Angola banks on crowd attendance to upstage Eagles

VINDAVE

Post by VINDAVE »

* ...Next month's match with Algeria moved to Abuja
By Kunle Solaja

http://www.guardiannewsngr.com/sports/article01

T HE Angolan Football Federation has thrown open, the Cidadela National Stadium, Luanda, venue of Sunday's World Cup match of Palancas Negras with the Super Eagles of Nigeria. This is to boost attendance and ensure total support for the home team.

Sunday's match serves as qualification duel for both the FIFA World Cup and the African Nations' Cup in 2006.

The secretary general of Angola FA, DZlcio Costa announced on Angola Press website yesterday that the free entries was aimed at increasing the number of supporters and "to encourage the national team in the double campaign," adding, "the gates will be opened two hours before the match in order to avoid congestion."

Continuing the secretary general said the FA wanted to create more proximity between the crowd and players. "This way, it will help our team to defeat the Nigerians."

The Angolan FA stated that the Super Eagles' delegation of 35 is expected to arrive Luanda tomorrow while the Zambian referees will arrive on Friday. The Eagles left Nigeria in batches.

While Christian Chukwu left the country on Sunday, two players -Joseph Yobo and John Utaka- were said to have been in Johannesburg ahead of the coach and the assistant coach, Austin Eguavoen was to lead another party of 10 players yesterday night.

NFA spokesman, Samuel Kaalu told The Guardian yesterday that Austin Okocha was being expected in the country so that he could join the other players who travelled on South African Airways yesterday.

The team for Sunday's game has not yet taken a clear shape following the spate of withdrawals of players on account of injury. Poland-based Uche Kalu who was called up in place of Perugia's midfielder, Christian Obodo is also nursing groin injury. Others on the injury list are Obafemi Martins, Rabiu Baita and Ifeanyi Udeze.

Kaalu told The Guardian that Robert Akaruyi, scorer of two goals against Egypt in the Athens Olympic qualifiers has been called up in place of Kalu.

Meanwhile, the NFA is planning ahead for next month's game with Algeria. This is the third match in the qualifying series. Kaalu said that a management meeting of the NFA yesterday resolved to hold the July 3 match in Abuja rather than the Liberation Stadium, Port Harcourt that was earlier announced.

Kaalu said it was easier to organise the game in Abuja and that the facilities are also better. Nwankwo Kanu who weds on the same day of the match with Algeria had hoped that the match could be shifted by a day to enable his team-mates to attend the event that will hold in Owerri, a two-hour drive from Port Harcourt. That looks impossible now.

"FIFA has already been notified", said the NFA spokesman who also announced that a committee headed by Enomo Edozie has been set up ahead of the match. Kaalu said that the committee which has all heads of various NFA departments as members was set up to ensure that the marketing potentials of the game is maximally utilised.
mister dolly

Post by mister dolly »

Can you Nigeria based folks simply help us confirm if AIT will show the match live..or is that too much to ask... :x
VINDAVE

Post by VINDAVE »

MD, ahba!!! u again! how u go ask that kind question... we be ur beloved brothers - homebased sha. :lol: :lol:

Anyway, AIT has always been committed to showing Nigeria Super Eagles match of that magnitude... So I expect them to show this too. They showed the Nigeria Rwanda game - also try ESPN that day... they are now in love with SE of Nigeria.
mister dolly

Post by mister dolly »

VINDAVE wrote:MD, ahba!!! u again! how u go ask that kind question... we be ur beloved brothers - homebased sha. :lol: :lol:

Anyway, AIT has always been committed to showing Nigeria Super Eagles match of that magnitude... So I expect them to show this too. They showed the Nigeria Rwanda game - also try ESPN that day... they are now in love with SE of Nigeria.
Bro..is there anyway you can contact AIT just to be sure...

Unfortunately, we do not get ESPN International in this part of the world..so no dice there..
VINDAVE

Post by VINDAVE »

I go find their tel nor call their office tomorrow... after that I go get back to una for forum.