Okocha vs Zidane, the similarity

They both started the downfall of their archrivals with wicked freekicks :D.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

The similarity is simple; In mordern football, you need exceptional players to turn their game on the head. Regardless of the hysteria on this forum, Zidane was having an average game before that freekick. Viera was the fulcrum through wich the French game ran. However, you need players like Zidane in the game precisely because of what might happen. You might get the ONE freekick in a dangerous area. You might get a freebie penalty kick in injury time. Thats why you need Zidane, thats why you need Okocha.

If Zidane wasn't playing - average game and all, France would have lost!
mblack76
Re: Okocha vs Zidane, the similarity

Post by mblack76 »

Its a Goal wrote:They both started the downfall of their archrivals with wicked freekicks :D.
And the difference. One plays for a title winning team while the other plays for a losing and unsuccessful title chasing team :lol:
“I can play with people’s emotions when I want to make an impact. It’s one way to get the best out of people.” Jose Mourinho (March 08, 2005)
"Again Mblack, I have no beef with you as I actually respect you a lot." SAwosika (May 14, 2005)
Re: Okocha vs Zidane, the similarity

mkizito76 wrote:
Its a Goal wrote:They both started the downfall of their archrivals with wicked freekicks :D.
And the difference. One plays for a title winning team while the other plays for a losing and unsuccessful title chasing team :lol:
Thats an unfair description of Zidane :lol: :lol: :lol:

Agreed, special players make the difference when two good teams play. Same thing happens in the CL, many of the games are usually decided by the brilliance of two or three players or a goalkeeper having a good or a bad day, not the league the teams come from. Zidane is indeed the best player in the world, France is virtually unbeatable when he's in form.

Here we go again , yeye shriners

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Here we go again , yeye shriners
Chief Chief, I trust u to happen on this thread... :lol: Anyway, Oga loves u too :lol: :lol:
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

Okocha certainly did not get the opportunity that Zidane have had. You know growing up in Europe, a soccer hub and having a better exposure. They're equally matched in talent and Okocha does have better ball skills than Zidane. Zidane might slightly have better field awareness than Jay Jay.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
Thought

Post by Thought »

theDunamis wrote:
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Here we go again , yeye shriners
Chief Chief, I trust u to happen on this thread... :lol: Anyway, Oga loves u too :lol: :lol:

You catch am shey? lol! :lol: :lol:
Real Madrid - The Greatest Club on Earth!
lowzeewee

Post by lowzeewee »

The only similarities is that they have African blood, wear #10 and are midfielders. Period. :lol:

P.S. Don't insult ZZ by comparing JJ with him. :lol:
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

Okocha wasn't given the opportunity, we all saw bechkam, dude cannot even convert penalty kicks. We saw what Martins is doing on world stage when he was given the opportunity.
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.
Thought

Post by Thought »

lowzeewee wrote:The only similarities is that they have African blood, wear #10 and are midfielders. Period. :lol:

P.S. Don't insult ZZ by comparing JJ with him. :lol:

You are misinformed.

Why can't we all admire a footballer for how great he is instead of always campare one great player to another. The first two threads i open tonight had Martins vs Rooney and ZZ vs Jay Jay! What the hell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
VINDAVE

Post by VINDAVE »

Well, maybe is another way to take solace and to encourage ourselves that our players are also doing well... at times, you can't just help but compare Peter success with that of Paul...

you can only compare Monkey with little Baboon or Lion with Tigar but not Elephant with Goat.
Undertaker wrote:Why can't we all admire a footballer for how great he is instead of always campare one great player to another. The first two threads i open tonight had Martins vs Rooney and ZZ vs Jay Jay! What the hell!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lowzeewee

Post by lowzeewee »

@Thought: No, I am not. 8)
Thought

Post by Thought »

lowzeewee, the preceding posts suggests otherwise. 8)

both are midfielders of near-equal capabilities. 8) :D

Why can't we compare two special players? For 88 minutes, Zidane looked very ordinary so wetin?
lowzeewee

Post by lowzeewee »

Yeah too much of JJ shrining makes me wanna puke on his number 10 shirt... 8) Both are midfielders. Full stop. :twisted:

jj beta pass :mrgreen:

..... 8) .....

Post by smallpikin »

I believe JJ has better all skills than ZZ. If both played for France, ZZ would be starting from the bench.
"If you aren't keeping the score
you're only practising". Hugh Collum, Finance Director, SmithKline Beecham.
so__so_scandalous

Post by so__so_scandalous »

JayJay doesn't have zidane's killer instinct but he is a more gifted player.

smallpikin wrote:I believe JJ has better all skills than ZZ. If both played for France, ZZ would be starting from the bench.
Wow! :shock: :shock: :roll: :roll: :roll: You are joking. Right!
Thought

Post by Thought »

smallpikin wrote:I believe JJ has better all skills than ZZ. If both played for France, ZZ would be starting from the bench.
I'd say the same if JJ was priviledged to be in France's setup. You only get better if you play with and against better players, as Zizzou has.

No be joke JJ dey make noise irrespective of the team he plays in. :P