Christian Obodo: I’m not Okocha’s shadow

Where Eagles dare! Discuss Nigerian related football (soccer) topics here.

Moderators: Moderator Team, phpBB2 - Administrators

naija4ever
Egg
Egg
Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)
Christian Obodo: I’m not Okocha’s shadow

Post by naija4ever »

He was made to step into Austin Jay Jay Okocha’s shoes in the Super Eagles engine room – the midfield. And since that match against the Republic of Ireland, Perugia star, Christian Obodo, has been nicknamed Okocha’s shadow because he tried to clone the Bolton Wanderer’s skill. But the young lad says he’s nobody’s shadow, though he admires and literally worships Okocha as his hero.

"I try to play my game," Obodo told Daily Sunsport at the DOME Clubhouse, Abuja recently. "I’m nobody’s shadow because I have my own style. It’s wrong to say that I play like Okocha. No, I don’t play like anybody. I try to play my game the way I have been doing since I started playing football.
"Those who watch me in my club will agree that I play my game. I want to maintain my style because it is God who makes stars. You don’t have to play like anybody before you are made one.
"Honestly, I respect Okocha a lot. In fact, he’s my hero. I also respect Kanu but my style of play can’t ever be likened to that of Okocha or Kanu. We are different individuals and we are bound to have different skills.

"I agree Okocha is a bundle of talent whom I have to learn a lot from. But that does not mean that I have to ape him on the field. He’s a great star, no doubt, but at the appropriate time, God will lift me up to his standard. I’m not in a hurry to get to his level now.
"Things are beginning to happen for me, and I must thank God. Playing Okocha’s role in the Eagles could be a daunting task but as you know I have to learn through the ropes. It could be difficult, but I’ve tried my best in the two matches I played."