynamo Kiev, by Deportivo, by Man United once, and by Bolton last Saturday.

BUT THERE’S MORE.

Arsene Wenger wanted to do more than beat Man United and Liverpool and, occasionally, Valencia.

He wanted to turn a medium-sized club into a massive club.

Think about that for a minute.

Think how hard it is to create a big club out of an outfit that has been punching above its weight since George Graham made it successful from 1988 to 1991.

This team is now so popular that Arsenal could double ticket prices and still sell out every game.

But Arsenal has tried harder than other clubs to treat their fans decently,so they did not do that.

Instead, they are building Ashburton Grove, a bigger stadium. A complex project with a hundred delays and a thousand headaches.

I’ve always believed that Ashburton Grove will be built. Always believed that Arsenal could borrow £260 million and pay it back over 17 years .

On one level, Arsene’s job is daunting enough : to keep winning games in style, to keep trophies rolling in, and to keep believing that his team can win the big one, the holy grail.

Clearly, he does not to have the budget to afford a good player in every position. But he buys good players and useful players and blends them and he plays beautifully fast football that millions of people admire.

When the club moves to Ashburton Grove he will be able to afford a good player in every position, and then he should be able to beat Bayern and Valencia, and win the Champions League, and make Arsenal FC a global brand that commands the biggest deals and can sign the next Ronaldo and the next Shevchenko.

So - let’s be be clear on this - what Arsene Wenger is trying to do something on a scale that is almost mythical. To pick up a football club and put it on your back and carry it 600 metres down the road and put it into a shiny new super-stadium is a Herculean task.

Hercules, as you know, is a figure from Greek mythology, who performed hugely heroic feats for 12 years. He killed a lion, captured a bull, killed a centaur with poisoned arrows, stuff like that.

He also conquered Spain.

History tells us that Arsenal have never won in Spain.

But it’s coming. History will be re-written and it might be quite soon : Celta Vigo v Arsenal is on Tuesday 24th February.

I reckon Arsene Wenger has been waiting for Real Madrid all his life. He has been building up to Real Madrid all his life. Not to manage them, but to beat them.

Arsenal might beat Real Madrid at Highbury or they might have to wait and beat them at Ashburton Grove.

I don’t know which it will be. I have no crystal ball. Just a glass of champagne.

CHEERS, ARSENE - thanks for everything.

Thanks for the stylish power football, thanks for the excitement, thanks for all those wonder goals, thanks for the droll jokes, thanks for the golden memories.

Among so many memories, one day might stand out for me.

My friend Gassan phones one morning and says, “Come with me to Sopwell House.”

So Gassan picks me up and we zoom up to the St Albans hotel that Arsenal used before the training ground was built.

It’s summer, end of July, a warm afternoon, and Arsene is due to give a pre-season press conference, and because it’s such a nice day we sit round a table on the lawn outside.

It’s intimate, informal, just the manager and seven journalists.

I can’t remember what Arsene said that day, but he was very relaxed and he seemed to be, already, one of us, an adopted Englishman, one of those upper class gentleman-adventurers, an aristocrat chatting in his back garden, a youngish sporting explorer ready to face any challenge that the new season could bring, even though he knew that every season is an open-ended expedition, an adventure that has a starting date, but you don’t know where it will take you.

In the future, when I have long forgotten how Arsene was after winning and losing his biggest games, I will remember that sublime summer moment on the lawn at Sopwell House.

After talking to the boss, we felt good. He had made us remember what football is all about.

Merry Xmas, Arsene !

Lovely! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

Pls, send this to the rant and Rave forum....THIS IS NOT NIGERIAN FOOTBALL RELATED.
Thanx for your cooperation!
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942

Riche007 wrote:Pls, send this to the rant and Rave forum....THIS IS NOT NIGERIAN FOOTBALL RELATED.

Footbal na football!

Riche007 wrote:Pls, send this to the rant and Rave forum....THIS IS NOT NIGERIAN FOOTBALL RELATED.
It is football related. So SHARRAAAPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D :D :D :D :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
KoC

Post by KoC »

Abeg someone should send this ARSE rubbish to the recycle bin. We might as well deify SAF
. . . all about the players. Total posts: 725 and counting. . .

Blogzilla
KickOff Nigeria

I love Arsenal. Such entertainment!! The kind of soccer we want for the kind of results we hate!!!
---Polly waxes lyrical after Burnley nyansh the ARSE

KickOff Chief wrote:Abeg someone should send this ARSE rubbish to the recycle bin. We might as well deify SAF
Manure had better watch out. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
KoC

Post by KoC »

KickOff Chief wrote:Abeg someone should send this ARSE rubbish to the recycle bin. We might as well deify SAF
Manure had better watch out. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Waffi,

Have you looked at the EPL standings this morning :D :D ?

Blogzilla
KickOff Nigeria

I love Arsenal. Such entertainment!! The kind of soccer we want for the kind of results we hate!!!
ARSENAL INSPIRED BY CHELSEA SPENDING

Oga chief be warned. Arsene is coming. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

ARSENAL INSPIRED BY CHELSEA SPENDING

By Mark Bradley, PA Sport Chief Soccer Writer

Arsene Wenger has revealed how Chelsea's £100million summer spending spree motivated his Arsenal team to prove that they could win the title despite no major investment.

Wenger warned his side's title rivals that the Gunners are still not at their peak despite having reached Christmas without a single Premiership defeat.

He answered Sir Alex Ferguson's claim that leaders Manchester United are traditionally stronger in the second half of the season by insisting Arsenal are better at coming from behind in the race.

"In 1998, we were 11 points behind Manchester United in January and we still won the title. We are trying very hard at the moment to come from behind," he declared.

He also cautioned third-placed Chelsea that they lack the same experience of a title-run as the other two contenders.

"Christmas is important but the decisive period comes in March and April, where every game is huge pressure and you have to perform," he said.

"We've got experience of that, as do Manchester United. Chelsea don't have that experience as a team, although their players do individually."

Wenger accepts that Chelsea have the resources for another spending spree in January, while United can also sign a replacement for Rio Ferdinand.

Above all, however, he is placing his belief in the character and spirit of his squad, which was only strengthened in the summer by the arrival of Jens Lehmann for £1.5 million to replace David Seaman.

In contrast, Chelsea spent more than £100million on the likes of Damien Duff, Adrian Mutu - rated by Wenger as the best signing of 2003 - and Hernan Crespo.

United, meanwhile, may have sold David Beckham and Juan Sebastian Veron, but they bought Cristiano Ronaldo, Kleberson, Eric Djemba-Djemba, David Bellion and Tim Howard.

"The fact that Chelsea and Manchester United bought so many players pushed us to think that if we wanted to be up there, we would have to be at our best," the Arsenal boss declared.

"Maybe that's why we are still there, while the hunger from not winning it last year is also still present.

"I knew that we could be in there but you never know the mental impact of the buys made by Chelsea and Manchester United, as well as us not buying. Would that affect the belief of the players?"

The answer, as far as Wenger is concerned, is that Arsenal were actually spurred on to meet the challenge of United and Chelsea.

"At the start of the season, we were not at all calculated as one of the teams that could fight for the title but we are in there and have been remarkably consistent to get there," he added.

"We are in the knock-out stages of the Champions League, are in a good position in the championship and have already played at difficult places like Bolton, Manchester United and Liverpool.

"We have a big confidence. The players have worked very hard to be in an ideal situation but they know Manchester United and Chelsea are still there and that makes everyone conscious that we can't afford any slip-ups.

"We just want to keep it going as many people say we have not peaked yet and I hope they are right as we are still in a good position."

Arsenal, who are a point behind United ahead of their Boxing Day game against Wolves, have coped with suspensions arising out of the Old Trafford melee as well as a long injury for Patrick Vieira.

"We have a good squad spirit. The players know each other well and have good experience," remarked Wenger.

"Have I ever doubted them? Well, when we had three games to go in the Champions League group stage and one of those was at Inter Milan and we hadn't won in the Champions League for a year, then you think it could nearly have been out of reach.

"In fact, when there are 89 minutes gone and you are still goalless against Dynamo Kiev, you think that even more!

"But they had the spirit to get through and when you have the right attitude, the ball goes for you."
KoC

Post by KoC »

Waffi,

When push comes to shove, the ARSE will fall apart. All this is initial gra gra. It is the same thing as at the start of last season when ARSEne Whinger boasted that he would go through the campaign unbeaten.

Lets see how the ARSE respond to that first loss. Dont forget you folks ars still one point behind us despite having yet to lose a game

Blogzilla
KickOff Nigeria

KickOff Chief wrote:Waffi,

When push comes to shove, the ARSE will fall apart. All this is initial gra gra. It is the same thing as at the start of last season when ARSEne Whinger boasted that he would go through the campaign unbeaten.

Lets see how the ARSE respond to that first loss. Dont forget you folks ars still one point behind us despite having yet to lose a game
KOC, you manure sh#ts should be seen and not heard...we're where we are without using druggies as players.

Arsene as you know is too modest a man to boast like that. He did not however, Arsenal lost too many good players due to injury and suspension, so add all the point wey dem throway. They just threw it away, but the boys have learnt and they are looking mean and thight in defence.

Shame we cannot bring in a partner for Henry to deliver 15 - 20 goals a season, however with Pires and Llungberg looking like they did when we last won the double, we may not need to spend big money. We can wait for Hnery's friend Trezegol to join instead. :D :D :D :D :D
KoC

Post by KoC »

Arsene as you know is too modest a man to boast like that. He did not however, Arsenal lost too many good players due to injury and suspension, so add all the point wey dem throway. They just threw it away, but the boys have learnt and they are looking mean and thight in defence.

Shame we cannot bring in a partner for Henry to deliver 15 - 20 goals a season, however with Pires and Llungberg looking like they did when we last won the double, we may not need to spend big money. We can wait for Hnery's friend Trezegol to join instead. :D :D :D :D :D
You wish. Anyway, I will be waiting for your excuses at season's end

Blogzilla
KickOff Nigeria

Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

Sir V wrote:

Footbal na football!
If u call what Arsenal plays football, what wud u call Okocha's footwork? This thread is not worthy to be in the same forum where Okocha's threads are....and i still maintain my stand; this thread shud be dumped in the garbage...we have no room for junk threads on this new forum....remember, we're trying to conserve server space and any misuse wud not be tolerated....Waffiman, pls do the right thing. Thanx for your co-operation.
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942

Merry Christmas, Ruud Van Nistelroy; the man Gunners shot but couldn't bruise, the man Gooners thumped but couldn't splinter.
See you at Highbury to bury all Gunners, a brace and an encore.
Ruud Van Nistelroy, God's own Gun.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
London Coool

Post by London Coool »

Its a nice article but i dont think Arsene Wenger should just be motivated by Chelsea's spending power he needs to be not only shrewd but ruthless as a manager.He should stop negotiating with Wiltord and allow him to go on a Bosman;he should negotiate with Barca for Kluivert in return for Brockhurst(?) on loan there and as part -payment of our outstanding debt owed for Petit & Overmars.He should recall Pennant ,leave Jeffers with Everton,sell Kanu,retire Bergkamp, buy E'too,buy Mexes and organise a valedictory match for Martin Keown.And peradventure Alan Smith still has appetite for the Championship Arsene should pull him through the window in January ...he looks a more reliable "fox in the box".
Ijapa

Post by Ijapa »

anointed wrote:Merry Christmas, Ruud Van Nistelroy; the man Gunners shot but couldn't bruise, the man Gooners thumped but couldn't splinter.
See you at Highbury to bury all Gunners, a brace and an encore.
Ruud Van Nistelroy, God's own Gun.
In your dreams...
La Reussi

Post by La Reussi »

London coool, i agree with all your suggestions, but the Kanu part.If u retire Bergkamp, then u must give Kanu a new contract.We need someone who can unlock tight defences and a little bit of trickery and imagination, when the going gets tough.Kluivert is definitely not that type of player.I'll take Etoo over kluivert anyday.Can we afford to get the two at the same time?The answer is NO!

La Reussi
In all things and every situation, give thanks to God.
London Coool

Post by London Coool »

La Reussi,
By the time Arsene releases Wiltord on a Bosman, Jeffers(to Everton), Bronckhurst(?)(to Barca),Volz (to Fulham),Juan (to Millwall){i think Justin Hoyte is better than him},give Bergkamp a "Pay -as you play" contract, and escorts Keown outside Higbury there should be enough funds to pick up Kluivert on a free-transfer and to pay for E'too.
"Arsene Wenger's problem is that his young players are too young and his old players are too old and there is not much in between "

Alan Hansen

"Never look down one anyone except you are lifting them up"

Rev.Jesse Jackson