DIVERTED TOPIC: Making fun of ourselves

Thought

Post by Thought »

yaro maiwayo wrote:
Thought wrote:I doubt Yaro's a bonifide "malo".... Na Buzu him be. :twisted:

Actually, Malo is universal in Nigeria I believe. In Abuja and Jos you can call a guy malo without qualms... just calling an Igbo guy Okoro.
whats a buzu :?:

I believe buzu's are Fulani's or of Fulani-like extraction. Were you carry name like that from ma sef?
Real Madrid - The Greatest Club on Earth!
yaro maiwayo

Post by yaro maiwayo »

Thought wrote:
yaro maiwayo wrote:
Thought wrote:I doubt Yaro's a bonifide "malo".... Na Buzu him be. :twisted:

Actually, Malo is universal in Nigeria I believe. In Abuja and Jos you can call a guy malo without qualms... just calling an Igbo guy Okoro.
whats a buzu :?:

I believe buzu's are Fulani's or of Fulani-like extraction. Were you carry name like that from ma sef?
you mean YARO MAIWAYO
hey hey hey
smoke weed everyday
take a stack a day
to keep the doctor away
Thought

Post by Thought »

ehn.. na wayo you be?
yaro maiwayo

Post by yaro maiwayo »

Thought wrote:ehn.. na wayo you be?
hey hey hey
smoke weed everyday
take a stack a day
to keep the doctor away
yaro maiwayo

Post by yaro maiwayo »

well when i came from the US, in 1990, thats what the hausa guys were calling me, cos they believed i knew evetything, since i was american with all my sh*t and stuffs, and i believe you know the meaning of the name
hey hey hey
smoke weed everyday
take a stack a day
to keep the doctor away
Thought

Post by Thought »

yeah... nice handle.

You know, I believe the principle behind the NYSC of promoting cultural understanding helps to heal the disagreements between ethnic groups. The more we understand others - and in the process understand our self - the better it is. Folks that grow up or live a discernible portion of their (formative) years in societies other than that which they ethnically belong to gravitate toward tolerance and even acceptance!
yaro maiwayo

Post by yaro maiwayo »

Thought wrote:yeah... nice handle.

You know, I believe the principle behind the NYSC of promoting cultural understanding helps to heal the disagreements between ethnic groups. The more we understand others - and in the process understand our self - the better it is. Folks that grow up or live a discernible portion of their (formative) years in societies other than that which they ethnically belong to gravitate toward tolerance and even acceptance!
yep, feel you on this one, and thats why i say ignorance bout a set of peeps generallly speaking creates hate towards them
hey hey hey
smoke weed everyday
take a stack a day
to keep the doctor away
Yettycom

Post by Yettycom »

I agree that enlightenment plus education is the key..... that's what i've learnt from my sojourns, going to a Federal govt sec. sch, NYSC and my everyday lives.....

one thing i've learnt to do is not to discriminate any tribe, everyone is unique in their own right.....
God is good to me and all who love and follow him.. Amazingly, he's also loving to all those who dont know him. What a mighty God he is!
living

Post by living »

chei Gadfly, we get papas for this place ooh
Things might come to those who wait but only those things left behind by those who hustle-Abraham Lincoln
Thought

Post by Thought »

living wrote:chei Gadfly, we get papas for this place ooh
No be joke oh; A lot of Men of Age in this zone.

My NYSC in Kaduna state really opened my eyes. Not that I was a dyed-in-the-wool Yoruba man in the first place, and still aint, but I had accepted without challenge many of the prejudices - and may I say ignorance - of my Lagos environment and the generation of family before me. (I say that without any disrespect to my parents who did their own bit in opening my eyes, albeit, within the limits of their own enlightenment).

My exposure to Hausa (Northern) culture came quite late (post graduation), unlike my exposure to Igbo (Eastern) culture which was from a very early age.

I am so glad I refused to be 'reposted' to Ogun state, and stuck with my original posting to Kaduna.
yaro maiwayo

Post by yaro maiwayo »

Thought wrote:
makes you think before you yarn to peeps sometimes
hey hey hey
smoke weed everyday
take a stack a day
to keep the doctor away
Thought

Post by Thought »

yaro maiwayo wrote:
Thought wrote:
generation gap and all... but some are 'malleable' enough to connect with.
yaro maiwayo

Post by yaro maiwayo »

Thought wrote:
yaro maiwayo wrote:
Thought wrote:
generation gap and all... but some are 'malleable' enough to connect with.
yep :!: like my old english gay teacher :lol: :lol: :lol:
hey hey hey
smoke weed everyday
take a stack a day
to keep the doctor away
ardile

Post by ardile »

For a long time my Ibo friends were calling me "Onye Agunru" (sp), by the time I knew the meaning, I was used to the name and Alas wen it was time for NYSC I was posted to Imo State (Wouldn't exchange the experience for ANYTHING) even though ma Papa try everything to convince me in getting a re-post to the western states I made up my mind to go ......

IT was and still is one of the BEST memories of my life!!!! :D :) :lol:
WENEVER..... WEAREVER ..... WOTEVER .... 4EVER .....
................................................................................... ARSENAL!!!!!

"No great things has ever been accomplished without somebody's crazy ideas; the biggest things in life have been achieved by people who, at the beginning, we would have judged crazy. And yet, if they had not had these crazy ideas, the world would have been more stupid." - Arsene Wenger..

ardile wrote:For a long time my Ibo friends were calling me "Onye Agunru" (sp), by the time I knew the meaning, I was used to the name and Alas wen it was time for NYSC I was posted to Imo State (Wouldn't exchange the experience for ANYTHING) even though ma Papa try everything to convince me in getting a re-post to the western states I made up my mind to go ......

So what does it mean??? :lol: :lol: :lol:

ardile wrote:For a long time my Ibo friends were calling me "Onye Agunru" (sp), by the time I knew the meaning, I was used to the name and Alas wen it was time for NYSC I was posted to Imo State (Wouldn't exchange the experience for ANYTHING) even though ma Papa try everything to convince me in getting a re-post to the western states I made up my mind to go ......

So what does it mean??? :lol: :lol: :lol:
If it is onye aguu that means :lol: hungry man