Why did Cameroon Defeat the Super Eagles for so long?

Otuoma Wuon Ogolo
Why did Cameroon Defeat the Super Eagles for so long?

Post by Otuoma Wuon Ogolo »

Twice they even humiliated them in Lagos. What was wrong with SE? Was it fear? What did the Lions know that the Eagles could not learn? We drew with Cameroon 2-2 in Nairobi (1987). The Cameroonians could not penetrate our defence.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sport/footba ... 642400.stm

Nigeria is in a state of shock and grief at the Super Eagles' loss in the final of African Nations Cup against Cameroon on Sunday, with widespread criticism in the media of the conduct of the game's Tunisian referee.

"Nigeria appears to have been prevented from lifting the African Nations Cup by the CAF-appointed officials," said the main news bulletin on state-run television.

Television reports have broadcast over and over again pictures of a disallowed penalty taken by the Eagles' Victor Ikpeba which clearly crossed the line after riccocheting off the cross-bar.

Nigeria were favourites to win in front of a home crowd.

The miss was a key cause of Nigeria's defeat in a tense penalty shoot-out after the game ended at two-all.

"Tunisian referee robs Eagles" is the uncompromising view of the Nigerian Tribune.

The Guardian is also highly critical of referee Mourad Daami but prefers to lead on the devastating effect of Nigeria's loss after entering the game as favourites with home advantage.

"A deafening silence enveloped the National Stadium, Surulere last night as Cameroon defeated Nigeria to win, for ever, the African Unity Cup," the paper says.

Three times unlucky

Adding salt to Nigeria's wounds, Cameroon get to keep the trophy after winning the cup three times, all against Nigeria.

"Cameroon has had to beat Nigeria in all its three victories in the Nations Cup", the Guardian says. "Last night's third triumph has given the Indomitable Lions the eternal possession of the trophy that was first offered in the Lagos final 20 years ago."

Tears and disbelief were on display in the Nigerian camp and the team failed to attend the traditional post-match press conference.

Third final versus Cameroon and Nigeria's third defeat

This has allowed reports to concentrate on Ikpeba's kick which, according to the Guardian, "will continue to generate controversy for years to come".

"Daami's poor officiating (was brought) into focus, almost in the same manner Mauritanian referee Idrissa Sarr's poor judgment aided Cameroon's win in 1988," the paper says.

"The Tunisian referee indeed played a crucial role in the Cameroonian victory, allowing many fouls by the physically asserting Indomitable Lions to go unpunished."

Radio and television talk-shows have been dominated by the match and AFP reports the public showing a mixture of praise for both teams and criticism of Daami.

Emotional scenes

"Both teams played well. It was the referee that was bad. They should have made it a draw. Have two champions," was the view of a caller to a popular morning TV programme.

The Vanguard newspaper leads with the headline "Controversial penalty costs Nigeria Unity Cup."

The paper describes a highly emotional scene in which skipper Sunday Oliseh wept uncontrollably as he reluctantly collected the second-place trophy.

Skipper Sunday Oliseh could hardly believe the loss

"The streets of Lagos that were virtually empty during the tension soaked encounter and remained near empty at nightfall as disappointed fans remained indoors to mourn yet another Nations Cup final loss to neighbouring Cameroon," Vanguard says.

But there was no mention of the scuffles which broke out in and around the stadium, and papers say fears of rioting were greatly exagerated despite Nigeria's loss at home after a controversialy refereeing decision.

To dispell some of the gloom, however, the Guardian points out the "gallant play" of the Lions and the "grace" of the Eagles.

"A more unruly team would have protested the refree's decision to disallow Ikpeba's goal from the penalty kick and rocked the boat of the entire tournament."
"Timid men prefer the calm of despotism to the boisterous sea of liberty."
Thomas Jefferson
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo

But the way the Nigerian fans behaved was respectable. They did not riot or fight the Cameroonians. African football has matured.
Thomas Jefferson
Bubus

Post by Bubus »

Its called a jinx...
We had the same jinx with Ghana until we put that ghost to rest in PH in 2001... and with the Lion sandwich we had in Tunisia, the Camerounian jinx is broken.

Kenya is yet to beat us at any level though... I guess theres stuff that we know they don't... or is it fear of the eagles?? I remember when Okocha came to Mombassa in 1995 with the dream team... the Kenyan players were just content to watch him play! :lol: 3-0 the final score... :roll: I still remember the picture that had him by the corner flag with 5 Kenyan players trailing in his wake after he had conveniently dummied the hell out of them. :lol:

Cameroun and Nigeria can be mentioned among the current top sides of Africa... but Kenya... they are just minnows.
JJ Okocha will take this freekick... curls it in! Oh! ...curls it right in!! What a goal?!! What a moment of magic from JJ Okocha?!! And its 1-1!!
kaycee2g

Post by kaycee2g »

Otuoma, i must confess, ur name is a spitting image of ugliness.

As for ur question, i will love to ask you this. Why was the KFF stupid enough to hire Christian Chukwu as thier coach???

why did cameroon defeat the eagles for so long??.... answer: because we didn't have Kenyan marathon runners on our squad... hence we tended to run out of gas before 90mins... Otuoma, next time please send us some of your marathon runners ... that will help plug some of our holes in defense & midfield. 8)
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo

We once tamed the SE . Stop lying. See how your goalie grasped a handful of air below. Never joke with Harambee stars. Had FIFA not intervened, we would have made it further than any African nation.

http://www.kenyapage.net/football/ken-nig.html

super-header from Stars' player Kennedy Simiyu leaves Super Eagles goal-keeper Joseph Dosu grasping a handful of air as teammate Celestine Babayaro helplessly watches the ball streak into the net for the first goal, which sent the capacity crowd wild. cf1(Pictures by SAM OUMA)

An ecstatic crowd of about 75,000, including President Moi, yesterday watched Kenya's soccer ``Dream Team'' tame Olympic champions Super Eagles of Nigeria, holding them to a 1-1 draw in a World Cup qualifier at the Moi International Sports Centre.

Most soccer analysts had predicted a hammering for the home boys. Local bookmakers gave the youthful squad no chance against the team to beat in world soccer today.

The crowd started heading to the Thika Road stadium as early as 8am and by the time the presidential party came in at 3.30 pm, the 60,000-seater stadium was packed to capacity.

Police had a hectic time trying to control the crowd as kick-off time approached. Harambee Stars German Coach Reinhardt Fabisch, the man who guided Kenya to the finals of the 1987 All-Africa Games against Egypt at the same venue, was mobbed by jubilant fans while man-of-the-match John Odhiambo was carried shoulder high into the changing rooms.

Such big names of world soccer as Dan Amokachi, Augustine Okocha and Finidi George seemed not to bother the home team, who shocked everybody by scoring first in the 20th minute through Ken Simiyu.

The goal electrified a home crowd that had been kept busy by various musical groups before the match.

There was a carnival like atmosphere all over Nairobi because the Super Eagles had come to town; good thing the Harambee Stars did not disappoint their home fans, and the carnival continued long after the game was over. Whilst the Super Eagles were shadows of themselves, the Stars shone and very brightly too, and only their lack of belief in themselves cost them the chance of winning this match.

Head Coach, Shuaibu Amodu, not helped by the usual ill preparations of the Eagles, also had to face a youthful Kenyan side charged with a disciplined approach by Head Coach Reinhard Fabisch.
Thomas Jefferson
omo-eko

Post by omo-eko »

Wed Jun 16, 2004 7:16 am    Post subject:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
But the way the Nigerian fans behaved was respectable. They did not riot or fight the Cameroonians. African football has matured.
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo

I praise the Eagles and you go call me sick person? Omo-eko what's wrong?
Thomas Jefferson
Bubus

Post by Bubus »

Otuoma Wuon Ogolo wrote:We once tamed the SE . Stop lying. See how your goalie grasped a handful of air below. Never joke with Harambee stars. Had FIFA not intervened, we would have made it further than any African nation.

http://www.kenyapage.net/football/ken-nig.html

super-header from Stars' player Kennedy Simiyu leaves Super Eagles goal-keeper Joseph Dosu grasping a handful of air as teammate Celestine Babayaro helplessly watches the ball streak into the net for the first goal, which sent the capacity crowd wild. cf1(Pictures by SAM OUMA)

An ecstatic crowd of about 75,000, including President Moi, yesterday watched Kenya's soccer ``Dream Team'' tame Olympic champions Super Eagles of Nigeria, holding them to a 1-1 draw in a World Cup qualifier at the Moi International Sports Centre.

Most soccer analysts had predicted a hammering for the home boys. Local bookmakers gave the youthful squad no chance against the team to beat in world soccer today.

The crowd started heading to the Thika Road stadium as early as 8am and by the time the presidential party came in at 3.30 pm, the 60,000-seater stadium was packed to capacity.

Police had a hectic time trying to control the crowd as kick-off time approached. Harambee Stars German Coach Reinhardt Fabisch, the man who guided Kenya to the finals of the 1987 All-Africa Games against Egypt at the same venue, was mobbed by jubilant fans while man-of-the-match John Odhiambo was carried shoulder high into the changing rooms.

Such big names of world soccer as Dan Amokachi, Augustine Okocha and Finidi George seemed not to bother the home team, who shocked everybody by scoring first in the 20th minute through Ken Simiyu.

The goal electrified a home crowd that had been kept busy by various musical groups before the match.

There was a carnival like atmosphere all over Nairobi because the Super Eagles had come to town; good thing the Harambee Stars did not disappoint their home fans, and the carnival continued long after the game was over. Whilst the Super Eagles were shadows of themselves, the Stars shone and very brightly too, and only their lack of belief in themselves cost them the chance of winning this match.

Head Coach, Shuaibu Amodu, not helped by the usual ill preparations of the Eagles, also had to face a youthful Kenyan side charged with a disciplined approach by Head Coach Reinhard Fabisch.
The gulf in class is again demonstrated... if we played 1-1 in Yaunde with Cameroun, they wouldn't be celebrating.

We went on to whallop u guys in Lagos though. Brought you down from cloud 9 to the doldrums where you rightly belong.
JJ Okocha will take this freekick... curls it in! Oh! ...curls it right in!! What a goal?!! What a moment of magic from JJ Okocha?!! And its 1-1!!
Otuoma Wuon Ogolo

Head Coach, Shuaibu Amodu, not helped by the usual ill preparations of the Eagles
Could that be the problem, summed in one sentence?
Thomas Jefferson
scholl

Post by scholl »

Otuoma Wuon Ogolo wrote:I praise the Eagles and you go call me sick person? Omo-eko what's wrong?
Actually, he told you the truth if you cannot notice it. BTW your identity is totally fake, just read what is highlighted.

PLEASE FORUMERS, IGNORE THIS GOAT COS HE IS TRYING TO PULL OFF A WEBOHENE BUT THE DIFFRENCE IS THAT HE IS NOT FUNNY AND QUICK WITTED AS WEB.
Re: Why did Cameroon Defeat the Super Eagles for so long?

[quote="Otuoma Wuon Ogolo"]Twice they even humiliated them in Lagos. What was wrong with SE? Was it fear? What did the Lions know that the Eagles could not learn? We drew with Cameroon 2-2 in Nairobi (1987). The Cameroonians could not penetrate our defence.

Well obviously if they scored two goals they DID penetrate ur oponu defence. Abi na ba turensi
Thought

Post by Thought »

This guys must have an over-blown opinion of the Kenyan national team. Will you just shut tha F^ck up. Kenya and football arent compatible. :shock: Please can you be so kind to enlighten us as to why Kenya shouldnt be dumped in the category of St Kitts and Nevis, Sao Tome and Principe, Guam, etc...
Real Madrid - The Greatest Club on Earth!