There is nothing wrong with automatic shirts!

Folks every national team has its core players. For France it is Desailly, Viera, Zidane and Henry. For Italy it is Toldo, Nesta, Totti, Del Piero and Vieri. When these players are fit and on form, they play- chikena!
For Nigeria it is West, Yobo, Okocha, Kanu and JAG. You do not need a training camp to confirm their selection. Instead, you need a training camp to build team chemistry, both on and off-field, and to fine tune tactics.
The notion of players fighting for shirts in training camps is grossly misunderstood and over emphasized. Perhaps in a few unresolved positions from players who are doing well in their various clubs and in the same position. But the notion that for instance that Yobo would have to fight with Olajengbesi for a shirt in camp is a gross misread of what a national pre-tournament camp is all about.

WC qualifier is around di corner, Backpedaling Babayaro will go back to being English and wait for the "monkeys" to do all di work...

Agali, will be too pissed-off at someone to even bother picking up his phone...

JJ will retire again...

Kanu will be back polishing the bench (prior to every tournament Wenger suddenly starts playing Kanu only to send him back to the bench when he comes back from playing for Nigeria)

Pipul will go back touting every JJC as the savior of Naija footie.

Yes! Camping is over rated... after all, we know at the end of all these charade, shirts are already guaranteed!

Agali is going? Based on what? I would have taken a home based player instead!

Cellular wrote:WC qualifier is around di corner, Backpedaling Babayaro will go back to being English and wait for the "monkeys" to do all di work...

Agali, will be too pissed-off at someone to even bother picking up his phone...

JJ will retire again...

Kanu will be back polishing the bench (prior to every tournament Wenger suddenly starts playing Kanu only to send him back to the bench when he comes back from playing for Nigeria)

Pipul will go back touting every JJC as the savior of Naija footie.

Yes! Camping is over rated... after all, we know at the end of all these charade, shirts are already guaranteed!
You are soo right. Did we wait all this while for this list/selection? Chukwu better win the damn cup, odawaise......

Right now Agali cannot be said to be a core member of the team. There are question marks about him vis a vis other players. But chances are that if Martins had responded that Agali would not have made the team. But thats just my thinking....
Ugbowo wrote:Agali is going? Based on what? I would have taken a home based player instead!

Txj:

dont be surprised...Martins might have shared the fate of Obodo and Kalu Uche...

Agali is going to provide Nigeria with Aerial cover, so that the ground troops can operate...ala ikedia... :mrgreen:
senator

Post by senator »

DIMKA76,
And who on the team list is going to provide him with the aerial balls?
''Watching United today was like watching your woman with another man. They were where we should have been, doing exactly what we should have been doing, and deep inside you know they were doing it better than we ever have.'' __Arsenal Fan after watching Man Utd defeat Roma 7-1 10/04/07

mouko wrote:
''Going by this list Nigeria would survive if they can score more than they would concede.''

txj, I DON'T THINK YOU MEANT TO JUSTIFY AUTOSHIRTS

I think what you mean is that some players have proved themselves over time such that that should be factored in when trying to decide between them and a player who, during the short period of camping, has shown only marginal superiority. That's the only extent automatic shirts can be justified.

But if a player, say Odimwigie, has proved superior over, say JJ, over several months and over several matches, then an autoshirt for JJ cannot be justified, right?
Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

Bell, I think TXJ and yourself are saying the same thing. You just took time to elaborate it more.